We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Pascal's paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salamander Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Salamander Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Pascal's paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

A great location for walking into town and run by a real character. Pascal will keep you amused at breakfast and help you find the things you knew and didn't know you wanted to see. The room was clean and comfortable. The shower was a bit small but that seemed pretty standard for B&Bs in the UK. We enjoyed our two-night stay and would definitely stay again....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smallg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    78
    23
    10
    4
See reviews for
79
92
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Pascal the owner was wonderful and greeted us with a very warm welcome and provided us with plenty of info to help us enjoy our stay. The room, located on the top floor was clean, relatively spacious and had an en suite. unfortunately had a very temperamental shower in the mornings but otherwise, clean linen, super comfy bed and towels provided. Tv in room, 5 minute walk to stratford centre. Very safe area with parking. Full english Breakfast or cereal, tea/coffee and orange juice each morning. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit to beautiful Stratford!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LAD_y1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Salamander and would wholeheartedly recommend it to other people! We are a young couple travelling to Stratford for our fifth anniversary.

When we arrived Pascal gave us a lovely welcome, giving us the wifi password, a stack of leaflets and vouchers and all the information we needed to get around in Stratford. Pascal is warm, funny and a mine of information about Stratford!

We stayed in the attic room that other people have mentioned as being a bit shabby. It must have been decorated since then because we found it very well maintained and pretty! White walls and furniture and a lovely floral bedspread. The bed was really comfy and we had all the conveniences you would expect in a B&B including a kettle and a hair dryer. Remember to bring your shower gel though!

Every morning Pascal asked us about our trip and seemed genuinely interested in our opinions about the two plays we went to see. Our breakfasts were great, toast, cereal and then a perfectly cooked English breakfast with some really lovely coffee and tea. We were in Stratford in the cold snap and the breakfasts really set us up for the day!

The location of the B&B was also fantastic. In front of a pretty little park, it was maybe five minutes walk to the American fountain and less than that to Scholar's Walk, the street that leads down to the theatre and the Guild Chapel. All told, it's about a 10 minute walk to the RSC down one road, so you definitely won't get lost!



I can only think of two cons at the hotel. The first, is that the shower is poor. It is not very powerful and we were never able to get it to go sufficiently hot. Pascal warned us about this on our arrival and attributed it to the volume of B&Bs on the street so I don't think there is anything more he could do. But if you're one of those people that needs a 30 minute shower to get out of bed then you may be disappointed.

The second is that Pascal is perhaps a bit overbearing. I did enjoy being introduced to other
groups at breakfast and getting to know them, but it did make breakfast quite a long affair, when we just wanted to quickly fuel up and get out into Stratford. We also found it a bit unnerving when we were trying to eat and he was talking to us. We felt like we were being rude by continuing to eat our breakfast! We are Welsh and we found some of his Welsh stereotype jokes a bit tiresome, about us bringing the Stratford crime rate up, being drunks and not noticing if gifts are second hand! Was also a bit awkward to have him joking about us fancying Robert Pattinson, Daniel Radcliffe and David Tennant when we were two girls sharing a double room...

Basically, as long as you can put up with a bit of teasing and a luke warm shower, Salamander might possibly be the best place to stay in Stratford.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelS921989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We've just got back from a fantastic stay in the beautiful Stratford. Salamander guest house is armed with a great location and a querky Frenchman, who takes the time to find out what you are and what you are looking for in Stratford. Pascal was very charming without being overbearing. Will be recommending to friends

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2012

We found Salamander guest house on the interenet and were very pleased with our stay.
We were met by a friendy Pascal who gave us plenty of ideas for plenty of things to see and do in Stratford. We arrived at about 7pm... to which Pascal told us where we could get something good to eat and that if we were quick we would be able to make it to the theatre just in time to see a Shakespeare play that evening. He gave us a map and showed us the quickest way to walk to the theatre.
After a busy day out and about and a night at the theatre it was nice to get into bed and both of us (after having slept in a lot of beds while we have been away) had the best nights sleep we had had in the 2 1/2 weeks since we had left home
Breakfast was nice and we were thoroughly entertained by Pascal as we enjoyed eating our meal.
Pascal was accomodating and we were able to leave our car in his parking area while we discovered the beautiful town of Stratford.
Overall a great stay!!
I will definitely recommend Salamander Guest house to my friends and family.

Room Tip: We had the room at the back of the house so it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybeetles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarpsborg, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Salamander Guest House in Stratford is a very nice place to stay - value for money. Pascal - the owner- is very knowledgeable about Stratford regarding places to visit and where to eat and so on. He is very friendly and helpful and serves good breakfast. Short trip to the town centre with all of its restaurants and pubs, parking spaces in the back yard. Been there for three times and can absoloutely recommend Salamander guest house!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

Room was clean and comfortable,with tea/coffee making facilities,extra pillows,and en suite.
Location was excellent,2mins walk from the city center,parking,overlooking a nice park.
On arrival Pascal was very friendly and helpful,gave us lots of tips on where to visit,best places to eat and supplied us with leaflets,maps etc..
Breakfast was nice,a basic cooked english breakfast,served nice and hot,no complaints.
Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jueamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.1 km away
Ashgrove House
Ashgrove House
#18 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 km away
Aidan Guest House
Aidan Guest House
#13 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.2 km away
Twelfth Night Guest House
Twelfth Night Guest House
#9 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Woodstock Guest House
Woodstock Guest House
#4 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
1.1 km away
Penryn Guest House
Penryn Guest House
#15 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 km away
Arden Park Guest House
Arden Park Guest House
#38 of 93 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamander Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamander Guest House

Property: Salamander Guest House
Address: 40 Grove Road, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salamander Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edwardian family-run guesthouse located in the town centre and close to all tourists attractions/restaurants. Offering quality en suite bedrooms and freshly cooked breakfast. Free car parking/garaging on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Salamander Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamander Guest House Hotel Stratford-Upon-Avon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing