We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Queen & Castle review ”
Review of The Queen & Castle

The Queen & Castle
Ranked #15 of 69 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located on the outskirts of Kenilworth in the shadow of Kenilworth Castle, The Queen & Castle is a fabulous village pub that is perfectly equipped to deliver top-notch food, in truly premium surroundings. With its stylish interiors and stunning dining and bar space, The Queen & Castle is the perfect place to enjoy a romantic evening for two, a lively celebration with friends, or a Sunday roast with all the family. In addition to this, we also boast a fantastic outdoor space, where you can enjoy your meal or drinks whilst taking in breath-taking views of Kenilworth Castle. There really is no better place to relax, unwind and indulge in the sunshine during the summer months.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed May 11, 2018 via mobile

When me and my parents went there we had the worst time ever because were very hungry and the food took ages to come out and my sister ordered the sliders (which is small burgers) and when the burgers came out there was only one burger and the bun was the size of a normal burger but the actual burger was the size of a 50 pence coin and my mum and I had chicken and it was the driest chicken I’ve ever eaten and the rest of the food was also terrible so we barely ate anything and the food is very overpriced so we’re very disappointed.


Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2018

Hi, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. It's such a shame that we were not able to resolve any of the issues you have raised in your review on the evening of your visit. Had this have been bought to our attention we certainly would of been able to rectify how you felt at the time. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at 01926 852661 to discuss this further. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,078)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2018

My Family and friends came here on Sunday with our children after walking from Coventry.
i ordered fruit when we arrived for the children and drinks, sat down outside.
We decided too order mains - But with regret.
The customer service of one of the bar staff that had served someone in front of me was appalling, and far from friendly.
One order has a starter and main, The starter came out - but we had to re-order the main as it hadn't came through after an hour of waiting, When it arrived it was the the best of quality.
Steak ordered too be medium, Came our rare, after finally finding someone too speak too sent back. came back without the sauce and well done.

And finally after the mains had been and gone, we finally got the fruit i had ordered when we arrived, Even after asking someone too check where it was and them not coming back with any sorts of updated.

Thankful too management in providing a refund but we wont be coming here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Danielle J, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. We work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. We appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve and we are working on making our food service to the garden easier and more efficient for everyone to avoid circumstances like this from happening. We would like to sincerely apologies again for your experience and thank you for leaving feedback. Please reach out to us at 01926 852661 so we may identify ways to improve your experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2018 via mobile

We spent all of the Bank Holiday Monday afternoon in he lovely garden at the Queen and Castle. Despite it being busy, it didn’t feel crowded and both bar and food service was really efficient and friendly.

A great afternoon out!

Thank Wolframwolfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Wolframwolfred, we are so happy to read such a great review about The Queen & Castle! We're happy you found our team to be so supportive during your experience with us and glad you enjoyed your afternoon in the sun. Thank you so much again for your feedback! We hope you have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2018

Wide menu with a good range of options, certainly a step up from normal pub grub. Big and busy but service was efficient with lots of staff available. Starters on the day we were there included a lobster and prawn pot at £7.95 and garlic prawns at £8.95, portion size reasonable and flavours very good. Main course ranged from £12.95 for fish and chips to £18.50 for belly pork and scallops, everyone in our party enjoyed their mains. Desserts fairly standard range from about £6 to £8.

They do a good job here, it isn't a gastro pub but the food is well cooked, well presented and served.

Large pay carpark adjacent, I think they will refund the parking fee as part of the meal, not 100% sure.

Suggest that you need to book as it has been very busy the two times we have visited

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grwpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Grwpl, thank you for the high star rating and for taking the time to let us know how we did on your recent experience and we appreciate your positive review! Thank you, and have a fantastic day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2018

Have been a few times, lovely food and service. Abit expensive but nice for a special occasion. Lovely atmosphere, decor and staff are friendly. Lovely in summer as well as can sit outside and enjoy the weather.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Hi Hannah M, thank you for your wonderful feedback and 5* review. Our team love to read such positive reviews. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queen & Castle also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Queen & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing