We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An utterly fabulous experience ! 5***”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo W
Worthing
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An utterly fabulous experience ! 5***”
Reviewed March 26, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Having spent the last 25 years self catering in the UK we thought we had seen it all but Braunston Mill proved to be an absolute gem! 90' tall windmill with outstanding views from every window, immaculately clean, excellent quality fittings throughout, a pristine hot tub and delightfully friendly owners - what more can you ask for!

We followed Simon's recommendations with regard to boat hire, places to eat, places to see and things to do - he obviously knows the area very well as everything was just perfect.

This holiday was planned very carefully as a special birthday surprise. Having scanned Trip Advisor for the best romantic and unusual venue/location to suit a family ranging from 11 years to 50 years (only just!!) we could not have been more delighted.

The Mill really must be one of those 'must do' holiday experiences. Absolutely fabulous!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul384
Tring
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely retreat.”
Reviewed March 6, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mill. We were really surprised at how quiet it is even with the wind and rain. A very comfortable bed on the top floor. And our friends gave good reports on theirs too.

Ate loads, lots of places to eat nearby, and places we would have like to if we had of had more time. Local fish and chip shop, post office, mini mart and a local butchers all within walking distance.n along we 3 pubs.

The best of all though was a narrow boat which served a full English breakfast on the canal. We ate there. Fantastic.

The owner was polite and enthusiastic. And gave us some good pointers.

We also tried the curry house that was recommend to us b the owner. Very good take away service.

A very comfortable stay and we all loved the circular lounge chair. Very comfy.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 STAR LUXURY ACCOMADATION”
Reviewed January 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

This is our second stay a the fantastic Braunston mill, all of my family and I stayed for the christmas week and yet again we had a great time, I truly have fallen in love with this place it has everything you could ever wish for. you feel so relaxed and the beautIful views from the Mill are stunnung, there are plenty of things to do and places to go. Simon & Sandie the owners of the Mill are a very professional and careing coulpe nothing is to much trouble and they are at hand if you need any information which makes your stay even more adorable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jutrix
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly magical”
Reviewed December 20, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

It was 5 of us and we stayed at the Mill for a short weekend just before Christmas. The place is amazing. It is a luxury break together with historical experience!
We stayed for two nights and did not want to leave - could move in there tomorrow!:)
There are so many bathrooms in the Mill!:) It was hard to choose which one to use!
The top floor bedroom is like it is made for a honeymoon. Was perfect for us as me and my boyfriend just got engaged! It even has a separate bath - just breathtaking. And then - look outside the window - you are looking at the church, what a feeling!
The hot tub is also a brilliant idea - it warms you up in this cold time.
It felt like every single room was just perfect. We spent a lot of time in the living room next to fire place. Was very comfortable and cosy.
The owners are very polite and friendly.
I really hope to stay there again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabchick
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Simply fabulous!”
Reviewed December 4, 2011 for a stay in November 2011
4
people found this review helpful

I took my partner to the Braunston mill cottage for his birthday last weekend. The cottage is gorgeous, high tech, modern with every amenity but at the same time cosy & perfect for a couple. We arrived late on the Friday to a beautifully laid table, flowers, chocolates & wine. The owners had left us some goodies such as fresh orange juice, eggs, bread & cookies. The cottage is really cosy & stylish, we loved the round bath & our very own hot tub was total luxury! The cottage is a home away from home, so cosy & we totally relaxed. The cottage is close to Warwick & lemington spa & easily accessible to the motorway network. We spent a day in Warwick & had dinner at a pub called the Rose & crown it has won several awards & the food was suberb. I travel alot & I have very high standards, I would recommend Braunston to couples who like quality & want to stay somewhere extra special. We will definitely go back and we hope to stay in the mill next time. We live in Kent but the journey to the cottage in Braunston was totally worth it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HumberMar...
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“An 'A List' Place”
Reviewed November 10, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

The quailty of the Mill is well portrayed by other reviews, and we can only agree. It's obviously not a place for anyone with mobility difficulties, and not really suitable for youngters that would race about the place, but we found it ab fab.

Braunston seems a bit of an oasis in the centre of a relatively uninspriring area, but not a bad base to cover some of the hot-spots in the Midlands. As most large villages with 4 pubs, it might now be better to have 2 busy ones, than 3 on the verge of closing, but this is a pandemic and Braunston's done well to hang on to 4 to date.

Don't miss a breakfast on the narrow boat near the marina entrance - this was a major highlight of the stay.

We found the owner to be very helpful. I can understand how the 'warning signs' in frames in many of the rooms can rub some people up the wrong way but we had no issues.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tezpil
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,869 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 552 helpful votes
“Beautiful stay in a listed Mill”
Reviewed September 23, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Easy to find, you can see the Mill from the main road towering next to the Church as you approach Braunston.
On arrival there is a welcome pack of essential food items, kitchen is well stocked with essential gadgets and utensils. The Mill is clean and decorated in a modern contemporary style. Hottub very relaxing, BBQ available. Lovely steam shower. All mod cons means a stay at The Mill is very relaxing.

Friendly owners available but not intrusive. Nr to a variety of pubs and the canal (must have breakfast on the canal boat) and Leamington spa is worth a visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing