We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Great Breakfast! Good Location”
Review of Jesmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jesmond Hotel
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Great Breakfast! Good Location”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We spent around 7 days at the Jesmond Hotel which is in the Cocktail Belt in Osborne Road in genteel Jesmond and enjoyed every minute there! The staff were most obliging and we were very well looked after right down to a temporary residents parking pass for the car. Breakfast was really first class and - unusual these days - was cooked to order with a full programm or just a simple double bacon sandwhich with a good portion of ketchup if required! There is a bus stop for getting into the swinging city / quayside area of Newcastle if the ample nearby bars etc are not lively enough! And not far from Avantis - a really great Italian ristorante in the area - but book a table if you are going there!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank speedbird16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    55
    33
    16
    18
See reviews for
22
47
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Nice boutique style hotel well situated for Jesmond or Newcastle city centre. But the best thing is the Brasserie restaurant! Lovely relaxed atmosphere, superb food and excellent value, various menu options with lunch and early evening specials, a la carte and bring your own bottle evenings. We visit this restaurant often, even when not staying at the hotel. Staff are lovely too and you can spend as long as you like just winding down after your meal. We have taken many friends there and none have been disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abigailNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

hotel was currently undergoing refurbishment so it was surrounded in scaffolding on our visit, so it didn't look very appealing, we had a very small room, where we couldn't walk passed each other at the end of the bed, there was a very tall wardrobe, to which i had to climb on a stool to be able to hang our clothes, the TV was also fitted high upon the wall so we had to crane our necks to watch, room very plain, small bathroom, with small thin bath. lots of dirty marks on the carpet, there was no curtains just blinds (not good in early morning sun) our room also had very thin walls, so when next door was in the bathroom it sounded like they was in our room. the area is good, short walk up-to plenty of bars and not far by taxi/car in town centre, food was lovely in the hotel and surroundings within the restaurant was very nice. staff was okay not very professional as lady on check in had a top that was a bit too revealing. the room next door also tried to have a party with extra guest wanting to stay! luckily the owner was informed and stated the rules that guest had to leave by 11pm.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelleclare89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

Three of us (mature women) stayed in the Jesmond for one night over a weekend recently. The hotel was a few minutes by cab from the town centre and so very convenient for our needs. We all booked single rooms, which varied in size but all had similar amenities and lovely double beds. A wonderful surprise when you are expecting singles. The reception staff were great- I was emailed by them when I inadvertently put 2012 into the booking box, to check whether I was that 'well-organized' as to book a year in advance. A warm welcome, easy access after midnight to the hotel, a good night's sleep with no troublesome noise and a good value and hearty breakfast made it a trouble-free and enjoyable stay. I will be going back next time I am in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Ask about comparative room sizes
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Our last stay in Newcastle, ending our C2C bike trip and leaving next day for home. We got a double room on the groud floor for a reasonable price; 60 Pounds with breakfast. The room (no. 1) is next to the 'ladies loo' and also the entrance of the hotel/ restaurant, but It was okay. We weren't bothered by any noise overnight.
Staff were helpful and businesslike. We could park our bikes in a shed behind the hotel, where they were dry and safe. The hotel lies quite near to the city centre of Newcastle; you can walk to in within 10 minutes.
Breakfast next morning was good; they also had some newspapers to keep up with the worldnews. Overall we found it a good stay and a good price for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulus_Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed here at the start and end of our four day cycle adventure along Hadrian's Wall. The hotel is set (rather obviously) in Jesmond. For those (like me) that didn't know, Jesmond is Newcastle's Hen and Stag night capital. A stroll along the road at 9 p.m. will treat you to an exposure (perhaps literally) to groups of highly refreshed young men and women dressed as Nurses and Police Women (and that's just the boys!). There is also a large contingent of students so it pays to be "down with the kids". The hotel itself was OK, kind of, Breakfast was OK, kind of. The rooms were OK, kind of. Our bathroom was OK but very small. It helps to keep reminding yourself that you didn't pay much to be there. On the up side the staff (who seems to be of various and diverse ethnic extractions) were all keen to help. We were allowed to keep our bikes safely in their garage and they even helped to bring them in for us. Overall it was OK.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff_the_Skier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

First impressions make a big difference. In this case we were dropping bags off prior to checking in later for our first night on the Hadrian's Wall Path walk and a welcoming cup of tea was a good start. The room was rather small but clean and comfortable. We stayed for an excellent meal at the hotel restaurant, and a good breakfast (although the use of foreign staff led to a Fawlty Towers moment where the waiter did not understand what poached eggs and scrambled eggs were!)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussiegwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jesmondhotel_newcast, Manager at Jesmond Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
Hi thank you for your feedback and staying at Jesmond Hotel.
In response to the Breakfast the waiter in charge was not told what egg he required.
There is no harm in employing foreign staff and they are hard workers and wouldn't le me down.
Again thank you for your stay and please don't criticise foreign staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.1 km away
Osborne Hotel
Osborne Hotel
#50 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
138 reviews
0.4 km away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#9 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
494 reviews
0.2 km away
The New Northumbria Hotel
The New Northumbria Hotel
#29 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#17 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
809 reviews
1.1 km away
Jesmond Dene House
Jesmond Dene House
#4 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,106 reviews
0.1 km away
Kenilworth Hotel
Kenilworth Hotel
#67 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jesmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jesmond Hotel

Property: Jesmond Hotel
Address: 34 Osborne Road | Jesmond, Newcastle upon Tyne NE2 2AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jesmond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Jesmond Hotel, a small hotel near Newcastle Upon Tyne with a personal touch. Whether for business or pleasure, our central location with its welcoming and relaxed atmosphere is perfect for visitors to Newcastle & Gateshead as well as the wider region. We pride ourselves on excellent customer care, giving individual attention to all of our guests and ensuring a very high standard of service throughout the hotel. The Jesmond Hotel is a small private hotel with 15 rooms and a welcoming lounge bar. The hotel is situated in leafy Jesmond, with excellent transport links to nearby Newcastle city centre and within walking distance of the shops, bars and restaurants of this elegant suburb. The hotel is staffed 24 hours a day and our bar is open until midnight if guests require. Free parking is available on a first come first serve basis (Permits given on check-in) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Jesmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesmond Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing