We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed here as close to metro centre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“stayed here as close to metro centre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

we stayed here as we were going to the metro centre shopping for the day and it was the closest one. the location was excellent so close to everything within a minutes walk there is tgi fridays, kfc and lots more facilities. we had to wait a little at reception to get checked in before we could go to the room and gt sorted.. we then went to the room it was ok the sofa bed was very big and the double bed was comfortable.... we went shopping and came back to find that the key for the door wouldnt work!! not what you need when you have a screaming poorly child being on the 2nd floor and the room that was furthest away!! there was also lots of young lads hanging around in the corridors! went back down to reception n they gave us another key which worked after a few attempts!! we went for breakfast on the morning- its supplied complimentary and there was more than enough to choose from.. there were 3 hot items which was sausages beans and scrambled egg. there was a couple of different cereals and then fresh fruit, yogurts tea coffee etc.. we really enjoyed it!! would stay here again if the price wasnt too expensive as when we went to newcastle again we did check this hotel price and availability but it was like 110 quid!! wouldnt pay anymore for it than a travel lodgen which costs 60quid tops!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sophiejsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments.

Pat MacInnes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    268
    108
    34
    29
See reviews for
143
247
27
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a concert at the radio arena ( 5 min drive) excellent location, especially within 20 second walking distance to TGI fridays.
The room was fantasic, with lots of
Facilities, more than the average travelodge.
Staff were very friendly on departure for hotel. Would definitley stay here again. 5 stars!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your comments I have passed them on to the team who are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Oh my gosh can't tell you how bad this was we have stayed at holiday inns hundreds of times but this one takes the biscuit....booked in room 101 ground floor as we had a dog with us, fine on arrival receptionist was great friday 24th feb at 1p.m very helpful.... we were going to a funeral and she let us in our room early to change as we just had a 6 hr journey down from highlands. Come back to hotel 9p.m to get a good night sleep as we had the 6 hr journey back, well noisy people out side room , talking loud 1 , 2 , 3 in morning,The dual carraige way was very noisy till about 2a.m boy racers on motorbikes zooming around, then a car was burgled right outside our window don't park car at back of hotel, not safe! police arrived 4a.m. Then we could not get back to sleep, in morning when we said to the receptionist it was the worst night sleep we had had in the hotel, she just could not be bothered to be customer friendly she was not bothered at all and just said you should of told the night porter, my husband was up at 4a.m checking our car had not been broken into and no one to be seen on reception so there you go...... will never stay at this hotel again. receptionist on saturtday morning could do with customer service training we left at 8.30a.m sat 25th feb !

Room Tip: do not pick rm 101 ground floor noisy dual carraige way outside and back of car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review of the hotel, I was extremely concerned to hear that your comments were not addressed properly on check out and would like to apologise on behalf of the hotel. However I am sure that you will agree the fact that a car was broken in to in the car park is not the fault of the hotel and in fact we have taken every precaution to ensure that security is tight within our hotel and also in the grounds. I would like to assure you that this is an isolated incident and we are co-operating fully with the police in this matter, it was the hotel staff who reported the incident to the authorities. With regard to the noise on the evening you stayed the corridors are patrolled regularly by the staff and I can see no report of noise on the floor on which you stayed so can only assume that as the receptionist on check out stated you did not bring this to the attention of the staff on duty so that we could do something about it. Once again I apologise as clearly the member of staff you spoke to did not communicate this properly on check out and was unduly rude, however at all times if a guest has a problem we are genuinely committed to helping and in this instance I am disappointed that unfortunately we were not given the opportunity to help at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Have had 2 good stays here. Its in a great location for shopping at Metrocentre and easy access to major routes. The room was clean this time (27/8 Jan) (although smelt of smoke a little) and nice. Could have been a little brighte, lights randomly places. Staff were very nice, esp housekeeping and reception.
I was woken up one night by rowdy lads oppositeat 2am ish and couldnt get back to sleep. I would have rated 4/5if it hadnt been for that but I acknowledge just bad luck to be opposite.
Breakfast is fair and plentiful although no beans on day 2 so as a veggie left me with just scarmbled agg as hot option.
Free parking and very close to TGI Fridays and Frankie and Bennys and a pub means you can have a nice meal out without going too far. I'd advise driving to Metrocentre car parks as a longish walk, esp with shopping bags!

Room Tip: Some rooms have a dbl bed and a sofa, others 2 singles. Best to ask if you'd prefer one over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ROOMVITHAVIEW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review I have passed on your lovely comments to the staff which are most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel confirms that they used to be!!
It does the job it was built for and although it can't be that old it feels dated in a strange modernish way!!
The beds to me are quite uncomfy, the lighting in the room is extremely poor, quite depressive and useless if you want to work in the room, because the electric doesn't work until you put the card in the slot and it's electric heating the room can be very cold on arrival, that apart its ok, very average.
The friendliness of the staff and the ease of the location do make up for some of the hotels faults but I will be looking for somewhere else in the area and I suspect if I come across a new or refurbished Premier I won't be coming back here.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your comments have been taken on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We booked a room for three, my wife and my youngest son and I, for a trip to see Newcastle Utd v's Manchester Utd at St James Park. We drove down from Scotland and the hotel was very easy to find being only a few hundred yards off of the A1. My wife wanted to shop at the Metro Centre whichis around 1/2 a mile away and she dropped my son and I off at the Metro Centre Bus station where we got a 100 bus into the city centre, only a short walk from the Stadium. The buses run every 10 minutes or so for most of the day.
The hotel is within walking distance of TGI, KFC and a nice bar / restaurant (cant rememember the name but not part of a big chain) The hotel istelf is a good example of the HIE brand, very clean, well laid out, rooms clean and ideal for the three of us with a fold down sofa bed as well as a double bed in the room.
At only £43 for one night it really was excellent value and we had a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldWoodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, they are most appreciated and we are all so happy to hear you had a great time at the game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkcaldy
Level Contributor
192 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

I travelled down from Scotland,with my boyfriend and his son age 12..The room is clean,coz,free parking.Staff are friendly..The breakfast was good :)

Its ideal for going shopping at the Metro

Room Tip: overall excellent.I enjoyed my stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margaretcameron43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIEXNEWCASTLEMETRO, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre, responded to this review, 11 December 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. The team are delighted that you were happy with all aspects of your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express in the future.

Kind regards
Michelle Tindall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Ci...
#17 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
3.9 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
5.5 km away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
6.0 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#8 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
4.4 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Address: Clasper Way | Swalwell, Newcastle upon Tyne NE16 3BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 84 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is a modern designed hotel ideally located just off the A1. Guest rooms accommodate two adults with up to two children and include Express Start Breakfast, free wifi and free parking. Guest rooms are en-suite with power shower, 32-inch flatscreen TV, free wifi, hair dryer and telephone. The Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated in Newcastle Upon Tyne and is only a short distance from Gateshead, Sunderland and Durham. The hotel is an excellent choice for an overnight stay when visiting the area or as a stop off when on your travels. For the corporate traveller the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metrocentre is situated only a short distance from Newcastle Business Park, Newburn Riverside Park, The Watermark and Team Valley Trading Estate. Major companies situated near to the hotel are BAE Systems and ITV Television. For the leisure traveller the hotel is situated a short walk from the Metrocentre, the largest shopping mall in Europe. Newcastle City Centre is only 3.5 Miles away and the infamous Newcastle nightlife is a must for any party goer. The city's many attractions also include Newcastle United Football Club, Metro Radio Arena and of course the famous Tyne Bridge and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing