We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Lovely”

Carluccio's - Stratford Upon Avon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our food is prepared using the best fresh, natural ingredients, where possible from Italy.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

After leaving the theatre late afternoon we were starving. We weren't going to eat in Stratford again because we'd had some very poor meals recently. We couldn't wait so we popped in on the off chance of a table & to our surprise they fitted us in. We crossed our fingers & hoped for something edible as well as enjoyable. Well we weren't disappointed! The carbonara & the lasagne were utterly gorgeous, not to mention the garlic bread. The cheese & the tiramisu that followed was equally scrummy. The staff were very friendly & all seemed very genuine & all professional. The waiter was more concerned about my top being stained than the mess I'd left on the floor after I somehow spilt some of my wine.......sorry!! No stain though I'm pleased to say. We are looking forward to returning for another delicious meal in the not too distant future. Thank you to all the staff for making or late lunch very pleasurable.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Celia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlucciosStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Carluccio's - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Hello!

What a fantastic review that really notes how we love to do things here at Carluccio’s in Stratford. We’ll try and fit everyone we can into our restaurant as long as you don’t mind our busy pre or post-theatre rushes. We’re also glad there was no fabric damaged in your visit and it’s great to read how attentive our team were looking after you.

We really hope to see you again soon.

Ciao e Grazie

Jen and the Carluccio’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 106 of 1,402 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2018

My friends and I tried to book a table at Carluccios and were greeted with so much resistance from the member of staff because we wanted to book the table for the following evening at 6.30. We all realise that location to the Theatre and pre-theatre menus would mean they would be extremely busy but we were put off by the way this member of staff kept on about how the manager would not be pleased if we insisted on booking a table and how they would be so busy attending to customers who would be wanting to pay their bill at that time. I can’t remember all he said but everything was in the negative. I regularly eat in the Glasgow restaurant and have eaten in the Dublin and Shrewsbury all of which are busy restaurants for obvious reasons. I have only come across this type of negativity in cheaper style establishments and was quite frankly shocked at finding it in a Carluccio’s. We are elsewhere and sadly Carluccio’s lost our business.

Thank Liz_030550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlucciosStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Carluccio's - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Hello!

This review disappoints us, there’s much in this that sounds uncharacteristic of our team here, we must stress we don’t normally take bookings at this time as we feel we wouldn’t be able to provide the exceptional service we pride and provide. We’re really quite sad we couldn’t get you in though the details you’ve provided have sadly been very vague.

Kind Regards

Jen and the Carluccio’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 9, 2018

We love Carluccio's the food is always good. I particularly love the spagetti carbonara, the platters are amazing.

Thank Kerry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlucciosStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Carluccio's - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hello!

A short review that sums up how we love to do things. Minimum of fuss and no matter the dish we’re glad you enjoy visiting us.

Hope to see you again soon.

Ciao e Grazie!

Jen and the Carluccio’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 8, 2018 via mobile

Everytime I'm looking for a nice place to chill for a coffee (they make the best mocha) or just want a quick meal I stop at carluccio. Thumb up for Michael that specially looked after me and my friend the other day at a really busy time and manage to find us a table and made our day ! Meals were great and atmosphere super friendly and enjoyable.

Just love this place and their staff !

Thanks guys :)

Thank Tour765520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlucciosStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Carluccio's - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hello!

It’s great to read that your visit to us was top marks, and even though we were busy you still were looked after to our usual high standard.

We’ll make sure we show this review to Michal as he always gives friendly service and will try to get everyone a table no matter what.

Ciao e Grazie

Jen and the Carluccio’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We had booked a table but asked to have our pre dinner drinks outside to view the river/boats/people watching. There seemed to be some confusion as they tried to bring our food outside too and left us to carry our drinks and rushed us to a table. The food was ok but not great. The service was not very friendly or helpfull. It was very busy and fairly noisey with pre theater parties. We have been to Carluccios before and always enjoyed it so maybe this was an off night. We will try it again and hope its better.

Thank Bridget N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlucciosStratford, Guest Relations Manager at Carluccio's - Stratford Upon Avon, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hello!

A bit of a mixed bag for your visit and that’s not how we like things here at our restaurant. We’re very sorry you were caught up in some pre-theatre issues and some communication ones that we’ll ensure we address for your next visit.

Come back and see us and we’ll show you how we really should do things.

Ciao e Grazie

Jen and the Carluccio’s Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carluccio's - Stratford Upon Avon also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to Carluccio's - Stratford Upon Avon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing