We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place to stay. dont think twice!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AJLomas
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place to stay. dont think twice!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed here for my Girlfriends birthday. She loved it and so did I. The cottage is nice and secluded with a big garden for BBQ's etc. The hot tub is nice although you have to pay for up to three uses, we didn't mind this though as it was used purely by us.

The location is great if you want a romantic trip away, lovely country pubs and near the canals. Would highly recommend to anyone and would definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
Thank you for taking the time to submit your review we are so pleased to hear you both enjoyed your stay.
braunstonmill couk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparker39
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxurious retreat just for couples”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The most beautiful village setting for such a quaint little cottage. Had everything we could've wanted & needed to make this a lovely relaxing weekend stay. Being next to the church was a delight in listening to the bells chime on the hour and in full tune on Sunday morning. The local amenities were within walking distance, so on arriving Friday we parked the car on the drive Friday and didn't use it at all during our stay until leaving Sunday. This really was a chance to chill and rest and no need to leave the area. We ordered take out Friday evening which is conveniently delivered. On Saturday morning we walked down to the canal to have a full English breakfast on 'Gongoozerlers' as recommended by the proprietors. Then in the evening after having spent the day walking the canal and stopping to watch the slow pace of life the Narrow Boaters have, we jumped in the Hot Tub to sooth our aching feet & bones. ( This was the first reason for booking Mill Cottage, second was the canal!) Once refreshed we headed down to the walkable Fish & Chip shop to grab some dinner then headed back off to the canal to sit along side and eat alfresco with a couple of beers! Very very very much recommend Mill Cottage for a chilled NO car relaxing break. Will deffo be staying again as we didn't get to use the Round Bath, because we spent most of our time sat by the canal.
Thank you Sandie & Simon for sharing your wonderful cottage!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
We are delighted to hear you both had a wonderful stay.
braunstonmill couk
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kayleigh...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

What can I say........this place is perfect! Everything we imagined and so much more. After a stressful year we decided to book up the cottage for Christmas. We were really unsure as we had never done anything like this before especially at Christmas. We we're met by Simon when we got there and he gave us the low down. Told us all the places to go and see, pubs etc. We didnt actually leave the cottage much other than a couple of walks (beautiful surroundings for walks).

We were cooking a Christmas dinner and were worried we'd need something that wasn't there but the kitchen was fully equipped with everything we needed. We were greeted with wine, milk, bread, eggs, butter, biscuits, bubble bath.......the essentials ;)

We had a Christmas Tree and decs, which got us in the mood as we didn't have much Christmas spirit beforehand.

The hot tub! Wow, we loved it! And the bath, oh the bath!! These really were the cherry on top.

The bed with the television in was my partners idea of heaven! Not so sure myself, as I now have to invest in one :-s

The sofa was sooooo comfy and television had lots of movies (Netflix). We found the board games too, can't beat a bit of Monopoly and Scrabble!!

The only tiny downsides we had were that the wi-fi from the mill didn't work and also the squirrels on the roof could be noisy in the mornings, but we quite liked listening to them scurrying around :)

Overall, this place is fabulous and worth every penny. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway then this is the place for you!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
We are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay at Christmas. Hopefully the stress will be a lot less in 2014 and we hope to see you both again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snoadfarm
kent. uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant, once again”
Reviewed October 21, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Our second stay at Mill Cottage, as good as the first. Certainly the place to relax and de-stress. Friendly and attentive owners.
Excellantly equipped, everything there for you, Chocolates and Wine on arrival.
Love the Hot tub..... the comment in the last review about being within sight of the actual Mill, was not a problem, as the glass windows in our hot tub cabin soon steamed up !!!!!
The only thing that would inprove it is a slightly bigger shower room, but thats not a big issue.
Cannot wait to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2013
It is always a pleasure to welcome you both to Mill Cottage and we hope to see you both again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott G
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow! Complete Hidden Gem, FANTASTIC.”
Reviewed July 1, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Me and my girlfriend booked a 5 day stay here to distress after my recent Afghan Deployment and found this place amazing to say the least.

Initially I drove past the driveway for the Mill as it is situated in a small residential area of Braunston, but after being a typical bloke and not stopping to ask for directions we drove up the long drive way and were met with the picturesque Mill with The Mill cottage off to the left side of it. First impressions...... Romantic, quirky, traditional, cosy and perfect for two.

Simon the owner who was very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area met us and showed us the cottage, how to work our private hot tub and what the local area had to offer. On initially walking in the Cottage exceeded all expectations. It was very well tastefully decorated with modern fixtures and fittings and high quality goods and equipment. The cleanliness was immaculate and no corners had been cut to provide a high standard of holiday rental.

The kitchen was well equipped with hob, oven, fridge, steamer, microwave, dishwasher and all the necessary equipment along with a large BBQ outside. To our surprise the welcome pack exceeded our expectations with not only a bottle of wine and chocolates but eggs, cereal, butter, milk, juice and biscuits.

The Lounge was cosy with a very comfortable L shaped Italian leather sofa, electric fire, sound system with iPod dock and a wall mounted TV with Apple TV which was easy to use and totally crammed with films, music and programmes.

Downstairs as you walk though the front door is the shower room/ toilet. I've read on past reviews that people complained about the size of it.... yes its small however its a small cottage for 2 not a family sized bath room. Along with this there is the HUGE round bath on the landing up the stairs which is amazing.

The Bedroom is again cosy but looks a lot bigger in life than in the pictures. Sandie and Simon have added a new large leather double bed with built in TV and speakers which rises out of the end of the bed at a flick of a button!! The Bed was Extremely comfortable with high quality pillows and bed linen.

The Hot tub is situated just out side the front of the cottage in its own little cabin. This was one of the highlights of the stay as it topped off a perfect day spending the evening with a glass of wine sat in the tub. The only fault I could pick out with the hot tub was that from the Mill you could see into the cabin through the glass fronted doors which didn't give that much privacy.

Outside is the BBQ area next to the hot tub cabin with a large wooden table and chairs under a wooden type "gazebo?" both the cabin and seating area had taste full lighting which came on automatically when it got dark.

The local area was great. A 10 min walk from the cottage you would be down on the canal, 5 min walk to one of two great village pubs, 5-10 min walk to the local shop and butchers which sells everything you need for a stay in the Cottage. A 30 min drive away is Warwick castle which fills a days time however the entry price of £35 pp was a little steep. Information regarding things to do in and around Braunston is found in a guest pack up in the cottage which is more than helpful.

Down sides.....

The cottage and our stay was brilliant however I could only note 3 negatives/ down sides about the Cottage ( which says a lot as I have an eye for attention to detail)

1. The privacy of the hot tub as mentioned above.

2. The outside areas around the BBQ area and hot tub cabin could do with more attention as there were bird droppings, moss which generally looked untidy. ( this is expected due to the trees surrounding the cottage, however I felt it wasn't to as high standard as the rest of the cottage.)

3. Down stairs in the Kitchen and bathroom wood louse started to appear. Again this is probably due to the age of the cottage and the wooded area surrounding it however I again felt that It didn't match the extremely high standards of the rest of the cottage.

In a nut shell.......

We thought that The Mill Cottage was FANTASTIC and the reviews on here don't do it enough justice. Book a stay for yourself to experience this beautiful perfect place for couples. We are already looking at staying again next year!

Thank you Simon and Sandie for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How the cottage exceeded our expectations!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We have taken time to answer but the reasons are as follows.
We really do appreciate the thought of all of our guests and as such we try very hard to rectify even small points that are made. Yours have all been taken on and we can confirm that we have fitted all new blinds to the hot tub cabin just in case you wish to be extra private. The shower room has had a total refit (I know it did not really need one) which we hope will keep the woodlice at bay as we now have retiled the floor and walls with no gaps!. This is a problem when you have trees around a property and we do our utmost to keep them out.
The area around the barbecue is maintained by our gardening team every Friday. With the weather we all encountered in 2013 a higher than usual leaf fall occurred. We are still looking at how to keep the birds from the area.
We hope to see you both again very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sazzybee
New Brit Abroad
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Don't think just do it”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A wonderful time was spent here de- stressing.

A wonderful comfy cottage where you can shut the door and the world can go away for a while.

Simon and Sandie are wonderful owners who clearly care for the comfort of their guests.

No issues with the property whatsoever. Thoroughly comfortable with old world structure combined with new world comforts.

Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Thank you do much for such a wonderful review. We do try very hard to enhance our guests stay and can confirm that we have now refitted the shower room and installed Freesat in the bedroom.
Hope to see you both again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feline_Fa...
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay in Mill Cottage”
Reviewed October 8, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We first stayed in Mill Cottage a couple of years ago, so were back for a repeat visit!

Was just as before, clean, comfortable and with some very welcome new additions - new hot tub, within a new private log style cabin. New larger TV and lovely new white leather sofa & armchair, plus pouffee!

Greeted by Simon, who passed on lots of useful info, some of which we knew, some which we didn't!

The Village itself is lovely. Very quaint and picturesque.

We visited several of the local shops and restaurants. Had a wonderful cream tea in Poppies. An evening meal in The Boat House, which is walking distance and at the bottom of the hill, near the main road. Two for one on main meals. Good choice of food and friendly prompt service. One night we sampled the fish and chips from the Braunston Fryer. Absolutely fantastic. Worth the wait - cooked to order. Best fish and chips we've had for ages.
We also ate at the Admiral Nelson - found at the bottom of Dark Lane. It'd be a long walk so car would be best. Again, a fabulous meal, (I had the chicken, mango & avocado salad, hubby had the gammon and eggs), with happy, friendly waiting staff. Also fabulous for lunch, as it's a beautiful setting and outlook, right by the canal, and the working lock!
Sampled a hearty breakfast on the canal boat "Gongoozlers Rest" Lovely friendly service from Avril and her team. As long as you don't mind lots of grease, you'll love it! Whilst waiting, you can sit and watch the boats sail by and the swans & ducks, always on the lookout for tit bits!

Drove out the short distance to Ashby St Ledgers, (where I believe Sandie & Simon live). Amazing chocolate box, picturesque looking village. Stunning!

On the plus side, the decor and furnishings are fresh, modern and luxurious. The rooms are spacious, (with exception of the bathroom!), have all the mod-cons you'll need and want, plus those generous and thoughtful extra touches, like bread, milk, orange juice, eggs, tea/coffee, cereal, chocolates & wine! Plus toiletries, so all you really need is your toothbrush!

The downsides for us were the tiny bathroom. The sink is so tiny, it makes things like brushing your teeth, very awkward indeed. More water on the floor than in the sink! No upstairs loo, so you have to go up and down the very noisy & creaky staircase, which could wake up your partner! Also the bed, could do with being a Kingsize. The lighting in there is also too dim. Lighting could be useful around the dressing table area for example.
The “Apple TV service” was a new addition, and which we were told would give us free movies via Netflix. This didn’t work! You had to pay/subscribe! Still, was not a big issue, as we'd brought our own DVDs.

I also felt the outside, let it down badly. It is in desperate need of a thorough sweep & jet wash Not only of the outside furniture, but also the old Bedouin tent roof, (which is very dirty and unpleasant to look at), but also the hard standing area surrounding the cottage. The outside lights also need an overhaul - many were not working.

That said, it did not detract from the overall stay!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2012
Thank you for your review on your return visit to Mill Cottage. We note your comments on the size of bed in the bedroom which is the same size as your last stay. We have considered installing a larger bed but feel that this would not be in keeping with the layout of the cottages bedroom.
Your comments on the level of lighting in the bedrooms has been most useful. We can confirm we have installed new lighting for the dressing table area.
The downstairs shower and bathroom are smaller than most you may find in a new build home but we do find that most guests find as adequate. We have thought at removing the shower so as to give more room for a larger basin but this would mean our guests would have only the round bath to use and not a separate shower. The bathroom layout though is the same as when you last visited so we are sure you did find adequate for your stay. We recently added Apple TV for our guests to use after having the worst Summer weather for over 100 years! We are really sorry to hear you could not view films which are all free. If you had called during your stay we would have been down straight away to show you how to use the system. Mill cottage is a grade 2 listed building and so we are limited to what we can do to the structure of the building. Unfortunately the stairs cannot be replaced and the creak although to some may annoy to many this is part of the buildings character.
As for the outside tented structure as already mentioned we have suffered like all with the awful summer weather. Would you believe we even had a tornado hit us 1 Sunday morning and this took down 3 trees. We are working hard to remove the resulting moss and the loose debris which continues to fall from the trees in the garden and have started to replace the roof with a new thatched roof and rewire the few light fittings which were damaged by the falling trees. As some of this work may be obtrusive to our guests we have this planned for a closure period in the very near future.

We would really like to thank you for your comments and we are delighted that you again enjoyed your stay at Mill Cottage and hope to see you both again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing