We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hard to find, but worth it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Inn Birmingham
Ranked #92 of 116 Hotels in Birmingham
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Well the map said it was a 9 min walk from coach station it took us an hour this is so so hard to find, get a taxi there really cheap, i phoned the hotel and they gave us directions, the area around the house isnt the safest so wasnt happy walking around for long. If you come out of new street go down to bottom level of shopping centre by Debenhams asnd take a right then left. As for the hotel the room was lovely an clean, not a nice view but I found that over all the room was very nice, the bathroom was small but the shower was lovely and again was clean. The hotel lift wasnt working but we were on the 1st floor, the hotel itself has a cosey feel. The staff were so nice, they let us leave our bags there after we checked out to go shopping, booked a taxi for us an were very nice, would go back again. Once you know where you are going it is great, the shopping is just round the corner. So yes id reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Always get a taxi!! Hard to find, and dont expect good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    135
    144
    81
    87
See reviews for
38
119
83
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Palma
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I chose that hotel as it was closed from New Street Station. The location is indeed perfect, but that hotel should be fully refurbished. Antique lift that takes for ages, room of 8 sq. meters, bathroom basic bu ok, matress really below standard (you can feel the coils!). at 100 meters you have a brand new Ibis hotel for only 10€ more. There is Wi-Fi available (5P/1h, 10P/1day).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Air_Palma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Birmingham hotels

Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

We stayed at the CI for one night for a weekend jaunt in Birmingham. The hotel is close to New street station and all the shops (Broad street is a £8 taxi ride; we wasnt wearing walking shoes!).

The reception staff were friendly and very helpful. The room was a nice size with clean sheets, tea making facilities and a large bathroom (considering the age of the hotel). Those were the pros here are the cons - the room needed a good hoover, there was a slight shall we say 'mess' to be polite in the toilet and the window couldnt be opened (although due to the new street renovations outside this wasnt a problem).

Im not sure if I would stay here again but for the price we paid £30ish pound for the night it was good value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rockmylobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapelle, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
185 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I loved the bed, I slept well. Not noisy at all in the hotel. Continental breakfast was quite sober and I won't have mind if they would have heated up the heating a bit at the restaurant.

My colleague happened to meet the mouse, which she reported at the reception (she was on the 1 floor) and quite smoothly she got an upgraded room on the second floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have stayed here before and all is good. This time, I stayed in a room on the first floor. Before I went to bed, I saw a mouse came in and out of the room. And again In the middle of thd night, there're 3 mouses came in a room and ran around for a while before went out. I called the reception and he aware that there're mouses around. I am very disappointed in the way that they put customer into a room that they knew there is a problem. If you are going to stay there, make sure that you are not on the first floor.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suree007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Really did book this hotel last minute, in fact it was the night before and paid £26 for a double room. I booked the room through Otel.com.
The hotel itself is a 2 star hotel so I wasn't expecting much, so long as it was clean and tidy. Which it was in fact the smell of bleach in the bathroom was a little too strong, but it was very clean.
The mattress could do with an upgrade and the TV only had 2 channels' but we didn’t go to watch TV so it didn’t matter to us and also the remote didn’t work.
The room had tea and coffee,
Heating in the room had to be turned off, as it was far too hot, and lots of traffic noise from outside, even with the window closed.
Hotel staff are very friendly, some nice places to eat nearby and the shopping centre is really close.
They are doing work on New street station, so had to walk the long way round which only took a couple of minutes.
Didn’t have the breakfast as we ate at the train station on the way home.
Overall was happy with the amount we paid, and yes if I had to go back last minute I would stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Potty-Ottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leighton buzzard
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

well i would not reccomend this hotel if you are looking for a long stay (more than 3 nights).
i have stayed here twice for a night each when going to concerts in birmingham, very easy to find if you are traverlling by train as is right next to the station , birmingham new street. The hotel rooms had stained ceilings and carpets but its not very noticable if im honest.The receptionist and breakfast staff are all very nice and try and do there best. The breakfast is not the best, but there is alot of variety!!! the first time i stayed here there was 4 people so we both had double rooms and they were ok, the second time i stayed was with just 2 people(me and one other) we agan had a double room and was also ok. i can admit that we were quiet noisy as we were hyper coming back from a concert and there was no complaints (not saying that you should go to a hotel just to make a load of noise!!) at night can get very noisy from out side as train station and lik a warehouse type things dead oppisite and was very near the town center and alot of pubs/bars/restaurants.... bt overall a good hotel to stay at if only staying for one night , maybe two nights at the max!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7797lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
The Briar Rose Hotel
The Briar Rose Hotel
#24 of 116 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#57 of 116 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Birmingham

Property: Comfort Inn Birmingham
Address: Station Street, Birmingham B5 4DY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 116 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Comfort Inn Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Traditional Comfort Inn Birmingham City Centre is situated in prime position adjacent to Birmingham's New Street Train Station, With regular connections to the NEC and Birmingham's International Airport, the ICC, NIA and Symphony Hall are all within walking distance, you truly are in the heart of the City! The Famous Bullring centre is a 2 minutes walk away with all its major stores, with a wealth of restaurants, bars, theatres and attractions to suit every taste on our doorstep. The Comfort Inn makes for the perfect place to stay for both the business and leisure traveller. 40 well appointed en-suite bedrooms which are brightly decorated and comfortable, each with television, telephone, Wifi, trouser press and tea/coffee making facilities. The Station Bar is relaxed with large screen TV (Sky Sports) , light bars snacks & drink promotions not to be missed! The traditional Breakfast room offers both continental and Full English Breakfast which is freshly cooked to order.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Comfort Inn Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing