We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the city but don't expect a quiet night!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Close to the city but don't expect a quiet night!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

This hotel does everything you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express - decent service, clean rooms, comfy bed and a decent buffet breakfast. It's also 10 mins walk from the city centre and has cheap parking (free overnight!) right next door. So far, so good....!

Really, there's nothing to complain about at all, until 3am that is, when the drunken revellers (think multiple stag & hen parties) come stumbling, shouting, crying, singing and banging along the corridoors completely unchallenged by the hotel staff. On this stay we heard moderate noise from 3am to 5.30am - it wasn't unbearably loud, but even my fiance who sleeps very heavily was woken by it when some drunken chap has lost his key and pounded on an adjacent door for a good 10 minutes trying to rouse a friend sleeping inside. Once the door opened cue hysterical crying from a woman who had it seemed, come home with the sleeping friend and who was then unceremoniously sent on her way at 4.30am so that drunken man could reclaim his bed. This among general rowdiness over the couple of hours didn't lead to a fantastic nights sleep. That said, this wasn't too bad in contrast to last time I stayed here when I had the misfortune to book on a weekend when Newcastle's much loved football team were playing at home and the hotel was complete bedlam from 11pm to 7am with the police called and arriving with sirens blaring 3 times.

Overall, know what you're getting yourself into and if you can, ask for a room at the far end of the corridoor, the further away you can be from the lifts the fewer people will be tramping past your door in the early hours and also on the back of the building so that you won't overlook the crowd of smokers outside the entrance. Also, avoid this place like the plague on match days. If however you will be so drunk that you'll sleep through anything, and/or actually are on a stag or hen do, this is the place for you.

NB: It's probably lovely and quiet through the week!

Room Tip: go to the far end of the corridoor and back of the building for the quietest night
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMeatballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    440
    161
    52
    27
See reviews for
166
309
73
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Great rooms, very clean. Excellent staff that helped us with everything we needed. Breakfast wasn't the best but for the price what can you expect. Literally minutes from central station, The Gate and Eldon Square Shopping Centre.

One things for sure.. I'll definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Accessible Rooms are huge!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr N A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, i would like to thank you for your kind comments regarding our clean rooms and excellent staff. We hope to welcome you again on your next return to Newcastle.

Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

I was pleasantly surprised. Having stayed in other similar hotels in Newcastle - both for work - I wasn't expecting much (and was actually slightly dreading trying a new place), but the HIE was quiet and in such a handy location. The mainline station is just around the corner and the hotel is a short walk from the city centre.

I'd have preferred if the bathroom had been clean and not smelt slightly of drains, and if there'd been a quiet area of the lounge so that I could work without being disturbed by other guests, but on the whole the experience was such a vast improvement on previous ones stayed in that these weren't a problem.

For one night on business it was just the job.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your feedback on this review, I am delighted that you were pleasantly surprised by our product and hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Newcastle. I have investigated into the housekeeping issues you experienced and adressed them with our housekeeper to make sure this does not reoccur.

Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

After staying in several British oldey worldey hotels in August 2011 this was a relief: spotlessly clean, central, tastefully decorated and bright.
Checked in by Kimberly who did a great job at making us welcome. will definitely go back

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rogniko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete this review, constant feedback allows us to praise the team or address any problems. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your comments to Kimberley, she will be very pleased. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Myself and me partner stayed in this hotel in November for 3 nights. We went over to see a Sunderland game and having heard so much about Newcastle said we would stay in the Holiday Inn Express. We found the location brillant as we got the metro from the airport into the city centre and the hotel is only a 5 min walk if even from the central station. The staff were lovely and always very accomodating with any questions we had.
The room was small but perfect for us. The only problem i had was the noise!! We asked for a quiet room and got one facing onto the courtyard. Thursday night was fine, friday night was ok but Saturday night was so noisy with people going through the courtyard to get home. It wasnt even people staying in the hotel just random people shouting outside the hotel.
The other thing i found a bit strange was the breakfast self service... it was fine but you wouldnt want to be fussy.
All in all i would go back to this hotel for its location so central for shopping and site seeing. Also i would just like to say how friendly the people were from start to finish if we asked for directions on the street people were nearly bringing us to the place they were that friendly. Would recommend a weekend away to Newcastle for anyone young or old, its a great city and hope to be back there next year.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishfan00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for sharing your review. I am happy that you found Newcastle and this hotel and its staff to be so friendly, helpful and accommodating. We frequently review our standards and services to ensure the best stay for our guests.
I am sorry that you had disturbed sleep on your 3rd night but i am afraid that outside noise is beyond our control being a city centre location, however, there are plans to somehow improve our windows and seals which should improve things. I am very pleased that you would still come back to us and once again thank you for your review.

Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were stranded in Newcastle as trains north had been suspended. I phoned the H.I. call centre to book a reward night as this could not be done by the hotel itself, unfortunately as it is in America they somehow thought i was in Newport and not Newcastle! After calling back i managed to get the reservation made in Newcastle. During all this the staff were great and did all they could to help including giving us free drinks. The hotel itself is modern, clean, comfortable and in a good location. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review, Our Duty Manager on the evening remembers this quite well as you were very patient whilst your reservation was sorted. We would love to welcome you again (but not because you were stranded!)

Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed at the hotel the weekend before Christmas. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, yet professional. The room was minimalistic, yet very well planned, with everything we needed - and it was spotless. The hotel was very central for shops and museums, and taxis were always available in the hotel carpark. Because of the dark backstreet walk to the hotel, we would recommend taking a taxi back to the hotel, on a night.
Breakfast is self service, buffet style, but appropriate for the type of hotel, and is more than adequate.
Would definitely stay here again (having stayed at other various Newcatle hotels), this is the best. The staff are an absolute delight, a credit to the hotel and represents geordies at their best.
Well done Holiday Inn, Newcastle upon Tyne.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaras2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It is so pleasing to have feedback when we get it just right and the whole team are delighted by your comments. I would venture to say that you may have taken a wrong turning returning to the hotel as there are some well lit streets leading back to the hotel. Thank you again for your review and i hope we can welcome you back again.

Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 km away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 852 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.7 km away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day with a choice of hot and cold items at our complimentary breakfast buffet, and ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our complimentary Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing