We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wow! Complete Hidden Gem, FANTASTIC.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Scott G
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! Complete Hidden Gem, FANTASTIC.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Me and my girlfriend booked a 5 day stay here to distress after my recent Afghan Deployment and found this place amazing to say the least.

Initially I drove past the driveway for the Mill as it is situated in a small residential area of Braunston, but after being a typical bloke and not stopping to ask for directions we drove up the long drive way and were met with the picturesque Mill with The Mill cottage off to the left side of it. First impressions...... Romantic, quirky, traditional, cosy and perfect for two.

Simon the owner who was very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area met us and showed us the cottage, how to work our private hot tub and what the local area had to offer. On initially walking in the Cottage exceeded all expectations. It was very well tastefully decorated with modern fixtures and fittings and high quality goods and equipment. The cleanliness was immaculate and no corners had been cut to provide a high standard of holiday rental.

The kitchen was well equipped with hob, oven, fridge, steamer, microwave, dishwasher and all the necessary equipment along with a large BBQ outside. To our surprise the welcome pack exceeded our expectations with not only a bottle of wine and chocolates but eggs, cereal, butter, milk, juice and biscuits.

The Lounge was cosy with a very comfortable L shaped Italian leather sofa, electric fire, sound system with iPod dock and a wall mounted TV with Apple TV which was easy to use and totally crammed with films, music and programmes.

Downstairs as you walk though the front door is the shower room/ toilet. I've read on past reviews that people complained about the size of it.... yes its small however its a small cottage for 2 not a family sized bath room. Along with this there is the HUGE round bath on the landing up the stairs which is amazing.

The Bedroom is again cosy but looks a lot bigger in life than in the pictures. Sandie and Simon have added a new large leather double bed with built in TV and speakers which rises out of the end of the bed at a flick of a button!! The Bed was Extremely comfortable with high quality pillows and bed linen.

The Hot tub is situated just out side the front of the cottage in its own little cabin. This was one of the highlights of the stay as it topped off a perfect day spending the evening with a glass of wine sat in the tub. The only fault I could pick out with the hot tub was that from the Mill you could see into the cabin through the glass fronted doors which didn't give that much privacy.

Outside is the BBQ area next to the hot tub cabin with a large wooden table and chairs under a wooden type "gazebo?" both the cabin and seating area had taste full lighting which came on automatically when it got dark.

The local area was great. A 10 min walk from the cottage you would be down on the canal, 5 min walk to one of two great village pubs, 5-10 min walk to the local shop and butchers which sells everything you need for a stay in the Cottage. A 30 min drive away is Warwick castle which fills a days time however the entry price of £35 pp was a little steep. Information regarding things to do in and around Braunston is found in a guest pack up in the cottage which is more than helpful.

Down sides.....

The cottage and our stay was brilliant however I could only note 3 negatives/ down sides about the Cottage ( which says a lot as I have an eye for attention to detail)

1. The privacy of the hot tub as mentioned above.

2. The outside areas around the BBQ area and hot tub cabin could do with more attention as there were bird droppings, moss which generally looked untidy. ( this is expected due to the trees surrounding the cottage, however I felt it wasn't to as high standard as the rest of the cottage.)

3. Down stairs in the Kitchen and bathroom wood louse started to appear. Again this is probably due to the age of the cottage and the wooded area surrounding it however I again felt that It didn't match the extremely high standards of the rest of the cottage.

In a nut shell.......

We thought that The Mill Cottage was FANTASTIC and the reviews on here don't do it enough justice. Book a stay for yourself to experience this beautiful perfect place for couples. We are already looking at staying again next year!

Thank you Simon and Sandie for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How the cottage exceeded our expectations!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We have taken time to answer but the reasons are as follows.
We really do appreciate the thought of all of our guests and as such we try very hard to rectify even small points that are made. Yours have all been taken on and we can confirm that we have fitted all new blinds to the hot tub cabin just in case you wish to be extra private. The shower room has had a total refit (I know it did not really need one) which we hope will keep the woodlice at bay as we now have retiled the floor and walls with no gaps!. This is a problem when you have trees around a property and we do our utmost to keep them out.
The area around the barbecue is maintained by our gardening team every Friday. With the weather we all encountered in 2013 a higher than usual leaf fall occurred. We are still looking at how to keep the birds from the area.
We hope to see you both again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sazzybee
New Brit Abroad
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't think just do it”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A wonderful time was spent here de- stressing.

A wonderful comfy cottage where you can shut the door and the world can go away for a while.

Simon and Sandie are wonderful owners who clearly care for the comfort of their guests.

No issues with the property whatsoever. Thoroughly comfortable with old world structure combined with new world comforts.

Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you do much for such a wonderful review. We do try very hard to enhance our guests stay and can confirm that we have now refitted the shower room and installed Freesat in the bedroom.
Hope to see you both again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feline_Fa...
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay in Mill Cottage”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We first stayed in Mill Cottage a couple of years ago, so were back for a repeat visit!

Was just as before, clean, comfortable and with some very welcome new additions - new hot tub, within a new private log style cabin. New larger TV and lovely new white leather sofa & armchair, plus pouffee!

Greeted by Simon, who passed on lots of useful info, some of which we knew, some which we didn't!

The Village itself is lovely. Very quaint and picturesque.

We visited several of the local shops and restaurants. Had a wonderful cream tea in Poppies. An evening meal in The Boat House, which is walking distance and at the bottom of the hill, near the main road. Two for one on main meals. Good choice of food and friendly prompt service. One night we sampled the fish and chips from the Braunston Fryer. Absolutely fantastic. Worth the wait - cooked to order. Best fish and chips we've had for ages.
We also ate at the Admiral Nelson - found at the bottom of Dark Lane. It'd be a long walk so car would be best. Again, a fabulous meal, (I had the chicken, mango & avocado salad, hubby had the gammon and eggs), with happy, friendly waiting staff. Also fabulous for lunch, as it's a beautiful setting and outlook, right by the canal, and the working lock!
Sampled a hearty breakfast on the canal boat "Gongoozlers Rest" Lovely friendly service from Avril and her team. As long as you don't mind lots of grease, you'll love it! Whilst waiting, you can sit and watch the boats sail by and the swans & ducks, always on the lookout for tit bits!

Drove out the short distance to Ashby St Ledgers, (where I believe Sandie & Simon live). Amazing chocolate box, picturesque looking village. Stunning!

On the plus side, the decor and furnishings are fresh, modern and luxurious. The rooms are spacious, (with exception of the bathroom!), have all the mod-cons you'll need and want, plus those generous and thoughtful extra touches, like bread, milk, orange juice, eggs, tea/coffee, cereal, chocolates & wine! Plus toiletries, so all you really need is your toothbrush!

The downsides for us were the tiny bathroom. The sink is so tiny, it makes things like brushing your teeth, very awkward indeed. More water on the floor than in the sink! No upstairs loo, so you have to go up and down the very noisy & creaky staircase, which could wake up your partner! Also the bed, could do with being a Kingsize. The lighting in there is also too dim. Lighting could be useful around the dressing table area for example.
The “Apple TV service” was a new addition, and which we were told would give us free movies via Netflix. This didn’t work! You had to pay/subscribe! Still, was not a big issue, as we'd brought our own DVDs.

I also felt the outside, let it down badly. It is in desperate need of a thorough sweep & jet wash Not only of the outside furniture, but also the old Bedouin tent roof, (which is very dirty and unpleasant to look at), but also the hard standing area surrounding the cottage. The outside lights also need an overhaul - many were not working.

That said, it did not detract from the overall stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2012
Thank you for your review on your return visit to Mill Cottage. We note your comments on the size of bed in the bedroom which is the same size as your last stay. We have considered installing a larger bed but feel that this would not be in keeping with the layout of the cottages bedroom.
Your comments on the level of lighting in the bedrooms has been most useful. We can confirm we have installed new lighting for the dressing table area.
The downstairs shower and bathroom are smaller than most you may find in a new build home but we do find that most guests find as adequate. We have thought at removing the shower so as to give more room for a larger basin but this would mean our guests would have only the round bath to use and not a separate shower. The bathroom layout though is the same as when you last visited so we are sure you did find adequate for your stay. We recently added Apple TV for our guests to use after having the worst Summer weather for over 100 years! We are really sorry to hear you could not view films which are all free. If you had called during your stay we would have been down straight away to show you how to use the system. Mill cottage is a grade 2 listed building and so we are limited to what we can do to the structure of the building. Unfortunately the stairs cannot be replaced and the creak although to some may annoy to many this is part of the buildings character.
As for the outside tented structure as already mentioned we have suffered like all with the awful summer weather. Would you believe we even had a tornado hit us 1 Sunday morning and this took down 3 trees. We are working hard to remove the resulting moss and the loose debris which continues to fall from the trees in the garden and have started to replace the roof with a new thatched roof and rewire the few light fittings which were damaged by the falling trees. As some of this work may be obtrusive to our guests we have this planned for a closure period in the very near future.

We would really like to thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you again enjoyed your stay at Mill Cottage and hope to see you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil A
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Honeymoon”
Reviewed August 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We spent a fantastic week in the cottage (not the mill) - what a beautiful location and superb accommodation. Lots of nice touches from Simon and Sandie - very helpful and not at all intrusive. Some gorgeous villages around the area (Ashby St Ledgers is just beautiful) and lots of canals, country pubs and places to eat. Handy for cities too. But above all, the cottage was just so relaxing - just what we needed. Will definitely look to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2012
Thank you for such a wonderful review. We are so pleased you both enjoyed your very special stay and are proud that you chose Mill Cottage for the start of your married life. We hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam04770
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault this beautiful cottage”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Returned from Mill Cottage last week and just want to say what an amazing place to stay. Was welcomed by Simon and Sandie and given lots of information regarding places to eat and local amenities. The cottage was immaculate with all mod-cons and lots of supplies so rushing off to the shop wasn't the first thing we had to do. Regarding cleaning, the cottage was exceptionally clean and therefor I think it only right you leave it as such. Will definitely book again. Thanks for a great break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2012
Thank you so much for your review on Mill Cottage we really hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daisy C
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A beautiful country retreat”
Reviewed June 25, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We just got back from a 3 night stay at Braunston Mill cottage, where to start!
We were greeted by Simon upon arrival, he was friendly and courteous, told us about the facilities available in and around Braunston, which was very informative. He then left us to it :)
Little touches around the cottage stood out complimentary chocolates and wine, flowers, and the basics you need for hot drinks and breakfast :) was a real added bonus.
I fell for the village as we arrived, and walking up the driveway up to the mill and mill cottage is stunning, well looked
after gardens, very picturesque.
The cottage it's self is lovely outside and in, decorated to a high standard,yet comfortable, amazing bath, comfy bed, can't fault it.
Enjoyed pottering around the village, a lovely canal boat a 15minuts walk away served yummy snacks and breakfast, and the village shop was well equippe.

Plenty of nice local pubs- we did fine without a car all weekend.

I could go on and on about this place, it was brilliant.
Nothing negative to say.

Nice owners, nice cottage, nice village

A million miles from work and the stress of life.
Will definitely go back!

:-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2012
It is so wonderful to read of your experience of your stay at Mill Cottage. We are so pleased that you found everything to your satisfaction. Your comments on the gardens are so welcome especially after such a wet summer and the tornado that hit us recently! Lets hope the weather improves so we can at last get the gardens back to even better shape!
Hope to see you both again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda B
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic, chic, clean and well maintained gem of a cottage”
Reviewed April 2, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

The cottage is well maintained and on arrival we were warmly greeted. The kitchen is well stocked with all you could hope for and more as provisions for breakfast, wine and chocolates were waiting for us, On awakening the second morning we discovered a power cut had tripped out the boiler but after a phone call, the owner was there in minutes and sorted it for us. Braunston is a beautiful village with things to see and plenty of places to eat and Information was given to us comprehensively in leaflets and verbally from the owners, The hot tub was clean and well maintained and private.
I would recommend the cottage to anyone and feel the owners are some of the nicest people you could meet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The well maintained layout and location
Liked least: Creaky stairs
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing