We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely, fun afternoon and delicious food

We had such a great time with Sue. She was very welcoming and friendly. Sue planned the session... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Lauren P
Absolutely TOP!

I wanted to take my 12 year old son to a cookery class as a Christmas present. Sue was so... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
680annek
,
Horsham, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 29 reviews
  
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
28
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken rendang cooking class fresh ingredients great cook asian cooking great teacher sue techniques leftovers skills kuih knowledge courses host
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 29 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2018 via mobile

Sue and Pascuale were very knowledgeable about the food they were teaching us to make. All the ingredients were prepared for us on arrival so we were able to relax and enjoy cooking then eating a very tasty lunch in Sue's beautiful kitchen! A great opportunity to learn new skills, meet new people and explore using new ingredients and techniques, would highly recommend. Huge thanks to Sue! :)

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5SpiceCookery, Owner at 5 Spice Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2018

Thanks for your kind review, Martha, it was great to meet Tom and you on Sunday. I hope you will continue to enjoy making the California roll and tempura in your own home. Hope to see you again for the next class in April. Sue & Pascale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 23, 2018

My wife and I enjoyed a great couple of hours with Sue last Sunday learning how to make a few Malay specialities, Nasi Lemak, King Prawn Sambal and Kuih Ketayap. We had a great time learning some new skills and enjoyed a great lunch afterwards! Sue really knows her stuff and is a great teacher. Great job and thanks again!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Lee2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5SpiceCookery, Owner at 5 Spice Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2018

Thank you for your very kind review Lee and Mia, it was a pleasure to work with you both and share your passion for authentic Malaysian cuisine. We look forward to seeing you again for the rending and onde onde! Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2017

We have experienced Sue's cooking parties now twice and enjoyed both occasions thoroughly. The second time was to celebrate a birthday and it felt like an unique way to get together with friends. Sue is the perfect host, knowledgeable about the cuisine and we would highly recommend the event to others.

Julie and Tony

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Seagulls83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5SpiceCookery, Owner at 5 Spice Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Thank you Tony and Julie,
It's always a pleasure to have repeat customers and it was great to catch up with you again. Looking forward to learning about your practice of the new recipes and seeing you again sometime soon. Happy cooking.
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

This was a fabulous way to spend a few hours and we learnt a great deal. Sue, the tutor was so enthusiastic about Asian cooking and guided us through it all. It was a small group, allowing for one to one instruction. You get to eat the items you have made at the end and also take home anything left over. I brought the course as a present for my sister who loves cooking and she was delighted and said she learnt many new tips. Our husbands were also very grateful for the leftovers! Well worth doing and this would be a fabulous Xmas present. Go fo it!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank debsoffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5SpiceCookery, Owner at 5 Spice Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2017

Thank you Deborah for your kind review, these really do help the business profile. Look forward to seeing your sister and you sometime in the future hopefully. In the meantime happy cooking and if you do have any questions about the recipes then do get in touch.
Regards,
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2017

My sister and I booked this as a surprise for our Mum, who is a great cook but has never made or eaten Malaysian cuisine. From the outset, Sue was so helpful, promptly replying to emails, being flexible with timings and menus, being more than happy for us to chop and change between Thai and Malaysian menus if we had wanted to and talking me through the dishes in detail ahead of the class so we knew what we were in for.

She was so welcoming upon arrival, offering us hot and cold drinks throughout the class, throwing in a delicious homemade lemongrass honey tea, whilst teaching us how to make pandan coconut pancakes, a beansprout spicy salad, chicken rendang (utterly divine chicken curry) and a simple but flavoursome brocoli stir fry. Throughout the class, she made sure all 3 of us were involved equally and everything was made from scratch - other than laying out the ingredients, there was no pre chopping, pre cooking etc, which meant we really were being taught how to make these dishes from scratch.

Sue also ensured to tell us which specialty ingredients could be replaced with day to day ingredients in our local supermarkets and gave us typed out recipes to take home at the end. She even ensured we had our own hob points to work on, our own electronic spice grinders/mixers to use etc so no one was left on the sidelines just watching.

I learned so many new skills and honestly, it was the best Malaysian food I have ever tasted in the UK, especially the rendang curry. The pancakes also seemed so easy to reproduce at home, which came as a lovely surprise as I love pandan desserts.

At the end of the class, Sue served us up what we had made, boxed up leftovers that we could take home for our family who weren't at the class and we had a lovely chance to chat to Sue and her husband about her passion for food, their travels etc.

We had a fabulous, informative morning and were so full by the time we left and it has genuinely made us feel tempted to return another day to try and learn some Thai cooking from Sue.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank hungryforcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
5SpiceCookery, Owner at 5 Spice Cookery, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2017

Thank you so much for your most thoughtful feedback, it was a bit daunting to teach an Indian lady to cook curry! We are delighted that your family have enjoyed the experience, and we look forward to seeing you again some time soon. Sue&Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews