We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
11
18
15
8
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
11
18
15
8
58
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 110 reviews
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Ive stayed at the hotel for 2 trips now and I love it for the sheer comedy factor. It's cheap as chips and not as bad as people make out.
When we arrived the wee guy was sleeping on the reception desk and they kept giving people the master key. There was a big group of lads there on our first stay and when we got back from our night out we could see someone had been in our room and chucked our clothes about. Luckily they were only messing about and never stole anything but still. The staff could not be bothered at all and were quite lazy. They were always just chillin with their earphones plugged in and feet up in reception. Over all good fun and at the price you pay ou really can't complain

Date of stay: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollzdollz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Awful, awful experince. From the chaotic check-in ( the receptionist couldn't find the keys to some rooms, "acidentally" overchanged two people ) to the hasty departure the same day. This place is more of a " hostel / doss house " than a hotel. OK if your a student looking for a place to crash after a night on the town. Otherwise if you're looking for a restful stay forget it, best to avoid.

Room tip: Get the annex if availabe
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I see all these reviews but what they forget to tell you is that they looked for the cheapest price and that's what they got and the hotel is situated in the roughest part of Newcastle, I have used the bluebird hotel a few times and i am going back but getting the cottage this time. Yes at weekends they have party's of people who go clubbing in the town centre so you might have a little noise, there are no towels lying around on floors unless you personally left them there some rooms are better than others and like i say you get what you pay for so if your on business then go else where cheap skate but for people with a low budget and just need a place to stay its ideal.

Room tip: Try get a room rear facing for the noisy customers who like to drink outside the front of the building, I did not have to put any deposits before hand but guess it depends on the type of character you are, there are more than one toilet per floor and some rooms have en-suite.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Right,well I did have a few very small problems with my stay...
- dirty walls, floor, sink, wardrobe, sheets and curtains, the ONLY thing that was clean was the mirror ... kind of.
- the broken window that would not open
- the broken door that took 10 mins to lock.
- £20.00 deposit wanted per person before being allowed passed reception (that I knew nothing about) when I finally understood the 'manager' spoke terrible English
- when the upstairs toilet flushed vibrations through the floor.
- 1 toilet to share with a whole floor... hmmm wasn't that bad actually after avoiding the bodily excrements.
- breakfast consisted of stale toast ... old cornflakes and pastry this the rats even avoided.
HOWEVER, one positive its a lovely building even though the paintings in the corridors were upside down. The experience was LAUGHABLE, this is NOT in any means a hotel, I felt more like a homeless women squatting in an old abandoned building.

NO thankfully I did not catch a disease though me and my boyfriend will certainly go for checks.

Room tip: No good room, choose the car park, its clean and have a nice view of the police cars!
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Natalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This place is a dump. I went down for my hen weekend with 13 girls. The rooms where disgusting. In the four bedroom en-suite there was poo in the kettle, bacon in one of the drawers. Beds where black, carpet, well that should have been thrown out. Also my friends bag got slashed. We came in from a day out and noticed it had been slashed right open. We where all out of the hotel. Spoke to a member of staff, in which they where very unhelpful. We where to stay both nights, however we got our Saturday night refunded and moved on. Please do not stay here. It is minging and it doesn't feel very safe

Room tip: Dont pick a room, just dont go there at all !!!!
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews