We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
US$250
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Angel Inn(Midhurst)
US$124
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$293
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,117)
Filter reviews
1,117 results
Traveller rating
527
293
152
88
57
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
527
293
152
88
57
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstudor buildingsteam roombeautiful groundsrelaxing stayrestaurant staffsuperior roomlounge areawaiting staffafternoon teachanging roomslovely settingwedding venuelovely roomsconesbuffet stylebirthday treatfollowing morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,117 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really lovely venue, friendly staff and great food. We were even shown to our table by the manager, a very polite and friendly young man. Thank you for a fantastic evening, we cant wait for the next one. The Michael Jackson act was brilliant, dance floor was packed and we all had an amazing night. Will definitely come again. Well done Lythe Hill Hotel, you put on a very good night.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldThornsGR, Guest Relations Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Diana,

Thank you for your review and lovely comments. I shall make sure the Team are aware.

We hope you will come to another one of our tributes this year. Check-out our website for upcoming acts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fabulous night with family & friends , Michael Jackson tribute act was brilliant. Food was first class. Staff were so accommodating they couldn’t do enough for us. Food service was excellent . Can’t wait for next time, Tom Jones.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Mazza5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldThornsGR, Guest Relations Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for this review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Looking forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When my family and I arrived at the hotel to celebrate my mother's birthday, we all arrived at the correct check in time, our rooms were not ready for us. It was set up for two people even though we booked and payed it for three. The bed was not set up, there were only two towels in the bathroom and not three. When we went to the reception desk to share our problem, a staff member was very rude and not helpful at all. Later in the evening, my family and myself went to the Michael Jackson and Prince Tribute night in the function roon. However, Michael Jackson only played and Prince was replaced with Stevie Wonder. When we sat down at our table, my family and I found ourselves to be very crammed together. Our table was booked for my family only. However, we were surprised to be joined by two other sets of family's. The seats which we have pre-booked were taken by the other sets of family (this was not their fault as there wasn't enough tables available). When we spoke to a waitress about the problem, again they were incredibly rude and not helpful at all. The reply to the problem was 'we will put more chairs around the table'. But it was impossible to put more chairs around our already crammed table. When the problem was resolved, we were able to relax and enjoy the food. However, we were not satisfied with the food. The starter was a patê with some Frech toast. This was nice, but one slice of French toast was not enough. Next was the main course which was some two very dry chicken breasts, three potatoes and some ratatouille- like vegetables. However, when we booked our meal, we were told the chicken would be wrapped in Panchayat and mozzarella this was not the case, as we were served with just two plain chicken breasts. Finally, we received our pudding which was a strawberry cheesecake. However, when it was served, the cheesecake was more like a strawberry mouse. After our disappointing meal, the entertainment was much more pleasant, as we all soon on the dancefloor dancing. Overall, my family and I found our stay very disappointing and the service of the staff members to be rude and not helpful.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Megan_Trantham18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldThornsGR, Guest Relations Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Megan,

I am very curious as to your recounting of your stay?

When you checked in, your rooms were indeed ready and you were checked-in straight away. At the last minute you added a third person, and housekeeping had not had a chance to add the additional bed to the room. It was accomplished by the afternoon. Originally you had booked the Tribute table for a party which would have given you a full table to yourselves. When all but three of your party decided to dine in the main restaurant and not have dinner in the Tribute, then a shared table would be normal. This is explained when booking and in the confirmation. When your party finally joined you at 10:00 pm, 30 minutes after the Tribute started, we kindly offered to bring additional chairs to the table. Most guests are up dancing at this point, so this would not have been crowded. In fact we did put up another table just for you to accommodate.

Afterwards, you mentioned to Reception, upon going to bed, that you had a lovely time. The next morning at breakfast you also told the Supervisor that you had a lovely time.

The menu never stated that the chicken would be wrapped? It was a stuffed Chicken breast. Ratatouille is a mixture of particular vegetables.

At check-out, all were light and lively. Having friendly banter about helping you with your luggage and the largest balloon we had ever seen. You left laughing......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Being an afternoon cream tea connoisseur, I was disappointed with this one.
Can’t fault the hotel, staff or service at all but the sweet selection on the tiers far outweighed the savoury and left all 6 of us feeling beaten before we were ready.
Only four tiny triangle savoury sandwiches each and then huge slabs of super sweet cake and then two massive scones each?!...
this was supposed to be a reunion afternoon of merriment and catch up, with champagne, tea and taxis home. Yes, we had a great time but if there had been more savoury bits to balance out the sweet stuff, we wouldn’t have felt it so sickly and we would have hung around for longer (hence spent more!).

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank caroline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldThornsGR, Guest Relations Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Caroline,

We appreciate your comments and review. I shall pass on your thoughts to the F&B Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Payed £95 for a standard double expected more paper thin walls constant banging and moaning most of the night from all sides of the room then started a again in the morning had a 6 hour drive the morning after mixer tap for shower and square toilet seat and cheap feel felt like it was designed by an accountant or someone who doesn't care about the guests ... breakfast was good

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank perran20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldThornsGR, Guest Relations Manager at Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review. We are sorry that the actions of other guests caused you unrest. Our Reception desk is staffed 24 hours. Please do not hesitate to contact us with requests or situations which need to be addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews