We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another amazing cooking experience”
Review of 5 Spice Cookery

5 Spice Cookery
Ranked #2 of 6 Food & Drink in Guildford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: 5 Spice Cookery is an oriental cookery school specialising in Malaysian, Thai, and Japanese cuisine based in Guildford, Surrey, UK.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my second visit with Sue at her cookery class, yet again Sue was amazing. Makes you feel so welcome as soon as you walk through the door. A brilliant relaxed environment. This time we made a traditional Malaysian Curry which was amazing. I would definitely recommend sue to everyone for cooking class. 5*****

Thank Lucy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5SpiceCookery, Owner at 5 Spice Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Lucy thank you for your kind words, we are always thrilled to see returning students and it was also a pleasure to meet your mum. We really enjoyed teaching Rendang, one of Malaysia’s signature dishes, and trust you got a chance to appreciate again when you got home with your takeaway bag. Look forward to hearing from you again sometime soon. Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (15)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"an amazing cook"
in 2 reviews
"asian cooking"
in 2 reviews
"cooking class"
in 2 reviews
"techniques"
in 3 reviews
"teacher"
in 2 reviews
"skills"
in 3 reviews
"sue"
in 12 reviews
"taught"
in 2 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"fun"
in 5 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 15 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

Sue and Pascuale were very knowledgeable about the food they were teaching us to make. All the ingredients were prepared for us on arrival so we were able to relax and enjoy cooking then eating a very tasty lunch in Sue's beautiful kitchen! A great opportunity to learn new skills, meet new people and explore using new ingredients and techniques, would highly recommend. Huge thanks to Sue! :)

Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5SpiceCookery, Owner at 5 Spice Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2018

Thanks for your kind review, Martha, it was great to meet Tom and you on Sunday. I hope you will continue to enjoy making the California roll and tempura in your own home. Hope to see you again for the next class in April. Sue & Pascale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

My wife and I enjoyed a great couple of hours with Sue last Sunday learning how to make a few Malay specialities, Nasi Lemak, King Prawn Sambal and Kuih Ketayap. We had a great time learning some new skills and enjoyed a great lunch afterwards! Sue really knows her stuff and is a great teacher. Great job and thanks again!

1  Thank Lee2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5SpiceCookery, Owner at 5 Spice Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Thank you for your very kind review Lee and Mia, it was a pleasure to work with you both and share your passion for authentic Malaysian cuisine. We look forward to seeing you again for the rending and onde onde! Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We have experienced Sue's cooking parties now twice and enjoyed both occasions thoroughly. The second time was to celebrate a birthday and it felt like an unique way to get together with friends. Sue is the perfect host, knowledgeable about the cuisine and we would highly recommend the event to others.

Julie and Tony

Thank Seagulls83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5SpiceCookery, Owner at 5 Spice Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Thank you Tony and Julie,
It's always a pleasure to have repeat customers and it was great to catch up with you again. Looking forward to learning about your practice of the new recipes and seeing you again sometime soon. Happy cooking.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2017

This was a fabulous way to spend a few hours and we learnt a great deal. Sue, the tutor was so enthusiastic about Asian cooking and guided us through it all. It was a small group, allowing for one to one instruction. You get to eat the items you have made at the end and also take home anything left over. I brought the course as a present for my sister who loves cooking and she was delighted and said she learnt many new tips. Our husbands were also very grateful for the leftovers! Well worth doing and this would be a fabulous Xmas present. Go fo it!

Thank debsoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5SpiceCookery, Owner at 5 Spice Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Thank you Deborah for your kind review, these really do help the business profile. Look forward to seeing your sister and you sometime in the future hopefully. In the meantime happy cooking and if you do have any questions about the recipes then do get in touch.
Regards,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 5 Spice Cookery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing