We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Find”
Review of The Saxon Mill

The Saxon Mill
Ranked #68 of 145 Restaurants in Warwick
Price range: US$24 - US$32
Cuisines: Mediterranean, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely gastro pub next to a lovely river. Didn't see it at it's best as I visited on a rainy wet March day. Lunch was good and staff very obliging.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Saxon Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for your recommendation. We appreciate your kind comments and hope that next time you get to enjoy the river views in the sun.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Very surprised to read the negative reviews but maybe all of the service and attention was on the wedding we were guests at. All of the staff were extremely attentive and we were very impressed that 70 people were served food so efficiently. Even more impressive as it wasn’t a set menu we had all been able to choose from 7 different mains 5 starters and 5 desserts.
All the food was delicious and well presented we certainly understand why it was chosen for the wedding venue. We hope to be able to return

Thank Kay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Saxon Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kay, I'm so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed the wedding and will make sure our team receive your kind comments.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good service with staff attentive and supportive of the birthday event. However the Sunday roast meals were not up to scratch and a bit mean on the meat also the roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds were very poor, rock hard Yorkshire puddings and over cooked or reheated roast potatoes vegetables however were good. This restaurant can do better. So disappointed with the quality of some of the food.

Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Saxon Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Tim, I'm sorry to hear that the food served during your recent meal with us fell below expectations. Your comments are being addressed with our Head Chef so that we can ensure improvements are made going forward.

Our apologies if this tainted your birthday celebrations in any way.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped off for a drink over Easter week end and the place and staff were so welcoming we ended up staying for dinner. Lots of choice for food and drink and the staff were very polite and helpful. Will return as soon as we can.

Thank covfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Saxon Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review and for letting us know how much you enjoyed your visit over the Easter weekend. We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting our daughter and she had recommended and booked this restaurant for six of us ...it was a Saturday night so we expected it to be busy ...lovely building loads of character...lots of out door seating ...we were early but our table was ready...our waiter introduced himself and gave us menus and asked if we would like some drinks ...we ordered out drinks and some tap water for the table ..our drinks came after about 25 minutes we had asked several times about our drinks and the water we were told each time they would ‘chase up’ the bar as they were very busy ...not our problem !!! Wish we had left then ! ....we finally received our drinks but no water ...over an hour later a bottle of tap water and 6 glasses ! In the meantime we order our meals ...the starters arrived again after a long wait ....my daughter ordered scallops ...they were freezing cold it was as if they had been put on the plate ready to be cooked but never cooked ! We were absolutely appalled !! She sent them back and ordered soup ! We ordered our mains ...my mother order steak not pink but not burnt quite simple ...it completely pink in the middle and very well done on the outside ...no one in the kitchen bothered to read how it was to be cooked £23 for the rib eye you wouldn’t give to your dog it was that tough !!
I had venison Luke warm but meat was good green beans raw ...and yes I do know the difference between a nice crunch and soggy veg ....at this point my daughter and partner had not yet received the cocktails they ordered ...we didn’t want to order more drinks as we didn’t know when they would arrive ...I spoke to ‘Reece’ the duty manager ...obviously Reece has no idea about customer service and really couldn’t see what our problem was !! By this time the entire evening had been ruined ..as my daughter had booked it she felt awful she was told they had a wedding on I guess the wedding came first ! A couple sitting behind us walked out after a long wait ...the duty manager agreed to refund our drinks bill and offered complementary deserts ...he never came to the table to apologise...when we were leaving we were waiting by the door way Reece was standing with other staff members looking over ...he made no attempt to apologise just stood laughing with staff members absolutely disgusting behaviour customers should NEVER be treated in such a way...I would however like to thank the young waiter who tried his best to hurry our order along and also ‘James’ who ...should have been the duty manager that evening ...’Reece’ you need to learn how to treat customers how to react to a problem ...and DONT LIE to customers ...you told us it was a ‘quiet’ evening for your restaurant...yet your staff said how very busy it was and two of your most popular deserts had sold out ! ...and there was a wedding to cope with ...
No ...we won’t be going back

Thank Darcey008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Saxon Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us your review. It is clear that on this occasion we let you down and we would like to apologise for any upset caused. As explained in my earlier response to another member of your party, your comments have been have escalated and we will be addressing the issues raised.

Once again, please accept our apologies for any disappointment caused.

Kind regards,

Emma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Saxon Mill also viewed

Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Warwick, Warwickshire
 
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
Kenilworth, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Saxon Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing