We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea by a crackling fire”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2017

I had afternoon tea here on a Friday recently. After a slightly sticky start after my booking couldn't be found when I arrived, my guest and I were seated in the front lounge by a crackling fire. Our hostess for the afternoon (who I believe was called Sarah) was extremely helpful and gave great customer service. It was super to be served by someone who wasn't frazzled, gave eye contact, had a ready smile and could make small talk - not something found very often these days among hospitality staff. We had the afternoon tea, the sandwiches were nice (just a little too chilled for me) the scones were light and delicious and the homemade jams and clotted cream fabulous. Good choice of loose teas and the teapots and china were top class. Sarah continued to top up my teapot with hot water which was a nice touch. The cake selection was excellent, all handmade with wonderful chocolate work/decorations on a Christmas theme. The whole afternoon was unhurried and the lounge was quiet and felt quite private - great for a proper chat. I'd strongly recommend requesting the fireside seats if booking tea here. If the Swan can bring all their staff up to Sarah's standard then the customer service really would be five star.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, House Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

It is great to receive such lovely feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us and it's also good to hear that Sara looked after you so well. I certainly will let her know.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Swan in the future and if I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know.


Kind regards

John


John Morrell

House Manager

E: john.morrell@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 1,276 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2017

Our organisation, Haverhill and Districts U3A held our annual Christmas do in Lavenham, Suffolk. What a fantastic place to visit...a village of some hundreds of year capture as it once was.
The Swan was our destination, again, and like the two previous years it didn't fail in its magic. Great food and service. Will look forward to next year already.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GraemeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, House Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.


It is great to receive such lovely feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your annual lunch with us once gain. I certainly will be sharing your kind comments with the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Swan in the future and if I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know.


Kind regards

John


John Morrell

House Manager

E: john.morrell@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

The Swan is in a great location in the heart of this beautiful Suffolk village.
Check-in was efficient and our room was very nice, a good size and overlooking the gardens. The hotel oozes charm and character and the staff are all friendly and look like they enjoy working there. During our stay we ate in the restaurant for one evening , and the food we thought was very good, albeit small portions.
The hotel gets well used by non residents, and as there was a xmas market in the village the hotel was probably busier than usual. Overall we had a very enjoyable stay, but just a couple of things we thought could be improved. Firstly it proved very difficult to get a parking space in both the hotel's car parks. They allowed non-residents , to park in the car parks , and this proved annoying trying to find a space, surely the priority should be given to residents ? Secondly the service in the bar was a bit slow, and also our first morning's breakfast took an age and we had to wait nearly 45 mins for our cooked breakfast, whilst guests sitting down after us got their food before we did. That aside we would recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning one day.

Room Tip: We had a Suffolk room which was great , good size and quiet part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, House Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

Your mostly positive feedback is very much appreciated. However I must apologise for the couple of shortcomings you experienced. I certainly will be sharing them with the team in every effort to prevent a repeat performance. With regards to car parking we do allow all customers of the Swan, whether they are just dining or staying, to use the two car parks we have. The impact of the Lavenham Christmas Fair may well have been a factor but nonetheless I am sorry that you were not able to park as easily as you normally can.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Swan in the future and if I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know.


Kind regards

John


John Morrell

House Manager

E: john.morrell@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of December. The bedroom was gorgeous. Beautifully furnished and decorated. Spotlessly clean and supremely comfortable. We had our evening dinner in the Gallery restaurant. The food was very well presented, tasty and wonderful. One of the best restaurants we have eaten in. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast was lovely with a good selection of dishes. Altogether a great experience . We had the afternoon tea recently. That was great. Will be back. Thank you to all the staff.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank josephinegregory254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, House Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

It is great to receive such lovely feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us and what the Swan has to offer. I certainly will be sharing your kind comments with the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Swan in the future and if I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know.

Kind regards
John

John Morrell
House Manager
E: john.morrell@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

I booked a package for my husband's birthday which included, dinner and breakfast. I had heard so many good things about The Swan and it lived up to them all. From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Our room was very tastefully decorated and had everything you could possible want, with a small but perfectly furnished bathroom. Our evening meal in the Gallery Restaurant was on par with a Michelin star restaurant and once again the staff was first class. Breakfast was again delicious. There was only one problem, we were staying only one night so we just have to return to enjoy the delights of the Swan again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Frances66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, House Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

It is great to receive such lovely feedback. I'm so glad you enjoyed your time with us. I certainly will be sharing your kind comments with the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the Swan soon and if I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know.

Kind regards
John

John Morrell
House Manager
E: john.morrell@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Oh my, what is happening to the Swan. Always been a favourite haunt when visiting Suffolk but had a shock visit on Tuesday last. Arrived at 11.30 wanting coffee in any if the lounges. All tables empty but with a reserve notice on each. Told they had a function at 1pm and we could not use any table for coffee in the interim. Shown to an empty soulless bar area where we were told there was also a cosy fire. There was, but it died an unceremonius death as we sat there and the coffee was unpallatable. The staff were totally indifferent and spent more time chatting amongst themselves. A far cry from the Swan of old. One gets the feeling it is surviving purely on the back of its old reputation.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chrissie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, House Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

I am so sorry to learn of this poor experience you had. It is certainly way short of our usual levels of hospitality. If you would be kind enough to email me your contact details via the below email address as I would sincerely like the opportunity to discuss this matter with you.

Kind regards
John

John Morrell
House Manager
E: john.morrell@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

Enjoyed a Sunday night stay with dinner at this very quaint and picturesque hotel. Set in lovely Lavenham, a lovely village for an after breakfast walk.
Staff here are very welcoming and friendly. Room was quite a walk away, up many stairs and both of us having to duck to get through some of the doors and passages!
Room was cosy, bed very comfortable. Unfortunately room overlooked the road, but noise wasn't too bad. Dinner for me was rather disappointing. Hardly anything on the plates! Chicken liver pate for starter, but with no toast, just four tiny croutons! Pork for main was on the mean side and very dry. Three small pieces of pork. No vegetables. Chocolate dessert always my first choice, but this was rather dull and lacked any flavour. Never mind, the visit was in itself a good one.

Room Tip: Away from the main road and not too far from reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jannieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, House Manager at Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your review on Trip Advisor.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your time with us. I am sorry to learn that you found dinner disappointing though. I certainly will be sharing this feedback with our kitchen team.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the future and if I can assist you further, at any time, please do let me know.

Kind regards
John

John Morrell
House Manager
E: john.morrell@theswanatlavenham.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lavenham
25.7 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
9.1 km away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,200 reviews
17.6 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 10 in Bury St Edmunds
1,262 reviews
30.5 km away
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
Bedford Lodge Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Newmarket
961 reviews
29 km away
Tuddenham Mill
Tuddenham Mill
#1 of 1 in Tuddenham
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham

Address: High Street, Babergh District CO10 9QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Lavenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lavenham
Price Range: $174 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the Suffolk countryside, between Bury St. Edmunds and Sudbury, is The Swan Hotel & Spa in Lavenham, perhaps one of England's most iconic hotels. The Swan dates back to the 15th century when it played a key role in Lavenham's wool trade. Today it is a quintessential English country hotel and restaurant, proud of its achievement of AA 4 Red star, two AA Rosettes & Visit England Large Hotel of the Year 2013. Ancient oak beams and inglenook fireplaces blend beautifully with rich furnishings and fabrics to create the perfect ambiance for rest and relaxation. The historic old bar boasts a wonderful collection of memorabilia, including a wall signed by British and American airmen stationed at Lavenham Airfield during World War II. The Swan is a wonderful place in which to celebrate a variety of special occasions, including romantic weddings, christenings and family get-togethers. It is also a unique venue for seminars, meetings and conferences, where 15th century inspiration combines with 21st century innovation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavenham Swan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing