We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
208
150
55
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
208
150
55
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews delightful town central location marmalade family celebration lovely room biscuits bed and breakfast standard room town centre afternoon tea lamb birthday treat main course secondary toiletries niggle wardrobe
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 448 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2020

Stayed here with friends on a Sunday night. Very friendly staff. Service very good. Breakfast lovely, room was great lovely toiletries and good value for a standard room. Couple of negatives I would have liked a little more comfortable seating plus would have been good if the restaurant could have opened on a Sunday night. would recommend Though

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Downba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Dixon, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2020

Dear Downba

Many thanks for your recent review.

I have passed on your comments to the team here at the crown and once these current times pass and a little normality is resumed, Comfortable seating and full dining times will return.

I do look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Stay Safe.

Kind Regards

Rob Dixon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2020

We stayed for two nights here and would very happily go back. Rob, the manager, and his team were extremely friendly and helpful, and their Covid 19 precautions were faultless. The hotel is well situated in the centre of Woodbridge and the residents’ car park is adjacent.

Our room, number 3, was lovely: very large, light and airy, and with excellent large bedside tables and good bedside lamps, not to mention two very comfortable beds. I was also pleased to find an armchair as being a poor sleeper I often sit up at night and read, away from the bed. There were good biscuits on the hospitality tray and quality teas and coffees, including posh sachets of decaff coffee, a first as far as we were concerned.

The bathroom had plenty of space to put toiletries, and the heated towel rail kept the room comfortable. The towels were large and of very good quality. We had slight problems with the hot water in the shower but we only mentioned them as we were leaving as it was nothing that spoilt the stay. Both rooms were spotlessly clean.

We ate very well here: the fish and chips was excellent as was my husband’s barbecued lamb on the first evening. The cheeseboard was interesting as it came with a small, individual fruit loaf as well as crackers. The fruit salad at breakfast was clearly freshly made and came with plain yogurt (again a good one, not a cheapie) and a croissant, plus toast and marmalade.

Here I must mention the marmalade, chutney and jam which is all made on the premises and is wonderful. If you like a chunky marmalade this is the place for you!

The food was really well prepared and the menu, we felt, catered for all, with some fairly traditional dishes and some with a less traditional slant.

All in all, this was a good find and one we would recommend.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moville047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Dixon, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2020

Dear Moville047

Many thanks for you recent review.

Its an absolute pleasure reading this and passing on such wonderful words to the team here at The Crown.

I have passed on your comments to the maintenance team to look into the water issue and correct where they possibly can.
Once again, many thanks for such a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Stay Safe in these uncertain times.

Kind Regards

Rob Dixon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2020

When we arrived we were dismayed that this was a pub with rooms rather than a hotel so no lounge and we sat in small cheerless room for lunch. However, to make up for this the food was excellent (opted for dinner bed and breakfast for one night, bed and breakfast for second). Main eating area very busy and light, well adapted to Covid situation. Staff were extremely friendly and efficient. Rooms were large and well appointed and all amenities very good. Right in the centre of the town which was so convenient.

Date of stay: September 2020
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 293Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Dixon, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2020

Dear 293Barbara

Many thanks for your recent review.

Its pleasing to read you enjoyed your stay. I shall pass on your feedback to the team in the kitchen and restaurant.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Rob Dixon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2020

Booked something called a "cosy" room at hotel. The room was a good size but very basic for the money being charged. There was nothing particularly wrong with the room but it wasn't very special and having been charge £115 for the night including breakfast I expected more.
The breakfast/ dining area was basic, lacking style. The breakfast was ok but it wasn't made clear what was and what wasn't included in the inclusive breakfast. The staff never offered anything.
The best part of the hotel is its location which is right in the centre of the town

Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank I9696GEpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Dixon, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2020

Dear I9696GEpeter

Many thanks for your recent review.

Due to social distancing, there have been a number of changes we have made ensure guest safety as well as accommodating the demand for business. This has meant that a number of furnishings have been removed and the restaurant looking slight more basic than normal, rest assured, as soon as we can, the furnishings will be replaced and comfort and style will once again a reason for visiting The Crown.

The breakfast menu has everything listed that is included in your package. Please accept my apologies this wasn't fully explained to you. I will ensure further training is given in order to ensure this doesn't happen again.

I hope this hasn't deterred you from visiting us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Rob Dixon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2020 via mobile

Amazing hotel, the room is very nice with a lovely bathroom, space in the wardrobe which is useful, very nice champagne in the room, great location, also very good food in the hotel, second time I’ve stayed here and will be 100% be going back

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 952oliverb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob Dixon, General Manager at The Crown at Woodbridge, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2020

Dear 952oliverb

Many thanks for your recent review.

Myself and the team here at The Crown look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Rob Dixon
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews