We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Campervan classic!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
94 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Camper van -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Guildford, Surrey, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 94 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carol P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Campervan classic!”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My wife and I have just returned from a tour of the Cotswolds in Peaches, a 1970's classic VW campervan which we hired from RetroCampervan in Kingsley. Driving Peaches was certainly an experience, getting used to the gear changes after using a modern car was certainly an eye opener and there was no danger of us going over the speed limit. A much slower pace of life with plenty of people talking to us and admiring the van on our travels. So would definitely recommend the experience and the guys at RetroCampervan.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Service
Liked best: Being able to go where we liked, complete flexibility
Liked least: First experience of camp sites and shared facilities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
1 review
“Fabulous service and such fun family time”
Reviewed 9 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Hired Mango for a week to go to festival and beach holiday with a 1 and 5 year old. We had a fabulous time such such fun would highly reccommend little girl kept singing"we're going on holiday in a campervan"just like peppa pig little boy ones it too -

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacko1965...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“APPRECIATED LIFE IN THE SLOW LANE”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We hired Peaches for a week to travel to the New Forest, Dorset, Devon & Cornwall. It was me, my buddy and our young teenage daughters. It had been our intention to use the top for the teenagers to sleep in, but we were glad to have bought the pop up tent as it would have been far too cramped. Peaches was old, and slow, and the gears were a nightmare to begin with going up hills, but we LOVED her, as did everyone else who met her, she had such classic appeal, and all the other VW camper vans beeped us everywhere we went. Compact and efficient, she could have done with more up to date equipment (kettle, pot, utensils etc.), but was sufficiently equipped for two efficient women. Do wish we had pre-ordered an awning. I think this should be standard, especially with the unpredictability of the English weather. Nearly all of the equipment had seen far better days, but we managed well. This was the sort of holiday where we wanted to experience the basics of life again, so we made do and enjoyed it tremendously. Service was friendly and reassuring, but no added frills attached. Bring all your own bedding, towels, salt, pepper, teatowels etc., as if camping actually!
We had exceptionally good weather which made the holiday all the more enjoyable, but please don't expect any luxuries. This is the kind of experience you have to take the rough with the smooth on. We made so many memories in the beautiful English countryside and saw so much more of it simply because we just had to go sooo much slower. A real treat in the fast paced society of today. The teenagers were bored most of the time , although I think they will look back on the holiday fondly as we had so many laughs.
I would advise against going anywhere too hilly. For example, we left the camper at the park and ride when visiting Lyme Regis, and so glad we did as she never would have made it up the steep hills from stationary, without a 10 mile tailback behind us!
I would do it again in a heartbeat if........1) We didn't have any teenagers in tow 2) We could rely on the weather 3) A very close, efficient buddy, with a good sense of humour, was going with me again 4) We would choose a more modern, better equipped camper next time.
Not for the faint hearted.
Thank you RetroCampervan for affording us with a lifelong memory of some fabulous times in Peaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Liked best: The vintage experience
Liked least: The lack of equipment and utensils.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swing8067
1 review
“Blueberry Experience - New Forest Aug 16”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016


We had a lovely time travelling around the New Forest in Blueberry, she is a superb Camper van. Rod at Retro Campers made sure we had all we needed and his communication leading up to the trip was fantastic. I would definitely do it again and wholeheartedly recommend Rod and Retro Campers. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky J
1 review
“Peaches - Absolute magic”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

One week with a wonderful machine.
If you haven't driven or owned one of these; this is a must.

When you meet the team at the workshop really listen to what rod has to say about the machines 'capabilities' and how to drive them; then when you're ready, be on your way.. Use the first 24 hours to spit, curse and shake your fist at the 'capabilities' of the machine and then let the charm set in.

The greatest part is you don't have to buy one, store it, tax it, insure it, repair it, maintain it, get breakdown cover, clean it, wash it regularly, bump into it, fall over it, move it, nothing.
Just pick it up, take it on an adventure, laugh your socks off, give it a customary spit clean and bring it back in one piece...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lottie S
1 review
“Mango Magic!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have had the best 10 day trip in Mango, we found Rod extremely knowledgable and helpful, he went out of his way to give us (first time campervanners) advice and tips and make the pick up and drop off exceptionally easy.

Mango was clean, comfortable, supercool and an absolute pleasure to take to the roads! We had a fantastic holiday travelling through Devon, Dorset and to camp Bestival which was memorable in so many ways and the adventure us and our two boys had hoped for. It was simply brilliant.

We cannot wait to plan another trip and cannot recommend this company enough!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy J
1 review
“Very Happy Campervanners”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We hired one of the modern T5 campers for a week, to tour Dorset, Devon and Somerset. Right from booking to returning the vehicle, was one easy process with Rod the owner there to answer and assist whenever required. The vehicle was very clean, well equipped and reliable, The weather and vehicle were perfect for the whole week. we couldn't have had a better holiday. Just to note this was our first ever holiday in a campervan. Will definitely hire from Rod again and would definitely recommend them to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;