We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic New Year's Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
View from the hot tub
View from cottage
Cottage garden
view from cottage
The girls out in the garden with the Colonnel
The comfortable Chaise long.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul H
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic New Year's Break”
Reviewed January 21, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed for a week over New Year. The cottage is beautiful inside with everything we could have wanted. The wood burners in the front room AND bedroom ensured the cottage stayed cosy throughout our stay. The enclosed garden and surrounding empty fields were great for the dog and the views from the outside hot tub were breathtaking. The main thing that made this such a fantastic holiday were the owners Gordon & Joanne. Gordon's advice regarding walking and cycling trails around Hadrians Wall and Kielder Water was brilliant and we were so pleased we accepted their invite to join them for a New Year's drink, it was like chatting with people we had known for years!!! The personal touches were also an added bonus! Gordon cleaning down our bikes after use, allowing us to keep them in their house and texts from Joanne warning us of the icy conditions were touches that made this holiday stand out. I cannot recommend the cottage or the owners highly enough. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Log fires
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DAVIESMAR...
1 review
“A Great Getaway”
Reviewed December 15, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My girlfriend and I loved everything about the weekend away, Great hosts, great cottage with everything you need, Amazing hot tub cant wait to go again.
I would highly recommend a stay at the cottage

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aidan H
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect country getaway”
Reviewed December 15, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

My girlfriend and I spent a perfect, well needed short break at Petty Knowes cottage. I just wish we could have stayed longer.

Gordon and Joanne were extremely friendly and gracious hosts. I hope we can visit again in future and get to know them a little better. We'd highly recommend a stay at Petty Knowes to anybody looking for a luxury escape in the countryside.

The cottage is set in some of the most beautiful British countryside I've ever seen. Spending a couple of nights in the hot tub, under the stars, was something really special that neither of us will ever forget.

The icing on the cake was the fact that the cottage has it's own Star Wars Monopoly set. Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shilling2...
Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic cottage, away from it all.”
Reviewed December 14, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We love everything about Petty Knowes cottage. We love the fact that it’s right on the moors and the views are amazing and the neighbours are sheep – yet its only 5 mins from a great pub with good food at very reasonable prices and ten mins from Otterburn with a great general store owned by the cottage owners! Gordon and Joanne are so helpful and friendly, and don’t be put off by the cottage being joined to the owners house as you hardly see anyone. The cottage feels very secluded; it has its own private garden. The sky is dark and the hot tub and sauna are wonderful – I’m a convert!

The cottage itself is very well equipped, and there are lots of little extras. It’s also spotlessly clean and very comfortable – you can really relax at Petty Knowes. You don’t need the weather either as its so snug with the wood burner and open fire. There’s lots of history nearby, we loved walking up to the hillfort in the evening.

We recommend Petty Knows to everyone and we have already booked to go back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, quiet, hot tub, sauna and wood burner!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
akd1002
southampton,hampshire,england
2 reviews
“Magic!!!!!”
Reviewed July 4, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Fabulous cottage, with such friendly hosts. Hot tub is amazing, with wonderful views of surrounding countryside. Cream tea and wine awaited our arrival not forgetting lovely fresh eggs from their own chickens. Cannot fault this hidden gem. Wonderful walks from the cottage. So peaceful! Just the place to recharge the batteries. Thank you Joanne and Gordon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totalstar...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“God's Country”
Reviewed May 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The Cottage is so well equipped and has everything you could possibly want and whether relaxing there or exploring, this would fulfil everyone's needs. It also has spectacular views. We had an amazing time, everywhere we went with our dogs was friendly. Found an incredible pub that served 'Doggy meals'. Went for a trip on the reservoir with the dogs and there was no charge for them. We hope to be back next year for a further stay and explore/relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That the garden was secure for our dogs to be able to run around in.
Liked least: Can't think of anything to not like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 14, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peace and quiet, and beautiful surroundings
Liked least: the stay wasnt long enough
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing