We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$102
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
County Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$67
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
PREMIER SUITES Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
    US$78
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
      Reviews (2,373)
      Filter reviews
      2,373 results
      Traveller rating
      1,040
      687
      322
      172
      152
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      1,040
      687
      322
      172
      152
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewsafternoon tearedwood barsky loungebridge restaurantwine and dinetyne bridgelovely hoteldean streetcity centrepublic areasmini barbirthday treatbars and restaurantscar parkhotel bardouble roomone night stay
      Filter
      Updating list...
      139 - 144 of 2,373 reviews
      Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

      Visited The Vermont for afternoon tea previous times and was so good returned again in March, well I don’t know if they are cutting back or changed the staff in the kitchen but changed massively from my first two visits!
      On arrival was left standing only to be told my booking was not in when I called two days previous, got over that hurdle, then they brought out the afternoon tea, sandwiches were tasteless, fillings cheap, the fruit scones were nice but no butter for cheese ones, the desserts compared to previous were very small and not very nice at all, there was a small pot with what can only be described as flavoured cream (no spoon to eat it with), I did email the hotel who did offer a free return visit, the general manager did come to check if all was ok on my return but had to be honest and say nothing was different! The sandwiches had a bit more filling but that’s about it, again no butter or spoon and this time no offer of refill for tea, why ask me back if nothing was different, one thing I must say though is there was one young man on the bar working so hard that day on my return visit and did apologise even though was not his fault, he is a credit to the hotel but myself and my sister will not return for afternoon tea again. Look at your competitors around you, Marco Pierre Whites for one! You could do with sending your staff out to see what’s being offered and then tell me that my comment is not justified!

      Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
      Thank AllieRos29
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

      We should preface this saying we had just left the Waldorf Astoria in Edinburgh so our experience was tainted by that. The room was super warm upon arrival, there were no robes, and the bathroom was super tiny. We had a suite and frankly, the layout was awkward. Parking was actually easy if the valet cared for it, but the complaints about loud music til the early hours were accurate. The room service menu wasn't printed, it was on the TV, it wasn't up to date and was hard to read. I never thought I was a nitpicky person but unfortunately this place didn't impress.

      Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      Thank AlwaysPlanningCarrie
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

      Thank you for your review,

      I am struggling to find your reservation in order to investigate the points you have raised. If you could contact me directly with this information I would be very grateful.
      Although not the kind of review we like to see we appreciate that you have taken the time to inform us of your experience.
      I hope we will get a second chance to wow you in the not too distant future.
      Kind regards,
      Alexandra C

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

      We had a restaurant booked on Newcastle quayside and decided at the last moment to book the Vermont hotel so we could both have a drink rather than taking a car

      We have stayed at the Vermont before and it it is within 2 minutes walk of most of the bars and restaurants on the quayside

      Hotel has on-site parking and the hotel check-in was smooth.

      On getting out of the lift on our floor you could hear music blaring from the hotel room next to ours- by the time we walked to the room you would have thought that there was a party in the adjoining hotel room with plenty of shouting and swearing (I am all for a good time being from Newcastle myself but as this was only 6.30 on a Thursday evening I sensed that things would only get louder once the neighbours returned from having a few drinks)

      As such reception quickly moved us to a new room on a different floor - many thanks to the man on reception

      No issues on this floor at all and the room was clean and spacious

      The only criticism I would make of the hotel was the attitude of the woman on bar when we returned to the hotel after our night out. Bar area was a tip with loads of empty glasses everywhere and it was obvious she was stressed with having to make an order of 4 cocktails- she very abrupt bordering on rude and after a 15 minute wait we left empty handed

      In complete contrast the customer service and attitude from the concierge and head concierge was exceptional- they couldn’t be more helpful with their willingness to help and friendly banter

      Would I use this hotel again . Definitely

      Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      Thank Chris W
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

      Thank you for your review.
      I am pleased to see that you enjoyed you stay with us but must offer my apologies for the greeting you received from the bar tender on this occasion. I can only assume she was very busy but would not have intended for her manner to come across as rude in anyway. I have reported this to the head of department for further investigation. I am happy that reception managed to find you a room you were happy with once you reported the noise issue, the guests in question were asked to keep the noise to e minimum after this was brought to our attention.

      I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
      Kind regards,
      Alexandra C

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed April 2, 2018

      I have stayed in this hotel on business several times, as well as a wedding. On all occasions I have been greeted warmly by the staff. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Having spent most of the day travelling, it was great to be able just to walk into the restaurant and be served straight away. The staff were delightful and cheerful, the fixed price menu was reasonablly priced and the food delicious. I retire soon and it is one of the places my wife and I will visit again.

      • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Service
      1  Thank tom d
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

      Thank you for your review,
      I am so pleased that you enjoy your visits with us and I hope there will be many more to come.
      We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
      Kind regards,
      Alexandra C

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

      Just back from the Vermont and once again had a great stay room and food was excellent all staff very nice, will be back,keep up the good work still not got to the rooftop bar yet maybe next time
      Thanks
      John & bobby Gibson

      Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
      1  Thank John G
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      Alexandra C, Front Office Manager at The Vermont Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

      Thank you for your review,
      It always a pleasure to have you stay with us.
      See you again soon!
      Kind regards,

      Alexandra C

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
      View more reviews