We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away”
Review of Emsley Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Emsley Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We were met by the owner Ray with a very welcoming greeting. after a little chat we were shown to our very clean comfortable room with everything we needed. Breakfast was really scrummy and filled us for the rest of the day until our meal out in the evening. Nothing was too much trouble. We would definitlley recommend this guest house.

Room Tip: The Gloucester was the room we stayed in and it was quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVEANDCHRISSIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

385 - 391 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Very nice and welcoming place to stay. Good breakfast. Handy nearby parking. I would book again if I was visiting Stratford.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meganmango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

once again a wonderful stay at the emsley . it just gets better and better. ray mel and hayley just always go out of their way to make your stay so wonderful. food fab and the rooms are beautiful. no doubt we will be back again. well done all and thank you for a wonderful stay again xxx

Room Tip: the rooms are all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladytont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

From the moment we arrived at Emsley Guest House until we checked out, every little detail of our stay has been thoughtfully arranged by the owners, Melanie and Ray (and daughter Haley).

Overall:
Highly recommended. A beautiful place to stay in an amazing little town.

Reservation:
We called the Emsley House at the last minute to book a one-night stay. Since it was a Friday night, many of the hotels and B&Bs required a two-night stay for "weekend." It was very frustrating and we were very thankful that Ray was accommodating (probably helped since we were traveling in winter and off-season).

Lodging:
The B&B itself was very clean and well decorated; the beds were plush and comfortable. You get two pillows (a rare treat in some of the B&Bs). Even the carpet in the hallways was deep and cushy. The shower was nice and hot. The area was quiet at night and we slept soundly.

Food:
Once we were shown to our room, Haley brought us a cup of tea to fortify us for our day gallivanting around town. It's a small gesture, but one greatly appreciated. Breakfast was hearty and delicious with plenty of coffee and juice. They also provide several cereals in individual boxes. The crisp white linen on the tables made the whole experience feels very luxurious.

Distance:
This beautiful B&B is located a mere 5-minutes walk from the Stratford-Upon-Avon train station and extremely convenient when going about town. The furthest we walked was back from a show at the Royal Shakespeare Company at night, and it took only about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: The Rochester room has a double and a single bed, would be great for family with a child!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Avid users of tripadvisor, this is our first contribution. This B and B in Stratford is a wonderful place to base yourself to take in the town and surrounding countryside. Hosts friendly and helpful. Best breakfasts of our 3 week trip! Spotlessly clean and super comfortable beds. Parking is across road in public carpak(Host provides voucher so is free) which may be inconvenient for those with mobility problems but did not worry us at all. Highly recommend for singles/couples and family stay.A+++++++++++++++++++++++++

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

You could not expect any more, the room was fantastic, the bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in and the duvet perfect. The breakfast amazing whatever you want will be accomadated and the scrammbled eggs are so creamy. The owners were lovely and would go out of there way to make your stay the best you can. Would reccomend to anyone and will go there again with out a doubt. Oh location is perfect as well. 10 out of 10

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed at the Emsley Guest House last month for four nights and had a great time. The guest house is well located, an easy walk from both the train station and downtown. The room was comfortable and very well maintained. Most importantly the owners were very friendly and helpful. We felt they actually cared about their guests, too rare these days. Breakfast was excellent as well. Overall, it was a very pleasant stay and we highly recommend it if you are in that area.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TXace49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stratford-upon-Avon hotels
0.5 km away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#13 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,867 reviews
0 km away
The Stratford, A QHotel
The Stratford, A QHotel
#6 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
2,158 reviews
0.2 km away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#3 of 28 in Stratford-upon-Avon
1,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Avonlea Guesthouse
Avonlea Guesthouse
#4 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
447 reviews
1.3 km away
White-Sails
White-Sails
#1 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
823 reviews
0.3 km away
Adelphi Guest House
Adelphi Guest House
#5 of 89 in Stratford-upon-Avon
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emsley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emsley Guest House

Address: 4 Arden Street, Stratford-upon-Avon CV37 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Stratford-upon-Avon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 89 B&Bs / Inns in Stratford-upon-Avon
Price Range: $120 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Emsley Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Emsley is a newly refurbished four star rated Victorian Town House Bed and Breakfast, centrally located, just five minutes walk from the centre of Stratford upon Avon and Shakespeare's birthplace. We are also the closest B&B to the train station. All rooms are en suite, centrally heated, tastefully decorated with generous tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV/DVD with Freeview, free WiFi and free parking. A spacious family room sleeps up to five adults. Special diets catered for with prior notice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Emsley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing