We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A terrific experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 1 The Hamlet

Flaming June and everyones' idea of an English Country Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Flaming June and everyones' idea of an English Country Cottage
A view of the back garden Cosy and warm even without a fire. Plenty of books and games to enjoy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Flaming June and everyones' idea of an English Country Cottage
A view of the back garden
Cosy and warm even without a fire. Plenty of books and games to enjoy
Lots of books and games to enjoy
The well equipped Shaker style galley kitchen
Quirky antique bathroom with huge corned bath which mum's and weary walkers adore
Sunroom has plush window seat with views over the garden.
The light and airy Mediterranean sunroom
A view of the November garden from the sunroom
Downstairs double. Favourite with older and disabled guests.
Newly refreshed double . Grey beams and like an art gallery
Table for two in self contained double
The luxurious Kingsize bedroom
The Kingsize room is sunny and well lit
stylish single bedroom
Ancient door and beams in single lead through to twin bedroom
twin double is a great hit with children of all ages!
The garden in spring
comfortable chairs to enjoy an outdoor meal or smoke!
Roses covering the upstairs bedroom window in June
The gate which leads onto a fieldpath into Bidford on Avon
A  lovely place to sit and relax and watch the wildlife. Take care with very young children
Back entrance . A blaze of colour in May
Wildlife pond. Shallow but take care with very young children
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Susan G
1 review
“A terrific experience”
Reviewed August 27, 2018 for a stay in August 2018

We had a wonderful experience staying at Geoff's property and it had everything we could wish for. It's also ideally situated for visiting the surrounding area. We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerRuf...
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place and area”
Reviewed February 28, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

A lovely spacious cottage with loads to do in the area. Lots of lovely walks and near to so many attractions. Next year is booked! Thanks Geoff.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2018
Thanks for your positive review. You are my sort of guests, who make the very most of the local area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enzo F
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Hamlet is truly Excellent !!”
Reviewed December 29, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

The Hamlet is truly excellent in every way we enjoyed a very relaxing short break and were very disappointed to leave everything you need is there just like home from home thanks to the owner Geoff

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jan 2018
Thanks. Enjoyed meeting you all and the chats! I admired the way you relaxed and enjoyed the cottage and the area. Look forward to hosting you again in December
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheekymon...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend Away”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

1 The Hamlet is a lovely cottage with beautiful gardens in the little village of Marcliff, which is 5 minutes drive from Bideford on Avon and is the perfect base to explore the surrounding areas.
This is the second time I have stayed at this cottage and will definately be going back next year, as there is still so many surrounding places I have yet to explore.
There is a lovely river walk within 5 mins of the cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2017
Thanks for your positive comments. You were a super group and made the very best of everything the cottage and the area have to offer. Look forward to seeing you again next year,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea E
1 review
“Pretty cottage,lovely garden,blissful break”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Lots of room in this idyllic cottage.Suited our group of three generations including disabled Granpa in downstairs bedroom.Comfortable,cosy and well equipped.Lots to do,walks,river paddling and fishing for lively children .Stratford is lovely and buzzy,,Bidford has good restaurants and supermarket.A warm welcome from Geoff,the owner.,thank you again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2017
Thanks for your generous review. I loved meeting all your characterful, friendly family and was impressed how you used the cottage and its environs to the full. My word, you brought lovely warm weather with you too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miss Jani...
1 review
“Quaint Country Cottage”
Reviewed May 18, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Cottage was an ideal location within the Cotswolds, with lots of places of interest within easy access.Also Wonderful Pubs and Restaurants within walking distance. Very cosy accomodation, with room to spread out, 2 comfortable double bedrooms. Another with twin beds and one single bedroom. We were blessed with some sunshine that made the Sun room an ideal place to sit and read and play cards, also too enjoy the picturesque Garden. I was really impressed with the size of the cottage. All in all Great place to stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
Thanks for your positive review. I was so pleased you made the very best of the cottage and the area..... and, of course, i was delighted the sun shone for you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deborah l
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Family weekend”
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Amazing cottage, has a fabulous weekend,
Everything needed in the cottage .. Garden is lovely ....
We walked through the field at the end of the footpath to the river walk ...
Lovely coal fire .... Nice pub up the road ....
Very enjoyable ... Will defiantly booking to
Go again ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Thanks. It's what I do when I stay in cottages for my holidays ie make the most of what the cottage and the immediate area has to offer instead of driving to places miles away.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing