We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,015)
Filter reviews
3,015 results
Traveller rating
1,559
879
369
133
75
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,559
879
369
133
75
Show reviews that mention
All reviews millennium bridge bridge view corner suite afternoon tea mini bar sunday lunch cooked breakfast an upgrade superior room lovely hotel car park birthday treat a lovely stay hotel bar lovely room public areas bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
84 - 89 of 3,015 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Great hotel and fab location, right by the Millenium bridge. Quiet hotel (in terms of noise) but right in the middle of all the local bars and restaurants and waterfront. Great room overlooking the bridge. Friendly, helpful staff on phone when booking, at reception and of course, in the restaurant: Callum (one of several), Tirso, Rhys and the lass from Northern Ireland. Food was great at dinner and breakfast. Nice areas in bar to relax in. Absolutely NO complaints. Got a good deal as well including food. All together a perfect place for a fun weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunseeker662018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2018

Dear sunseeker662018,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review following your visit.

It is lovely to read your comments. We are indeed very lucky with our location on Newcastle Quayside! I am pleased that our staff were so friendly and I will be sure to share your comments with the team.

We really hope to welcome you back to Malmaison Newcastle soon.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Booked the Malmaison for an overnight stay as we had stopped there on a few previous occasions. Reception staff really helpful and friendly especially David. Bedroom overlooking the Millenium bridge and river. The room and ensuite was spacious and tastefully decorated.
We had a lovely meal in the restaurant with first class service from Adam and Callum.
We will definitely stop again and would highly recommend to anyone visiting Newcastle.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank teddytubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear teddytubby,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I'm so pleased to hear that you loved your stay at Malmaison Newcastle.

It's great to read that you fund our reception staff to be very helpful and friendly, especially David. It's also lovely to hear that you had a lovely meal in our Chez Mal Brasserie and received first class service from Adam and Callum.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here a few nights ago with my partner for a treat and we were absolutely blown away. The view was fabulous from our room and seeing all the quayside lit up at night was gorgeous. Our bed was lovely and comfy and the room was nice and clean. Lovely clean bathroom with a great shower! Really recommend this for couples!! I would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear Alison s,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review following your recent stay at Malmaison Newcastle.

It's so lovely to read that you were blown away. It's great to hear that you loved the views from your room and that you found your room to be nice, comfy and clean.

Thank you for this review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Malmaison Newcastle again hopefully very soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We enjoyed afternoon tea in the private dining room as a hen party celebration. The room was lovely and the food fabulous but the afternoon was made by our waitress Tessie She was very friendly and entertaining whilst providing a very professional and efficient service. She even remembered everybody's name - a lovely personal touch.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank carjo150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear carjo150,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I'm so pleased to read that you loved your hen party celebrations in our private dining room. I'm so pleased to read that you loved the room and found the afternoon tea to be great.

I'm so pleased that Tessie looked after you well being friendly and entertaining as well as professional and efficient. Thank you very much for these kind comments and I will be sure to pass these along to Tessie.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to welcome you back to Malmaison Newcastle again in the future.

Kind regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

We spent two nights in a bridge view room. Room was comfortable and spacious, with a small lounge area.

Hot breakfasts were freshly cooked and delicious.

All staff encountered at reception and breakfast were courteous and helpful. Special mention to Tirso at breakfast: went the extra mile to make the experience top notch.

Only small bug bear: bathroom lighting was inadequate for wet shaving!

Room Tip: Ask for room 503 or another room overlooking the Tyne, the Gateshead Millennium Bridge and Baltic Centre.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PGeorgeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard L, General Manager at Malmaison Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2018

Dear PGeorgeB,

It's great to read that you had a nice stay at Malmaison Newcastle.

I'm so pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and spacious and that you enjoyed your fully cooked breakfasts in our Chez Mal brasserie the following both mornings.

Thank you for your positive comments about our staff. It's so nice to receive feedback about the team being courteous and helpful - especially Tirso.

Sorry that you found the lighting in the bathroom to be a little dark for a wet shave.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write this review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards,

Richard Lockstone

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews