We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Liss, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I booked a night here as a birthday treat for my 13 year old daughter and her two friends. The hotel staff were all very good with them and the food and atmosphere in the restaurant couldn't have been much better. Best of all was the service in the restaurant which was exemplary and made the girls feel very grown up. The rooms were very clean & well equipped but not luxurious - the only tiny gripe I had was that they were very hot with no obvious way of turning the heat down. The wonderful setting, food and service more than made up for this though!

Room Tip: Different rooms are furnished in different styles if the website pictures are to be believed so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne1266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    282
    147
    84
    53
See reviews for
135
552
29
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

This break did not meet our expectations in fact it was the worst hotel experience we have ever had

Upon checking in we were told we had received a free upgrade, the room was dark and very basic. The bed was two singles joined together which we were to find out that evening leaves you feeling like your sleeping in a ditch if you sleep too close to the middle.

We made our way over to the spa... The staff greeted us by looking at us blankly. We had to ask if we could use the facilities. The spa was simply a large basic rectangle swimming pool with a few beds on one side all of which were taken up with towels scattered everywhere. We had to sit on a wet uncomfortable chair instead. The steam room etc was just basic

Dinner... Worst part of the stay! Starter was fine and well presented we couldnt wait for our mains. When the mains arrived they had mixed up my order and gave me something completely different. I called a waitress over who said she will investigate. She came back apologised and walked away. Then the manager came over and explained if i wanted my actual dish i ordered i would need to wait 15 minutes. My partner was already eating and without wanting to create a scene (the restaurant was so quite and all guests sat so close together) i said to leave it. We were given the bill at the end of the meal which crazily included my main which I hadn't touched at all or ordered in the first place plus service charge. I called the waitres over and said I didn't think it was fair to be charged a main I didn't eat or order. A little while later a different waitress brought a new bill over without the meal or service charge. Why they couldn't do that in the beginning as anyone would do I don't know. I myself am a restaurant manager I know the correct procedures with incidents like this

Checkout was the most impersonal I've ever experienced. We had brought two glasses of wine in the spa and that was all they were concerned about. We paid for that which was then followed by nothing. With 3 ladies working behind the counter not one said goodbye, thank you, asked how our stay was.... Nothing at all. Disgusting.

With an upset stomach and a very disappointing stay we decided to skip our complimentary treatment we were suppose to have in the spa and came home!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LytheHillHM, General Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,
it is indeed a surprise to me that you have come across so many disappointing aspects during your stay. Has you will observe from previous travellers comments this is not a norm either in the services we offer or the facilities, in the contrary it is indeed an exception. I am really sorry that you have felt we let you down on this occasion and I would be delighted if you could contact me directly so that we can discuss the issues mentioned in more detail in order to help us improve our services and to ensure that your next visit is a more pleasant one.

Thank you for the pleasant and constructive views.
We look forward to seeing you soon.


Julio Marques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here last weekend and we had the most wonderful time! We won a weekend break for two in a competition so only paid for lunch and dinner, and although the food was a bit pricey, it was totally worth it! We had afternoon tea twice, which was delicious. The scones in particular were so light and tasty! Our room was lovely, the bathroom very clean and good sized. The grounds are beautiful, and the restaurant is well positioned overlooking the lake with a lovely terrace for you to sit and take in the surroundings. We went for a long walk on both days starting behind the lake and going up a steep hill. It was a good walk through the woods. We asked for a guide to the walk at reception, but the instructions weren't very clear and said to follow yellow ribbons along the way but we didn't see any!? It was good fun anyway :) The food was really the best. We had both lunch and dinner there, it was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious! There was also a good selection of food for breakfast. The staff were attentive and very friendly throughout our stay. Jenny and Christina in the restaurant were very helpful indeed. We used the spa facilities once, the pool was lovely and the facilities overall were great. A highly recommended hotel, we loved it and will hopefully return one day!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gomes-Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We stayed at Lythe Hill Hotel on a dinner bed and breakfast deal in a superior room. It was so lovely. The staff were first class, the place is peaceful, scenic and beautiful. Our room was very clean, spacious and overlooking the lake, where the rabbits ran around!
The best bit of the stay was the fabulous meal in the tudor wood pannelled room. The food was first class, and I have to have a gluten free meal. The waiter replied when I told him about this with ' yes madam, we know! Its our job to know!' The service, food and staff made the evening one of the best meals I have ever had. The staff even made me a special ' happy new job' pudding after our meal at the bar!
Spa was also lovely, clean, well maintained pool, gym, steam and sauna, with spa treatments extra.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone, it was truly a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Apart from being in a completely idyllic location the room was lovely, maybe a little on the small side but definitely quaint with its exposed beams and well thought out layout. The price was very reasonable but then we did get a very good last minute rate as we arrived late at night after leaving a very disappointingly grotty nearby hotel. The breakfasts were fantastic, a continental style buffet and full English breakfasts cooked to order. We did not use the spa as, owing to our initial poor choice of hotel with no pool, we did not have swim suits etc. Would look forwards to going back again and using the spa. Finally, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were all very friendly and helpful with service being prompt always. If you are looking for a relaxing weekend away in beautiful grounds where you can chill and/or go on fantastic walks (we enjoyed a lovely long walk up around and out of the grounds on the local footpaths, the scenery is stunning and well worth a look) then there is no better place to go.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Excellent facility; peaceful surroundings; excellent and friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble; food very good indeed. Well located. Would recommend but suggest a superior room for better facilities.

Room Tip: Superior rooms better laid out - when dining suggest reserving a table in the old dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We have stayed here a number of times, usually when work or the real world has become just a little too much. There are odd deals throughout the year, such as Sunday night, which involve a chunk of money off the evening meal, breakfast, and what can be two days use of the spa.
The spa itself is limited to a pool, steam room, 'jacuzzi' and sauna, but it is possible to 'waste' rather a lot of hours doing very little in a very nice way. Treatments (nail, massage, and so on) are on offer, but the real joy is lying on a sunlounger in between swims or sauna sessions and not having to do anything at all.
It is important to book a specific room. The suites, such as Keats, are lovely, but we prefer the old building rooms, such as Seymour, which has an idiosyncratic lopsided charm and comfort. Rooms in what was the stable block are modern, anodyne and without the views, as well as being near to a very large and impressive glass-roofed function room.
Breakfast is wonderful, and the staff are a delight. The restaurant does very good food, if a little pretentious at times, but this is definitely somewhere we keep for times of need.

Room Tip: Jane Seymour, at the top of the Tudor main building. Other rooms there, or one of the suites (Keats...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haslemere
2.0 km away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
501 reviews
10.6 km away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
7.4 km away
Grayshott Medical Spa
Grayshott Medical Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
11.7 km away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
28.5 km away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa

Property: Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Address: Petworth Road, Haslemere GU27 3BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Haslemere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Haslemere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beyond the magnificent Tudor facade which greets guests on arrival, lies a luxury 4 star hotel like no other. Resting on the borders of Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex, Lythe Hill is an outstanding example of a luxury country house hotel that has never lost its old world sense of charm. With 46 individually designed bedrooms, gym, spa, health club and stunning restaurant, you can expect faultless service and total relaxation set within 22 acres of picturesque countryside. While Lythe Hill may be inspired by the past, it's certainly not confined by it. Blending historic features from 1475 with a cool contemporary atmosphere, guests truly have an abundance of experiences to indulge in. Our historic Tudor House consists of a bar and restaurant which offers a range of dishes with freshly prepared traditional cuisine. Our Head Chef and his dedicated team strive to deliver the freshest, high quality dishes. The Amarna Spa is inspired by Queen Nefertiti, whose name means "the beautiful one has arrived". The Spa was designed to reflect Nefertiti's desire for peace, tranquility and her passion for pampering. Offering a wide range of ESPA beauty therapy treatments, 16 metre swimming pool and whirlpool, steam room and sauna and fully equipped gym and tennis court. Making this the ideal place to wind down and renew your energy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lythe Hill Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel Haslemere
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa Haslemere, Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing