We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, service and ambience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seckford Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seckford Hall
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
UK
Level Contributor
153 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great food, service and ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Thls is a no nonsense hotel, where rules are made to be obeyed, and in a way that's rather nice these days to find a place that has standards. No chewing gum in the pool and leisure area. No T shirts or trainers at dinner. I had obviously overlooked this point when I booked, and my my husband made 'do' with the same shirt two nights running, but we decided not to dine at £31.50 a person a third night, although the food was delicious and the service great, for want of a shirt the third night .... well Seckford Hall rules are rules. The fittings and furnishings are beautiful, and the setting of Seckford Hall splendid, lovely grounds full of daffodils, and a lake.

Our room was in the main house, and the fabrics well chosen in primrose and pale blue made the most of the dappled light through the mullion lead tudor windows. The room was small compared to what I would usually accept, the four poster was beautifully carved and the bed itself comfortable, although barely a double difficult to get used to from a super-king!! The bathroom was small too, but OK – the toilet was just a bit too close to the wall so not much leg room. The shower was OK would be great if it was a power shower. The towel rails were lovely for warming our towels, we went with our own face flannels, as they don’t provide them. I would suggest the fabric on the furnished chairs could do with a good deep clean, as previous guests had obviously not worm underwear when they sat down, so I made sure to cover them with a towel when I sat down. There was a good choice of tea in a wooden box and they provided small bottles of mineral water in glass bottles.

The leisure centre closes early on Sundays and Mondays worth noting if you want a swim after a long day. The pool itself was OK, but the tiles could do with a refurb a bit cracked and dirty, the depth sign is showing signs of rust. The Jacuzzi was fine and gave out 5 minute bursts of bubbles, so we used 5 of those to get a good jacuoooz.
Do try the lobster thermidor, it would be too expensive to rescue all the lobsters with their claws tied up in the fresh water pool – but I at least rescued one. You do get an amuse bouche when you dine at the restaurant. If you are taking the 3 course evening meal, go hungry.

Breakfasts are served on very hot plates a good standard; the local Proctor butcher’s sausages were good, and the buffet choice reasonable. One small criticism though the first day I asked for tomato ketchup, and was getting a juice when it arrived and came back to find it plonked on my plate, I would rather of liked to have added it myself. The waitress had apparently asked my husband where to put the ketchup! Needless to say that caused a bit of an unnecessary argument! The marmalade is good.

Afternoon tea is a delight a good choice of cakes and a bucket of cream to enjoy with nice scones.

The bar was a good area for pre-dinner drinks and bar snacks. But, I always find old tressle sewing machine tables a bit uncomfortable to sit at. The cranberry drink I had was just a mixer, I am used to a nice long high ball glass of cranberry or even a pint glass. The limited Sunday night bar menu was OK and the chips good. However, the cheese and pickle and ham and mustard sandwiches we ordered came without pickle and mustard, a small point.
Overall, it was a comfortable stay, the staff were very efficient and pleasant. We would go back, but perhaps next time try out one of the court yard new rooms, or at least one with a larger bed.

The venue is near to Sutton Hoo the famous Viking burial site and not too distant from Dunwich the lost town - both of which are worth a visit, and there are some lovely walks around. If you enjoy a concert Snape Maltings are near too check out the Aldeburgh Music festival.

Room Tip: Gents bring enough shirts to wear if you want to dine in the evening, and shoes and no trainers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Qixu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    249
    140
    81
    46
See reviews for
180
428
22
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Islington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My girlfriend and I had a one-night stay here on a Saturday, having driven down from London. We had their "mini-holiday" package, which included access to the gym facilities/pool, dinner, bed & breakfast and even a complimentary cream tea on the first afternoon. The main building is an intensely characterful Tudor pile, with plenty of period features. Just across the car park is the second building that appears to be an extension of the old barns, stables and granaries. The swimming pool is impressive: it's not huge, but certainly big enough for a decent workout, and is housed under the large beams of the Tudor barn. The attached gymnasium was pretty woeful, though: a treadmill, cross-trainer, rowing machine, step machine and exercise bike, all of which had seen better days (but, in fairness, worked perfectly). The gym was properly air-conditioned, if on the small side.

We can't comment on the rooms in the main hotel, although suspect that they are pretty nice. We were put into one of the 'studio' rooms across the car park. This appeared to be a relatively new-build extension from the old barn. The bathroom was very nice and modern, but the decor in the bedroom itself was dated, tired and desperately in need of renewal. Bright yellow wallpaper with red rose patterning, plus dark wood and brass light fixtures? This failed to be even olde worlde quality or modern chic.

The staff were splendid to a man: friendly, very helpful, approachable. The service in the dining room on the Saturday night was particularly good: attention to detail was clearly in evidence, there was an unhurried feel, and the food was sumptuous: lots of locally sourced produce, excellently prepared. Breakfast was similarly good: a reasonable cold buffet followed by a good full English.

The bar in the main hotel has plenty of character and charm in keeping with the rest of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building, rather than the studio rooms just outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDan_6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at Seckford Hall on the occasion of a relative's diamond wedding anniversary. The hotel is conveniently situated built in a tudor or mock tudor style with furnishinjngs to match. There is no lift. The gardens.are beautiful and were a mass of daffodils when we visited. The staff are very helpful and considerate and the meals of an excellent quality.
However if you like modern style buildings and furnishings this is not for you. The only other negative is that during the period of our stay the dinner menu was identical each night.
We did not have an opportunity to sample the health or sports facilities.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

Booked a suite here to celebrate special anniversary, and ABSOLUTELY LOVED everything about this gorgeous hotel. The hotel has a very impressive facade and the children drew gasps as we turned into the drive (although I think they thought we had hired the entire building!). Exquisite four poster suite with very modern bathroom, separate sitting room and childrens room and kitchen area, friendly staff, very good restaurant/bar, lovely (but quite small) leisure facilities, quiet location and lovely grounds. Seckford is special and we would be happy to return anytime. Staff even returned a lost item by post when we returned home and did not ask for costs to be reimbursed.

Room Tip: The website is excellent in describing the rooms with photos. I selected the exact room I wanted to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AugustaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

This was a truly excellent holiday experience in rural Suffolk. A hotel with plenty of historic character with oak panelling, carvings and paintings all set in very pleasant grounds. The staff were extremely warm and friendly in every aspect from the outset. The room, containing a four-poster bed, was extremely comfortable but with all the necessary modern conveniences. The resident lounges were also comfortable and just the places to relax and unwind. The sport's club had a small gym, swimming pool, spa treatments and another bar/restaurant all of which added to the touches of luxury. The restaurant was left until last as this was first class. The staff were always extremely efficient, well organised and courteous. The food was of a consistently high standard being beautifully cooked and presented with a good choice of options. The whole experience led to a very relaxing break over our three night stay. This hotel is definitely on our list for a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Visited the restuarant on a Friday evening for a birthday dinner what a pleasant surprise a lovely building with a proper bar and restuarant nice menu good service and well cooked and presented food. Well done all.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terriandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Fantastic hotel in a beautiful setting and great place to get away from it all. Our room was spacious and warm with a large en-suite and overlooked the grounds to the rear of the house. The building itself is worth a wander around, lots of oak panelling, period furniture, creaky floors and rooms for afternoon tea. Staff were excellent and our evening meal and breakfast in the main restaurant were very good. The bar is cosy and is a great place for a pre or post-dinner drink. There is an outside patio area with tables and chairs, umbrellas and heater for when it's chilly. We used the pool at the leisure club and, again, facilities were excellent. A real treat!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodbridge
5.2 km away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
33.7 km away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
9.4 km away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 km away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
12.6 km away
Belstead Brook Muthu Hotel
2.3 km away
The Crown at Woodbridge
The Crown at Woodbridge
#2 of 4 in Woodbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seckford Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seckford Hall

Property: Seckford Hall
Address: Seckford Hall Cottage 12 Seckford Hall Road | Great Bealings, Woodbridge IP13 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seckford Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful four-star luxury hotel and spa offering an ideal base to explore the county of Suffolk - from the local Suffolk coast featuring popular destinations such as Southwold and Aldeburgh to Constable country visiting villages such as Flatford and Dedham. Steeped in history, the magnificent red brick Tudor building is over 500 years old and is complemented by the modern facilities of the newly refurbished Seckford Spa, adjacent to the main hotel building. Perfect for business or pleasure, the hotel is also a wonderful Suffolk wedding venue with acres of beautiful grounds and a lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Seckford Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seckford Hall Woodbridge, UK - Suffolk
Seckford Hall Hotel Woodbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing