We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
91
89
37
14
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
89
37
14
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market square old market bin men old building brick fireplace watch the world fish and chips dog friendly hotel the pub beef three nights comfortable bed enjoyed our stay white company toiletries hotel is situated well worth a visit biscuits
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 244 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2017

A weekend . Ideal location in lovely rural setting. Hotel excellent all round in terms of service, food, welcome.

Rooms spacious with well kitted out toiletries . Lovely local walks.

Although no designated parking there is plenty of local parking which is free

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank graham w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Quaint quirky laid back hotel in the Market Square of this lovely Suffolk town called Lavenham. Totally relaxed from the moment we checked in. Very informal. Was shown to our room which was very clean and given info re restaurant and breakfast times. The hotel building is very old, and the floor of our room slightly sloped in places. Bed was
very comfortable. Welcome table with coffee and tea also had water, biscuits, peanuts, and Baileys and Brandy miniatures. Food in restaurant was very nice, and served by staff for whom nothing was too much trouble.
Parking proved a problem, but after a few circuits of the Market square we managed to find a spot not far from the hotel.

https://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g186383-d192797-r529104876-The_Angel_Hotel-Bury_St_Edmunds_Suffolk_East_Anglia_England.html#

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2017 via mobile

Ive visited here a number of times, it has a lovely atmosphere, great decor, fantastic food, the best coffee and staff are very accommodating and friendly and seem to work well as a team. I drive further just to dine here.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

We had lunch here. I had fish and chips which were excellent but why oh why can I not have all the food on my plate instead of separate dishes

Service a bit slow but they were very busy

Pleasant enough

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Walker673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

The management have turned this into a very comfortable hotel especially when you bear in mind the constraints of being a Grade II listed building - be prepared for a sloping floor in the bedroom!! We were very comfortable in this old building. Despite its age, we didn't see any ghosts!! We also enjoyed the evening meal.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FNutburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews