We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”
Review of Tamatanga

Tamatanga
Ranked #85 of 2,533 Restaurants in Birmingham
Price range: US$11 - US$19
Description: Eat.drink.indian. Fun, Funky, Casual, Sociable, Great Value, Great Food, Great Atmosphere. You Just Can't Go Wrong! #tamatanga #eatdrinkindian
Restaurant details
Description: Eat.drink.indian. Fun, Funky, Casual, Sociable, Great Value, Great Food, Great Atmosphere. You Just Can't Go Wrong! #tamatanga #eatdrinkindian
Reviewed November 3, 2018

We were staying at a nearby hotel and decided to give this place a try as it was close by and we were tired. It was a Friday night so we booked a table but we had a wait as it was so busy. The bar area is fairly small so not the best place to wait. We were shown to our table after 15 minutes and served promptly. My husband ordered the thali and I had the railway chicken. All the dishes were really tasty and plentiful, so much so we didn't make much of a dent in what we ordered. This was much more authentic than the usual local Indian/Balti restaurant. We will be back !

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 404 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

What a great venue serving a varied tasty fare of pan Asian food which is reasonably priced.
Having been twice I can say that every dish I've tried has been faultless and the staff are knowledgable offering choices.
My only complaint is that the tables are a little to close to each other but otherwise an excellent place to try.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

SERVICE 4/5
TASTE OF FOOD 2/5
PORTION OF FOOD 3/5
NOT RECOMMENED TO COUPLES AND FRIENDS
RECOMMENED TO FAMILY AND OLD PEOPLE GATHERINGS

As usaually we waited 20min for table because it seems busy. I went with my family member and when I enter there was more than 5 tables were free and I dont know why they made me sit in very packed space when i requested to change my seat they refuse because they its busy but I waited for 20 minutes for a good table the distance between my table and other table was not even 10cm. NO SPACE

It is very fast service tho, I ordered 2 tamatanga thali and mango lassi as soon as ordered the food was there withing a minute I was feeling like they already prepared the thali warmed it and served.

Portion of food was good, I was quite empressed.

Overall the food taste like salt and pepper to me because i love flavours.

I recommend this food place to people who likes plane food and no spices.

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank jasmineo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 31, 2018 via mobile

Food was tasty, well presented and good value for money. Service was brilliant / fast paced. Location brilliant - car park opposite!

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank AsifHussain99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

We precooked nine of us ...we were early but welcomed .... service was impeccable and the food was delightful .... we ate based on the suggestion of our server.
One of our group required Gluten free and the staff were knowledgable and very helpful.
Prices were sensible.

We will revisit ...

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tamatanga also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Tamatanga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing