We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Stunning”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Windmill -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
joodStAlb...
St Albans Herts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

Just returned from a weekend break at this beautiful mill. It was very clean, very tastefully decorated and equipped, and the owners made us very welcome. Used the hot tub on Saturday night which was very relaxing. We ate at the pub on the Canal on Friday night, and had a lovely meal, within strolling distance from the mill. Simon even sorted out a takeaway for us when we couldn't get through to the normal restaurant, and it was delivered in a taxi free of charge. Would definitely recommend this property as having the "wow" factor. In fact we have already booked to go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfy lounge
Liked least: the final set of stairs!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay. We were delighted that you have booked again this time to bring your family. We look forward to meeting them.
Sorry that you had trouble getting through to our usual recommended take away but I thought you would enjoy the food from Omars.
Have a wonderful Christmas and we look forward to seeing you all in 2014.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stylishca...
West Midlands. UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Weekend Break”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A fantastic property tucked away nicely but at the same time on top of everything you could need.
The Mill has everything you may need and more and was exeptionally clean. We stayed for a long weekend and it was perfect, just a short distance away there are various eating places and tearooms, not to mention pubs. We had a good meal on the canalside pub just down the road and to our advantage there was a canal boat festival going on, so much to see and watch.
The scenery was stunning and we walked miles without even realising it, it was great to relax in the private hot tub after a day browsing the area.
From the top bedroom you can sit in the window with binoculars and we could see all the narrowboats lined up alongside the canal.
Absolutely fantastic short break, lovely interior design in The Mill and outstanding views and village.
The owners are very welcoming and are there to greet you and to see you when you are leaving, nothing was too much trouble for them.
We will return and recommend it on the highest level.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery and the hot tub.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Dec 2013
It is so kind of you to leave us this wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Mill.
We really do hope that you find the time to make a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OrlaNotti...
nottingham
1 review
“a great place to stay”
Reviewed April 19, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

its a great place to stay,i like especially liked my bedroom,the king sized one!,there is a lot of space,and i was asked to count all the steps! and there were lots of them!,also if you feel like going on a walk,you can go down and see the canal,i loved it there that much i cant wait to go back there again!

Orla aged 8

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo W
Worthing
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An utterly fabulous experience ! 5***”
Reviewed March 26, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Having spent the last 25 years self catering in the UK we thought we had seen it all but Braunston Mill proved to be an absolute gem! 90' tall windmill with outstanding views from every window, immaculately clean, excellent quality fittings throughout, a pristine hot tub and delightfully friendly owners - what more can you ask for!

We followed Simon's recommendations with regard to boat hire, places to eat, places to see and things to do - he obviously knows the area very well as everything was just perfect.

This holiday was planned very carefully as a special birthday surprise. Having scanned Trip Advisor for the best romantic and unusual venue/location to suit a family ranging from 11 years to 50 years (only just!!) we could not have been more delighted.

The Mill really must be one of those 'must do' holiday experiences. Absolutely fabulous!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul384
Tring
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A lovely retreat.”
Reviewed March 6, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Mill. We were really surprised at how quiet it is even with the wind and rain. A very comfortable bed on the top floor. And our friends gave good reports on theirs too.

Ate loads, lots of places to eat nearby, and places we would have like to if we had of had more time. Local fish and chip shop, post office, mini mart and a local butchers all within walking distance.n along we 3 pubs.

The best of all though was a narrow boat which served a full English breakfast on the canal. We ate there. Fantastic.

The owner was polite and enthusiastic. And gave us some good pointers.

We also tried the curry house that was recommend to us b the owner. Very good take away service.

A very comfortable stay and we all loved the circular lounge chair. Very comfy.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 STAR LUXURY ACCOMADATION”
Reviewed January 10, 2012 for a stay in December 2011

This is our second stay a the fantastic Braunston mill, all of my family and I stayed for the christmas week and yet again we had a great time, I truly have fallen in love with this place it has everything you could ever wish for. you feel so relaxed and the beautIful views from the Mill are stunnung, there are plenty of things to do and places to go. Simon & Sandie the owners of the Mill are a very professional and careing coulpe nothing is to much trouble and they are at hand if you need any information which makes your stay even more adorable.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jutrix
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly magical”
Reviewed December 20, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

It was 5 of us and we stayed at the Mill for a short weekend just before Christmas. The place is amazing. It is a luxury break together with historical experience!
We stayed for two nights and did not want to leave - could move in there tomorrow!:)
There are so many bathrooms in the Mill!:) It was hard to choose which one to use!
The top floor bedroom is like it is made for a honeymoon. Was perfect for us as me and my boyfriend just got engaged! It even has a separate bath - just breathtaking. And then - look outside the window - you are looking at the church, what a feeling!
The hot tub is also a brilliant idea - it warms you up in this cold time.
It felt like every single room was just perfect. We spent a lot of time in the living room next to fire place. Was very comfortable and cosy.
The owners are very polite and friendly.
I really hope to stay there again soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing