We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick, friendly service”
Review of The Queen & Castle

The Queen & Castle
Ranked #16 of 69 Restaurants in Kenilworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Located on the outskirts of Kenilworth in the shadow of Kenilworth Castle, The Queen & Castle is a fabulous village pub that is perfectly equipped to deliver top-notch food, in truly premium surroundings. With its stylish interiors and stunning dining and bar space, The Queen & Castle is the perfect place to enjoy a romantic evening for two, a lively celebration with friends, or a Sunday roast with all the family. In addition to this, we also boast a fantastic outdoor space, where you can enjoy your meal or drinks whilst taking in breath-taking views of Kenilworth Castle. There really is no better place to relax, unwind and indulge in the sunshine during the summer months.
Reviewed May 14, 2018

We popped in on saturday for a late lunch. Paul and his team were quick to make sure we were seated and our order taken. The food arrived very quickly and the waitress was very friendly. The food was really good.

Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Anne T, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience! We will certainly share your comments with our team. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. Take care!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,066)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 1,066 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2018 via mobile

Such a shame as the location of this pub is lovely. Picturesque and opposite the castle.
Sadly the food was very ordinary, a long wait for a cold roast. Long wait for any drinks to arrive at the table. And a long wait for any condiments to come with a beef roast.
Desserts also really poor, they seem bought in. This pub could be great but ended up leaving feeling very disappointed.

Thank Tristan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Tristan E, we regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us, we will certainly use your comments to refine our efforts to ensure these issues are ironed out of our service as consistency is key to receiving the positive feedback we strive for as a team. Hopefully if you ever visit us again we can demonstrate that your feedback has been heard. Kind Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Last night 8 of us had a lovely meal at the Queen & Castle. Service was excellent and so was the food.

Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Rachel A, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and had a wonderful time - we will certainly pass your comments onto our team. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed May 11, 2018 via mobile

When me and my parents went there we had the worst time ever because were very hungry and the food took ages to come out and my sister ordered the sliders (which is small burgers) and when the burgers came out there was only one burger and the bun was the size of a normal burger but the actual burger was the size of a 50 pence coin and my mum and I had chicken and it was the driest chicken I’ve ever eaten and the rest of the food was also terrible so we barely ate anything and the food is very overpriced so we’re very disappointed.


Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, we work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. It's such a shame that we were not able to resolve any of the issues you have raised in your review on the evening of your visit. Had this have been bought to our attention we certainly would of been able to rectify how you felt at the time. We would like to work towards a resolution, so if you are willing, please reach out to us at 01926 852661 to discuss this further. Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2018

My Family and friends came here on Sunday with our children after walking from Coventry.
i ordered fruit when we arrived for the children and drinks, sat down outside.
We decided too order mains - But with regret.
The customer service of one of the bar staff that had served someone in front of me was appalling, and far from friendly.
One order has a starter and main, The starter came out - but we had to re-order the main as it hadn't came through after an hour of waiting, When it arrived it was the the best of quality.
Steak ordered too be medium, Came our rare, after finally finding someone too speak too sent back. came back without the sauce and well done.

And finally after the mains had been and gone, we finally got the fruit i had ordered when we arrived, Even after asking someone too check where it was and them not coming back with any sorts of updated.

Thankful too management in providing a refund but we wont be coming here again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Danielle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Queen & Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2018

Danielle J, we truly appreciate your honest feedback. We work hard to provide a fantastic experience to everyone. It's discouraging to see that you had a negative experience. We appreciate your honest feedback, as we are always looking for ways to improve and we are working on making our food service to the garden easier and more efficient for everyone to avoid circumstances like this from happening. We would like to sincerely apologies again for your experience and thank you for leaving feedback. Please reach out to us at 01926 852661 so we may identify ways to improve your experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queen & Castle also viewed

 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Queen & Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing