We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Private Dining Birthday Perfection! ”
Review of No 9 Church St - CLOSED

No 9 Church St
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$74
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located between the commercial centre and the heart of Stratford upon Avon’s “Old Town”, No9. Church St. is a grade II listed building dating back over 400 years.Renovated and refurbished to make the most of its original features and character the building is now home to Stratford’s latest addition to its vibrant and diverse restaurant scene.No.9 Church St. is the brain child of Wayne Thomson and Dan Robinson, friends and colleagues for the last 10 years and with over 30 years of culinary experience between them. Their aim is to make No.9 Church St. a town centre restaurant with a neighbourhood feel...serving seasonal British food with a contemporary twist in a relaxed environment with informal yet professional staff, the wine list will feature some fantastic Artisan wines at sensible prices.A unique feature of the restaurant will be Upstairs at No9. A private dining room offering bespoke, tailored menus and a dedicated Butler service to parties of up to 10 people, although larger parties can be catered for in the main restaurant by prior booking.
Reviewed July 19, 2016 via mobile

We had celebrated my 40th here 2 years ago with the tasting menu and as it was good decided to rebook with some friends for the Private Dining 6 course tasting menu for my hubby's Birthday. Everything was as perfect as anticipated - great food, wine, service and company. Nice taste combinations & the best lamb chump I have ever tasted! We will be going back soon for the 9 course taster!! Thanks Wayne and Jeanette!!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank StarTurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (1,000)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 333 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2016

We were a group of 7 and we were offered their upstairs room. It was absolutely perfect for us as we were having a small celebration and we loved the privacy.

And privacy did not mean abandonment. We did not at any point feel we were either over-attended or forgotten. We had a great waiter and the service was very good.

The food really was excellent, as were the wines. And great value for what we had.

Don't hesitate. Book!

And thank you for the little candle on my pudding!

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JanetBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

If you love to taste great food, made with passion and heart, then head to this great place - No 9 Church Street. We first visited a couple of years ago and made our return visit on Saturday, this time with friends. They were all so amazed by the experience, that we are planning a return visit in the Autumn.

The attention to detail from all involved with Wayne and his Team is evident from the first contact to the farewell moment. Thanks to all involved, for such fantastic food, wine and of course excellent service.

Love and blessings

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Free2review
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2016

Whenever a birthday or event is to be celebrated, No 9 is one of two restaurants we favour in Stratford-upon-Avon. As always, the menu posed a difficult choice - everything looks so tempting. However, we managed to choose and we all enjoyed a great meal. We started with the sharing dishes, which turned out to be absolutely delicious and even better than anticipated. Excellent mains followed and we finished off with the in-house ice cream - if you like ice cream, go for it! We were also delighted to hear that Magdalena has been appointed front of house manager.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travellerMRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2016

This is a lovely place to have lunch in the centre of Stratford, but just slightly away from the crowds. Although the menu is short, the food here is always excellent, and the service is friendly without being too overbearing.
We always come here whenever we visit Stratford and look forward to coming again.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PaulA862
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed No 9 Church St also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.