We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
View from the hot tub
View from cottage
Cottage garden
view from cottage
The girls out in the garden with the Colonnel
The comfortable Chaise long.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kelly e
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed February 8, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My husband & i were looking for a night away for some relaxation after having a baby 6 months ago...we are so pleased to have stumbled across this beautiful cottage online. Our stay here was exactly what we needed! Booking was straight forward & easy via email with one of the owners Joanne. She was incredibly helpful with any questions i had & offered us the opportunity to check in as early as we'd like, which i thought was very kind. Upon arrival she met us along with her husband at the shop they own, and took us up to the cottage. She was incredibly helpful & easy to get along with, showing us how to use everything before making herself scarce so we could make ourselves at home.
The cottage is amazing! Immaculately clean & beautifully decorated. We particularly liked the personal touches & candles everywhere, very romantic! You have every facility you could possibly need with regards to linen, kitchen equipment & toiletries. Tje owners even provide you with a welcome hamper full of delicious home made cakes & scones, & a bottle of wine! Such a special touch that makes a huge difference.
The hot tub is fantastic, we enjoyed a few drinks in there with unbelievable views of the countryside & once it got dark we were luvky enough to get clear enough skies for some amazing star gazing.
I could go on & on about how great this place is but honestly think everyone should just go & experience it for themselves! I found it to be not that well advertised but dont be put off by that, its a gem! We will definately be back!
Look out for a special touch behind a giant mirror & in a teapot Well done to the owners, you're doing a great job!
Kelly & andrew

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
G-O-Conno...
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy and Welcoming”
Reviewed February 5, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

It was late when we arrived at the cottage but were made to feel very welcome by Joanne and Gordon. They showed us round this fantastic place.
The cottage has wonderful fires, cosy furnishings and all the things you could need when away from home and a bit more... There was a secret room and treasures around the cottage to be found and a great little picnic ready to go on an adventure.
The cottage is located in the middle of countryside surrounded by sheep that you have to drive through to get to the cottage. This really is a county cottage! There were plenty of places to walk or drive to. If you prefer to stay close to the cottage there was a hot tub to relax in, a nearby stream to watch and a great enclosed garden with plenty of wildlife to watch.
This was our first visit to the cottage, we'll be going again... we loved it!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purepalle...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxury Northumbrian Escape”
Reviewed January 17, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our first visit to this little piece of heaven in the heart of Northumberland. You won't be disappointed with this cottage its full of everything and more you'll ever need for your stay. Joanne and Gordon look after your every need and just when you think you've discovered everything you'll find little hidden treats that just go that extra mile.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
futuraair
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“ANOTHER 5 STAR PLUS STAY”
Reviewed January 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

This is the THIRD time we have stayed at this wonderful cosy cottage with our Dog.

Total relaxation and there is nothing better than sitting with a glass of red with the open fire burning watching the world (the odd sheep or chciken) go by.

Two fanstic owners/hosts Gordon and Joanne who make you feel at home instantly.

I can't recommend this place enough!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A beautiful and luxurious cottage!”
Reviewed January 2, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We have stayed at Petty Knowes FOUR times and we are going back for our 5th stay this summer. Joanne and Gordon are fantastic friendly hosts who have thought of everything to make your stay perfect - from the delicious hamper and bottle of wine/bubbles to the 'Gin Room' and hot tub as well as the open fire and log burner. This was our first Christmas visit as we normally stay here in the summer and to make our stay even more special the cottage had been tastefully decorated including a fabulous real Christmas Tree. They think of everything!! The location is peaceful and has stunning views of the surrounding countryside (wonderful sunsets seen from the tub!!!). If you are into walking it is ideally located for the Simonside Hills, the Cheviots and the Border Ridge. It is also handy for visiting Kielder Forest, Alnick, Holy Island the East Coast where there are fantastic beaches.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manjit P
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A break away from it all”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Second visit and again a wonderfully relaxing time was had. Great dark sky to watch the stars. Recommended to anyone looking to get away from the hurly burly and take time out for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberley...
1 review
“Gorgeous holiday cottage!”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Had the pleasure of staying at Petty Knowes Cottage for one night, I didn't want to leave! The attention to detail with the facilities is first class, Joanne and Gordon have thought of everything you would ever need for your stay! My boyfriend loved the cottage too, it was extremely comfortable and so quiet so we had no trouble getting to sleep. The dark skies allow a wonderful view of the stars (something that we don't get to see too often living in a built up area). Being up at the top of a hill you get spectacular views surrounding the cottage.

Ideally located close to Kielder forest, roman historical sites and other activities.

Would highly recommend anyone thinking of booking to do so, you won't be disappointed!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing