We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
163
72
29
13
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
163
72
29
13
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cocktail bar cocktail package amazing cocktails continental breakfast unlimited cocktails coffee machine elemis toiletries modern house black leather beautiful boutique hotel new build high street parking is limited bit limited car park shower room the main hotel
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 289 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017

We stayed in room 4, it was clean and the shower was good but it was a tiny room at the back of the hotel with the window facing directly at the reception entrance, which meant closing the curtains for privacy, felt really cramped even for two people to be honest. There was no cupboard but only limited space behind a mirror to hang clothes, with iron and ironing board in full view from the bed and a broken hairdryer. Only 2 small drawers in the bedside tables, which were chipped and nowhere to plug and charge phones overnight. A bulb was missing in the ceiling, a damaged ring on the curtains, TV so high it was near the ceiling, plus a loose toilet seat all meant for a bad impression. Added to this, we were kept awake by noisy folks outside the bar who were using the cover near our room. Added to this, the owner (I presume) couldn't even muster up a 'good morning' at breakfast, a meagre continental style offering and a request for butter and milk at 7.50am seemed too much to ask, they came but not without being made to feel we'd inconvenienced him. Finally, parking was a pain as cars were parked back to back and keys had to be left with reception in case any at the back needed to be moved before those at the front. An awful experience and hardly a boutique hotel in our view.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank reece646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Put in The Kenilworth by company travel department as business hotels nearby were full. Nice enough though it's clearly not aiming at business travellers: friendly but overworked staff who are also tending bar, no food, limited room soundproofing, punitive 48-hour cancellation which I fell afoul of on a subsequent trip when plans changed. I'll get it off the company travel list as that's not appropriate.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

We came here and stayed for my 30th had such a lovely time we decided to come back for our 6th anniversary after dinner......we booked the table for 23:00....turned up to a locked door....after calling the hotel we were greeted with "sorry we didn't know we had a booking this late" already making us feel un wanted me were sat in a corner, the ladies opposite us had 3 waiters attend to their table we had 0......20 mins later we ordered our 1st drink.......we were then left not checked sat with empty glasses for a further 25!! Mins while we watched staff stand around the bar chatting and tending to other tables......not really any apology, it was clear the door was locked as at the time, travellers were in Kenilworth and staff were discussing the issue with surrounding tables.......put a massive damper on our evening after telling so many people about this place.....staff really have let it down.....such a shame!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank neales27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

After thoroughly enjoying a cocktail package last year we came back for more.
The people had changed but the quality of the cocktails and accommodation had not, still top notch!
We had great fun working through the under £10 menu which is as extensive as it is delicious.
We will be coming back for more.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

This hotel is a small hotel on the high street in Kenilworth. Parking is at the rear in designated parking bays, which can be like a game of chess as parking is limited - although they have a space for every room.
We stayed in room 8 which is in an adapted five bedroom house next to the garden of the main hotel. The room was comfortable and despite a party in the garden was very quiet. The waterfall shower was great, but the room feels like it times for a bit of a spruce up. Tea and coffee is available but no water or fridge which is a bit disappointing.
The hotel itself does not serve food as there is no kitchen, but cold platters are available. Its cocktail tables in the main hotel are its big draw and it its a must to book if you want a spot as it gets very busy in the evening.
Breakfast was continental with a good choice of pastries and cheese/meats although only having muesli as a cereal is a bit limited.
The staff here are superb and really make a difference, with nothing too much trouble no matter what the time is - this is why I gave four stars as without it would have been a three.
Kenilworth castle is a twenty minute walk away as is The Cross restaurant (see separate review).
So overall a nice place to stay but if you want the amenities of a normal hotel then dont stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews