We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply a lovely place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Curlew Cottage

The vaulted ceiling of this large room (open plan with the kitchen) adds to the feeling of space
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The vaulted ceiling of this large room (open plan with the kitchen) adds to the feeling of space
The sitting room looks out onto the vast landscaped enclosed courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The vaulted ceiling of this large room (open plan with the kitchen) adds to the feeling of space
The sitting room looks out onto the vast landscaped enclosed courtyard
view to the other half of the courtyard where the laundry and games room are located
cattle in the field to the barns
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
teresa l
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply a lovely place to stay”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Curlew Cottage is an absolutely lovely place to stay, it is beautiful inside and out, the courtyard was really pretty in March, I would imagine it is lovely in the summer. The barn has been renovated to a high standard but still feels really homely, there is nothing lacking, indeed we received more than expected- the welcome pack is a lovely touch (the cake was delicious!) The games room is great fun for the whole family and the area has lots to offer. Our older (teenage) daughter was reluctant to come on this short break with us, but when it was time to go home she did NOT want to leave - enough said!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the standard of the accommodation
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike G
Lancashire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“simply stunning cottage in private courtyard in wonderful location”
Reviewed January 25, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

After booking through Holiday Lettings we have never had any further communication at all from them since, bearing in mind you need a code to get in the private courtyard I would have thought at least they could have let us know what it was. luckily I gave Emma the owner a call a few days before and she couldnt have been more helpful, The cottage is stunning inside, plenty of space with everything you could want to make your stay comfortable. the whole cottage was absolutely spotless and smelled and looked brand new. If you are looking to stay at Lackford then you probably know already about the wonderful wildlife on the doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
virginia...
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and quiet location but disappointing accommodation”
Reviewed January 2, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We arrived in the dark and could not see the code pad to open the gates, eventually we managed to punch in the code but only one side of the double gates opened which made the drive in with the car extremely narrow almost clipped my wing mirrors.The setting is secluded/quiet and didn't disappoint although,the lack of outside lighting left my wondering around! luckily there was a lovely gentleman/caretaker who spotted me and helped me obtain the key and enter the cottage. Comfortably warm and welcoming but interior is a little tired and unclean. Dust in the corners of the rooms and cobweb/ dirt behind and under furniture. The dishwasher had a piece of tape holding the bottom panel together and the cooker was coated in grease. Only the minimum cleaning seemed to have been done in between the last occupants and ourselves. The was a problem with the stiff shower taps and the temperature set on very hot! The Games room appears unfinished and was untidy with ping pong, billiard balls strewn about and the felt on the billiard table was damaged.
I'd recommend the location, but not Curlew cottage, perhaps the other cottages are of a better standard….

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, peaceful,
Liked least: Dirty, Shower taps tight and water very hot
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2015
I'm glad that you enjoyed the setting and agree that it's disappointing that the gates and outside lights weren't working when you arrived. We will attend to our repairs and maintenance and I will investigate the matters you raised re the cleaning as this is at odds with the high standards that we expect and usually achieve. Happy new year and thank you for your feed back on which we will act.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shu253
N Yorks
1 review
“Peaceful, tranquil and relaxing”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Curlew Cottage, it is very warm and spacious, the beds are very comfortable and the shower is amazing. All the family enjoyed the well equipped games room, it became a nightly ritual to go across after tea for a game of pool and table tennis. The setting was perfect, rural but not too far from the main roads. We loved the nature reserve next door and we were privileged to be able to see a kingfisher there which made our holiday even more special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2014
So pleased you saw a kingfisher. We have a lovely photo of one on our Facebook page - Lackford Lakes Barns. Beautiful creatures!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian B
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Secluded, beautifully appointed, barn conversion”
Reviewed October 24, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

If you are looking for a quiet, restful retreat for exploring the area around Bury St Edmunds and you are interested in walking and nature, then this is the place for you. It is beautifully appointed with everything you could possible need and more. On arrival there was a welcome tray with tea, coffee, fruit cake and a jug of milk in the fridge. Thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Over bath shower - difficult for disabled use
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
01TripAdv...
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
“wonderful and beautiful and recommendable”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Madam Emma,

since I myself was not present I can write some sentences about how comfortable my girlfriend Barbara Covell has felt with the grandchild. She had to go back unfortunately after one night because the child has felt longing for your mom. The cottage is really breathtaking. It really has everything you need. Games, DVD's and the beds were really comfortable and the owner abel Emma was really helpful Also has served as a welcome cake and milk. This is a really nice touch and we will always go to this cottage and of course you can only recommend this cottage and owner Emma.
All of the interior is spotless, the bathroom and everything you want to go in the cottage again and again.
Thank you Emma

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you, I do hope you will be able to come and see us soon. Best wishes, Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 15, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of the extra's - games, books, welcome pack etc
Liked least: no direct path from the cottage to the gate, it was impossible to push a buggy across the gravel so needed two of us to lift it over to the main gate.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
21 Apr 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry that you had problems accessing the property. We have an access statement for each of the cottages at Lackford Lakes Barns and we are now sending this out routinely when balancing payments are made. Hope you come again! Best wishes, Emma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing