We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff over efficient - food excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Townhouse

The Townhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$18 - US$51
Cuisines: European, British, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Relaxed dining with a great pub feel in a historic 400 year-old building. Daily changing specials and just about one of the the best gin-lists in the area.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Staff over efficient - food excellent”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

My husband and I went to the CSTH for our wedding anniversary and booked a specific table in the window which was in a lovely spot with a candle. We had eaten here a few times before but only at lunch time and in the evening it has a romantic feel to it with low lighting and opulent furnishings. The food was excellent as always. My particular favourite is the Sea Bream on Tagliatelle which is so tasty and just the right size so that you don't feel like you've overeaten and still have room for dessert. If there is one criticism it would be that the staff are over efficient and no sooner is your plate empty it is whipped from the table and the next course arrives. This is not fast food so don't rush us!!. The restaurant was busy the night we went but there weren't people waiting so no excuse really. Yes be attentive, but let your customer feel like you are not after their table within a time limit.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reevesygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    106
    34
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome food, rushed service”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Food was amazing. However when I made our reservation I did explain we weren't theatre diners but they still insisted on us arriving at 5.30. From this moment on the service went a 100 miles an hour! I'm heavily pregnant so had to repeatedly ask for a rest between courses so I could catch my breath. By comparison we had been to essence the week before and eaten the same amount of food over 4 hours not 1! Amazing food shame about service. The waitress was almost relieved when we asked for the bill at 6.45. There were plenty of spare tables from 6pm onwards so there was really no need for the rush.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfectly 'ok'”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I was really looking forward to eating here as the menu looked really interesting. The food was fine, can't really complain about anything but it was nothing to write home about and, I feel, overpriced. It's a very 'fashionable' place to be and can appear a little pretentious. We also had the misfortune of sitting at a table near a door leading to a courtyard, meaning lots of people in the bar who wished to go outside to smoke were coming in and out of the restaurant and rushing past our table - fine if you're in a pub but not great if you're in a restaurant. We'll probably give somewhere else a try when next in Stratford.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bris2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

There are very few places I feel I could just sit, enjoy the atmosphere (and food) and take in my surroundings; the Townhouse is one of those places. On entering through it's trademark big black door you are always greeted by a friendly staff member who makes sure you are sat in the right place for you - not just for their ease. The mixture of the thick red velvet curtains contrasting beautifully with the eggshell blue walls, the mixture of vintage wooden furniture could and intricate Georgian plasterwork create the perfect ambiance for you to enjoy your meal.

This was our third trip to the Townhouse (not to mention the innumerable 'pit stops' for warm scones and tea) for a main meal and it did not disappoint. Everything is cooked to perfection and only adds to a real sense of attention to detail from the small buckets of chips to the complimentary bottle of water. There is a main menu and a selection of specials that change regularly. We enjoyed the pork with the pea, bacon and black pudding potato cake. Last time we ate beef fillet wrapped in prosciutto and on our first trip (about a year ago) we had chargrilled chicken with the best ham and pea risotto we have ever tasted. (If anyone from the Townhouse is reading this - please bring it back!)

I can't recommend the Townhouse enough. Go for coffee and cake. Go for a drink at the bar whilst the piano is played by 6th formers from the school across the road. Go for lunch or dinner. Just go and enjoy and excellent service, fabulous food in a great location.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tink_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautifully Presented”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Church Street Townhouse is beautifully presented inside and out, we visited the bar whilst on a short visit to Stratford and it certainly appears on the surface to deserve its Mr & Mrs Smith credentials however sadly our experience was disappointed by an air of pretentiousness and a slightly arrogant member of bar staff. If you are looking for an easy drink then I would recommend going elsewhere.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenMasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Townhouse also viewed

Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing