We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Magic!!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
View from the hot tub
View from cottage
Cottage garden
view from cottage
The girls out in the garden with the Colonnel
The comfortable Chaise long.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
akd1002
southampton,hampshire,england
2 reviews
“Magic!!!!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Fabulous cottage, with such friendly hosts. Hot tub is amazing, with wonderful views of surrounding countryside. Cream tea and wine awaited our arrival not forgetting lovely fresh eggs from their own chickens. Cannot fault this hidden gem. Wonderful walks from the cottage. So peaceful! Just the place to recharge the batteries. Thank you Joanne and Gordon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totalstar...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“God's Country”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Cottage is so well equipped and has everything you could possibly want and whether relaxing there or exploring, this would fulfil everyone's needs. It also has spectacular views. We had an amazing time, everywhere we went with our dogs was friendly. Found an incredible pub that served 'Doggy meals'. Went for a trip on the reservoir with the dogs and there was no charge for them. We hope to be back next year for a further stay and explore/relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the garden was secure for our dogs to be able to run around in.
Liked least: Can't think of anything to not like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet, and beautiful surroundings
Liked least: the stay wasnt long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margaret...
Hayle, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Beautiful views of Northumberland. Peace and quiet in a most fantastically appointed cottage.
Hosts are very knowledgeable on local history. You must go or you have missed a little gem

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
huw_jones...
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Fantastic!”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I am not really one to writes reviews but Petty Knowes Cottage and its owners deserve one. I cannot reccomend this place enough.
If you are one for the countryside, beautiful views and peace and quiet.....then this is your place. The cottage itself is of a very high standard and warm thanks to the open fire and multi fuel stove (some skill required). The decoration and furniture is superb!
All of this is very much down to the Owners, Gordon and Joanne. They are also fantastic people! we were given an immensely warm welcome and we even had a cream tea and a bottle of wine in the fridge for us!
After settling in we were given a guided historic walk by Gordon and Joanne of the Petty Knowes with a glass of wine in hand! Gordon is a very knowledgable man when it comes to Roman history. such a great pair of people.
I had planned my own little surprise for my partner this weekend and Gordon and Joanne were in on it and helped me make it a more special event!
Hoping for a starry sky I convinced my partner we should go for an evening walk........little did she know I was going to propose. Unfortunately, the only thing Gordon and Joanne couldn't provide was predictable weather. Although Cloudy I still did the deed....she said yes by the way (after a lot of tears). Following our stroll we returned to the cottage to a fantastic scene laid out by Gordon and Joanne on my behalf.
If you want a quiet country retreat complete with outdoor Sauna and HotTub and some lovely people to become friends with, then this is most definitely the place for you!

Highly Recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Absolutely Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessa O
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delightful cottage made even more special by the hosts”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

A great week in a lovely cottage!

Booking was straightforward and the owners answered our emails promptly regarding bike storage and the hot tub. They were flexible with the arrival time and arranged to meet us at their shop to avoid us getting lost following our sat nav! We had a tour of the cottage which included some lovely touches such as snacks and wine. They have clearly put a lot of thought into the furnishings which were homely and comfortable and equipped for our every need.

Despite the atrocious windy weather we had a great week cycling and running with the help of Gordon and Joanne's expert local knowledge! We also appreciated the use their porch to store our road bikes. On our last night we enjoyed a romantic evening stargazing in the hot tub which was a great end to the holiday!

We already look forward to going back when the weather is better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ladyVvh
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect Hideaway”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We were looking for somewhere to escape and recharge our batteries. Petty Knowes was perfect and did just that. We were greeted by the owners who were lovely. They gave us lots of information about the area, we took their advice and enjoyed a good few days exploring.

The cottage is very close to the Kielder Forest Drive, as well as the Pennine Way.

We arrived at the cottage to be welcomed by Joanne and Gordon, and a wonderful afternoon tea in the fridge. Just Perfect!

The cottage is ideal, very cosy, with the real fire and a lovely clean and tidy Kitchen with everything you need. The bed is so comfortable, you may struggle to get out of it :-)

We very much enjoyed shutting the door on an evening and hiding away with the fire on and some nice food cooking.

We spent our last night star gazing whilst watching the flares going off in the distance over the military base. The perfect end to the perfect break.

Can't wait to get back there!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing