We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times mostly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel
Ranked #46 of 118 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Everytime we want to see a show in Birmingham we stay at this Premier Inn, the staff are friendly, the rooms are nice, it's not too far from any of the venues and there is a great little chinese restaurant across the road.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the rooms near the staff smoking area of the carpark. The cleaners are out there quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Thank you for your kind comments, regarding your stay & the staff here at Hall Green Premier Inn
Hope to see you again in any future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Typically clean and bright hotel, with good rooms. We had a "family" room (essentially a double and a single bed) and it was a little cramped but in very good condition.

The breakfast was excellent - a good amount of food at a reasonable price and the cooked breakfast made to order rather than from a buffet which makes a change for a budget hotel. Not the cheapest "budget" hotel, but not too expensive either.

On the downside the WIFI was woeful. No signal in the room and when you moved to the lobby where there was signal, the connection itself was hopeless with pages taking minutes to load on the odd occasion when they loaded at all - more often failing than loading. So not much use if you want to do any work. Shame though as a 24 hour wifi pass is only £3.

If I'm going to be picky I'd say the car park is a little small. It's shared wth the pub next door and most of the spaces were gone when we arrived on a Thursday tea time. Not sure you'd get in at all on say a Saturday evening.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigGiantPlanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for your comments, regarding your recent stay and 
the freshly cooked to order breakfast,this is a great offering.
I  will pass on your comments to spectrum, the wifi company regarding the poor signal.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Room was clean and functional but I would agree with sound proofing. We where in 212 at the back, but you can still hear hum of traffic. Also rather annoyingly we could hear the bass or hum of music which I suspect was from whatever room was below ours because I couldn't hear it in the corridor. This noise was going at 1030 pm and started again around 730 am so we didn't manage to get a good nights sleep. I wouldn't stay here again as a result of that.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Penfold13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I 'm sorry to hear that you had problems with noise issues.
Should you wish to discuss this matter please contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Felt I had to write after our stay at the Premier Inn in Hall Green on Wednesday night.

Having arrived at the hotel before the check in time of 2pm. Marie the receptionist went to great lengths to find us a vacant room so we could settle in before going off for our work meetings for the afternoon. Although this took her about fifteen minutes to accomplish, she did it all with a great humour and willingness to help, that employees of other hotel chains would do well to learn from !

Our room was warm, everything worked, and there was no building work going on which was a bonus after recent stays at other Premier Inns of late. And as ever the internet access was both fast and cheap, £3 after the initial free 30 mins, for the rest of our stay

Dinner at the Toby Carvery next door was 'an experience' though. Immensely busy, with a limited menu compared to the Beefeater's we usually get to eat in when staying at P.I.'s, and terrible service ! I finally got my glass of extremely mediocre house wine after about twenty minutes, although my husband had to wait an extra ten, as they didn't have what he wanted initially and then the waitress forgot to bring him what he asked for instead ! The food was surprisingly good though I had a brie, mushroom and brocolli pie of sorts and my hubby had a lemon pepper chicken salad, both of which were lovely although his was missing a number of ingredients,and the dressing only came after we had asked for it ! The cheesy garlic bread was to die for though ! Cheap meal though around £8 each for the food...

On returning the hotel, we asked the Assistant Manager Sarah, if she could help us book a room in another hotel, as the website wasn't allowing us to do so. Again nothing was too much trouble, and Sarah spent the next 15 minutes speaking with and emailing her opposite number at the other hotel to sort out our asked for booking.

Finish all this off with a great night's sleep, and a lovely freshly cooked english breakfast the next morning - well worth the £8.25, although the coffee left a lot to be desired if you drink it black like us !

A very positive stay, we would definetly come back, and particular thanks to Marie and Sarah for the extra help above and beyond normal service !

Room Tip: We had Room 214 at the top of the stairs and it was great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you  for your kind feedback about your stay with us here at the Hall Green Premier Inn. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. It is important to us at Premier Inn to make all our guests feel welcome and the team are glad they were able to make this happen.
Hope to see you again in any future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Could clearly hear conversations from neighbouring room, noise from the automatic front doors and also mobile phone which was on vibrate from the room next to us, sound proofing was terrible - worst I've ever experienced even in other budget hotels.
A lot of noise experienced from the adjacent toby carvery on the Satuarday night.
Towels on the last night were only enough for one person.
Nice rooms but let down by the noise issues

Room Tip: Room 107 is above the automatic doors which are clearly heard in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paws85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Hello,I 'm sorry to hear you had you had problems with the noise from inside & outside. I'm a bit confused regarding your room, room 107 is at the back of the hotel, should you wish to discuss this matter please contact me.
Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Stayed for 1 night Dec 2011 after attending a family party locally. Booked early, so got a good deal- £29 for a double room. Bargain! Check-in was friendly and efficient.

They hadn't got a record of booking for one of our party and they hadn't got their confirmation with them, but luckily they had a room free and offered them a complementary breakfast by way of compensation and said they had to pay again, but would refund if they emailed their confirmation when they got home. This they did.

The room had everything needed and heating was very good on a cold night. Bed was comfortable and shower worked well. Asked for a quiet room and that's what we got.

Hadn't booked for breakfast and decided to take it in the pub next door. What a mistake! The service was very unfriendly and they couldn't wait to get rid of us. The food was dried up and the cost was more than the breakfast at the Premier Inn, by the time you had paid extra for tea/coffee/ juice.

Would highly recommend the premier Inn, but have breakfast there too!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maldivefan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments, regarding your recent stay with us, and sorry for the confusion regarding the other room booking.
Look forward to seeing you again in your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here recently and have to say the room and general service was great. Room (102) was clean, comfortable flat screen TVs with freeview and breakfast was very pleasant – great staff too. Be sure to check out Toby Carvery next door, great food.

Room Tip: Room 102 was nice. Breakfast recommended. Next door Toby has a nice resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biniman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert E, Manager at Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments, regarding your recent stay with us.
Look forward to seeing you again in your future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Best Western Westley Hotel
#72 of 118 in Birmingham
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edgbaston
University of Birmingham Conferences & events
Crowne Plaza Solihull
#7 of 28 in Solihull
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel

Address: Stratford Road | Hall Green, Birmingham B28 9ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#8 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#25 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $81 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premier Inn - Birmingham South (Hall Green) is ideally located just off the M42 Junction 4/5, 6 miles from the city centre and 8 miles from the NEC and Birmingham Airport. We have 52 recently refurbished en-suite bedrooms with shower units only. Complimentary tea and coffee making facilities in all rooms. Flat screen TVs with freeview in all rooms. We offer either an "all you can eat" premier breakfast or a continental for the lighter option. We are situated adjacent to a Toby Carvery offering our guests evening meals.The reception is manned 24 hours,so check in after 2pm at your convenience. Directions: From M42, take exit 4 to A34 (towards Shirley) , then pick up A34 (Birmingham). Go straight over 6 roundabouts. At the 7th roundabout, take the 4th exit. The hotel is on the left. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Birmingham South (Hall Green) Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing