We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The White Swan Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
The Stratford, A QHotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$143
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$137
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Stratford-Upon-Avon(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$82/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Macdonald Swan's Nest Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$190
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Faviere Guest House(Stratford-upon-Avon)
US$131
US$96
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe(Stratford-upon-Avon)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$140
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel(Stratford-upon-Avon)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$73/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$43
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Stratford Upon Avon(Stratford-upon-Avon)
Book now, pay at stay
US$50
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (544)
Filter reviews
544 results
Traveller rating
500
37
4
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
500
37
4
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome made cakessue simonpoached haddockb bsgracious hostspot of teaon arrivalfour poster bedporridgefull englishbreakfast was delicioustrain stationperfect staybreakfast roomlovely guesthouselocation is greatvisit stratford
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 544 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2018 via mobile

Sue and Simon were perfect hosts. Breakfast was good, place very clean and charmingly decorated, location great (walking distance to train station and main town). Ginger breads, muffins and fruits were placed in hall for self help (i luv the ginger bread. Really good). Simon introduced all major sites patiently. U will be well taken care of if u stay there.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
Thank Poon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you. We so glad you enjoyed your stay and felt well looked after. The location is great for every thing. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip . Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018

This was our second time to stay at the Adelphi Guest House and it confirmed the positive impression we gained last time. We stayed in the same room - Room 1, with its small courtyard – but were shown another room upstairs which was sumptuous and had a splendid view. It’s easy to see how the “Friendliest Guest House” and “Best Breakfast” awards posted in the breakfast room were earned. Our hosts went out of their way to make their guests’ experience pleasant and memorable. It seemed that every possible dietary requirement could be catered to without sacrificing taste. Above the call of duty extras included full sized bath sheets, a nightly bottle of cold water delivered to each room, programmes from the current RSC plays available for perusal, cakes available at all hours in the hallway (I gained a kilo during my two-day stay), and recommendations of places to go and things to see. The close proximity to theatres and the main town plus free parking make this the perfect base from which to explore Stratford. I definitely hope to return soon.

Locally, No 9 Church Street and El Greco were both good places to eat, though Paxton and Whitfield cheesemongers could set you up for an excellent pre-theatre picnic by the river. The Dirty Duck pub is the place for RSC actors to unwind after a show; we found ourselves sitting next to Christopher Eccleston after Macbeth. Having been to Stratford before, we ventured a bit further afield and visited National Trust sites within an hour's drive, including Elgar's birthplace, Greyfriar's, Croome, and Fleece inn. Worcester cathedral was a revelation.

Room Tip: We've stayed in Room 1 with its mini courtyard twice. A good place for an evening drink under the stars.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeorgeHCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2018

Thank you so much. It was lovely to see you both again. We are so glad that the second time was as good as the first. The cakes are popular as is the fruit. The water is a talking point when shouting water delivering the bottles in the evening.
Thank you for also your recommendations always useful. We intend to visit Elgar's birthday soon having spoken to you.
We look forward to seeing you again and will aim for low calorie treats. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2018 via mobile

If you’re after a place to stay near the heart of Stratford Upon Avon this is it. Good off road parking. A welcome that made us really feel welcome I suspect the just baked ginger bread slice that greeted me helped to get me in the holiday mood. All the food was beautiful and the choice for breakfast was astounding. The hosts genuinely were there to help us enjoy our stay. Lovely clean room with a huge comfortable bed and a great power shower.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank fennboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Thank you for this review. We so glad you enjoyed your stay. That the bed was comfortable and you enjoyed the power shower. We do offer large selection for breakfast which is freshly cooked in the morning having been ordered the night before. The ginger bread is popular as are the cakes in the hall we are so pleased you enjoyed these. Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018

We had another excellent stay at the Adelphi. Our room at the back was very comfortable, quiet and clean with plenty of books to read. The breakfast was very good, with lots of fresh fruit and yoghurt, as well as all the usual, and the hot-cross-buns were a nice touch as it was Easter. Sue and Simon are full of information about the plays on at the Royal Shakespeare Theatre and provide theatre programmes to look at before you go. We always enjoy comparing our experiences of the productions, and the home-made cakes left out for guests!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2018

Thank you. It is always great having guests return. So pleased you liked the hot cross buns. It is a real Easter treat we feel. Other tines we have crumpets or other breakfast treats along with the bread. We find the programmes very useful to refresh one mind on the plot and also to find out what slant the director is taking. It often helps with the performance. We hope to see you again soon for a further discussion on the plays . Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

We stayed here before and did not consider anywhere else this time, as we had been very impressed with this guest house before. There are many personal touches and little extras and there is always cake!!

Our room (2) was bigger than the previous one and we can recommend it, as it was at the back of the house on the first floor (2nd floor to Americans) so was very undisturbed. Room 1 (on the ground floor) looks as if there would be noise from the kitchen and various comings and goings but it has a small private patio area.

Breakfast and service impeccable. Free parking and a 10 minute level walk to the river and theatre.

The only slight minus was the wifi; there were 2, both of which kept dropping out. This may have been because the room was further from the router. Not a big deal.

Can thoroughly recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: Room 1 a bit noisy, room 2 lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sueandsimon79, Owner at Adelphi Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2018

Thank and we are glad you enjoyed your return visit. Room 2 is one of the bigger rooms and guests do enjoy this. Room 1 is close to the kitchen and dining room but has good installation so guests are not disturbed. The patio is popular in the summer. We are sorry the wifi was not behaving. All rooms should have good coverage. We hope you will visit again . Best wishes Simon and Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews