We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy day”

The Discovery Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had a ride out on metro as had no car and ended up here. From entering the building a kind man that worked there helped us in lift with large pram. Main entrance was having work done had to use a side door but was no problem .
My little boy 3 had so much fun here we didn't get round it all in the 2 hours we were here .
Had nice seating area for our packed lunch . My little boy has not stopped talking about it . A fab free day out !

Thank bambu78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at The Discovery Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Delighted to hear you and your son enjoyed your recent visit, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Carolyn Ball, Discovery Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"science maze"
in 59 reviews
"all ages"
in 133 reviews
"free entry"
in 83 reviews
"water play"
in 28 reviews
"play tyne"
in 24 reviews
"steam turbine"
in 17 reviews
"rainy day"
in 60 reviews
"change of clothes"
in 17 reviews
"ship building"
in 14 reviews
"local history"
in 54 reviews
"interactive displays"
in 25 reviews
"hands on activities"
in 16 reviews
"few hours"
in 52 reviews
"gift shop"
in 33 reviews
"great for kids"
in 27 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 16 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 36 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 1,363 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It's a nice museum, with a good range and diversity of exhibits, ranging from local history to technology and the local river (River Tyne). It is heavily Newcastle/Tyne & Wear/North East focused.
Some of the exhibits should be refurbished though, as the ensemble seems to be in the decades old and it does appear to be a bit run-down!

Thank Alexandre C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at The Discovery Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our displays are well used by the thousands of visitors we welcome through our doors. Unfortunately this means a lot of wear and tear and with limited resources it sometimes takes us a little bit of time to fix or replace the interactive displays. We are a publicly funded museum and have faced significant cuts to our budgets in recent years due to pressures on public sector funding. We now ask visitors for donations and charge for some of our events and activities to help us pay for the maintenance of the building and displays and the cost of providing activities and events.

We appreciate your feedback to help us plan future maintenance.

Kind regards, Carolyn Ball, Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Can’t complain about this place especially with it being free entry.

Loads to see and do and very interesting.

Only thing is it’s a nightmare to find a parking space anywhere near.

Thank SteveLorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at The Discovery Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit, but sorry you felt let down by lack of available parking. Unfortunately as we're a city centre venue, we have minimal parking spaces directly next to the museum. Newcastle City Council own and manage the closest parking bays and car parks.

We recommend travelling by public transport or parking at the multi-storey car park on Waterloo Street, which is a two minute walk from the Museum. Discovery Museum is only a five minute walk from Newcastle Central Station Metro, the mainline rail station and local bus services. The museum is well signposted from the station. Parking is available outside the Museum in a pay and display car park, but it is extremely limited and gets very busy during holiday periods.

We appreciate your feedback

Kind regards, Carolyn Ball, Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took our grandkids ther for the day and they loved it. Plenty of hands on things for them to try. Very good food in the cafe at reasonable prices. Will be going back again.

1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at The Discovery Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Pleased to hear you and the grandkids enjoyed a recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Carolyn Ball, Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Travelled to Newcastle for a football match and spent the few hours before the game exploring the museum. Loads for everyone to do and lots of different topics explored which kept our entire family entertained.

Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyneandWearMuseums, Manager at The Discovery Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Great to hear you and the family all enjoyed your recent visit. As we're a stone's throw from St James' Park - we do make a great pre-match activity for all ages. Hope you pop in again soon.

Carolyn Ball, Museum Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Discovery Museum also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Discovery Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing