We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service is so poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
Ranked #73 of 119 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Location poor if you walk from Birmingham international and poor signposting for car drivers.
Any dealings with reception or enquiries is met with poor information, rudeness and unavailable managers.
Price is high and rating is too high for such rudeness.

Room Tip: Don't talk to the hotel, book on-line
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caw7778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Caw7778

Thank you for your comments.

You may not be aware that the hotel offers a courtesy shuttle service to and from and airport/station, which operates 24 hours per day. Information is available on our website. Those who choose to walk from the station can do so easily through the NEC complex, a 10 minute walk.

We regret you were disappointed with the level of service you received, which is very uncharacteristic for our team, however your feedback has been shared with the management team.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,593)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 5,593 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel. It was for my works Christmas conference. Stayed for 2 nights. Nice buffet laid on for us the first evening. Lovely room. I love the beds. So comfortable. I slept well. Great breakfast with good staff.
They know how to cater for the masses.
Very professional.
Hopefully see you again next year!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Abergirl10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Abergirl10

Thank you for your great feedback.

We're thrilled to know you had such an amazing stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Stayed at the Hotel (as I do every year) as part of The Latin Motion Salsa Group. Usually there are around 1,000 of us who descend on this Hotel August and New Year. The food, although expensive is great quality and the staff are always eager to please. the accommodation is great and so are the facilities

Room Tip: all the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenmaoudis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear stevenmaoudis

Thank you for your comments.

The Latin Motion event is hugely popular and we're delighted you always enjoy your stays with us and it's great to know you find our team always eager to please.

We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Spent just one night here, sad to leave, wish we could have stayed longer!
We're HHonors Diamond members and were pleased that they'd already given us a room upgrade when we got there!
Room was lovely, really big and with nice views over the lake. Bed comfy, good ac, nice bathroom with separate shower and bath, nothing to fault really!
Biggest advantage for us was the executive lounge, complimentary soft and hot drinks all day with alcohol and snacks served for a couple of hours in the evening! Also the breakfast in there was very good and very quiet. Only issue was the hot food wasn't very hot!
Downstairs bar area is huge, lots of comfy chairs and helpful staff.
We were going to walk over to Resorts World in the evening but decided to stay at the hotel instead as we liked it so much!
We'll be back!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear karensolihull

Thank you for providing your feedback.

We're so pleased you had such a great stay and had the opportunity to use our Executive Lounge.

Your comments regarding food temperature in the Executive Lounge has been shared with the Food & Beverage Manager and we apologise for any disappointment this caused.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Checked in for a business meeting. Very pleasant check in staff all but a little lengthy and an obscene price for parking for a delegate I went to my room which was one of the executive rooms. Rooms are very dated and in dire need of updating but it's a huge hotel and I do get that this is very costly to do. All being said it was clean and I slept very well. I'm just picky as I work for another hotel groups head office and know what I'm looking for and what to look for in all departments. Other than a little dated that's my only negative.

The restaurant food was absolutely amazing it really was good and everyone in my group said the same. I work for a hotel chain and know how difficult it is to turn out large amounts of food and still be of a high standard but this hotel has cracked it and it's a a credit to them.

The breakfast was fantastic with a huge selection. Again the choice was immense and cooked well.

Our meeting room was fine everything you expect and need. The conference staff were very good and on hand.

Our lunch was fantastic what's a choice of hot and cold foods and desserts.

I really wasn't expecting what I got from this hotel it exceeded expectations in every department. A credit to the General Manager, F&B Manager and C&E team. Seriously well done and please pass this well done to your teams.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Craig

Thank you for posting your review following your visit.

It's always pleasing to receive such positive feedback regarding the levels of service our team deliver - your comments will indeed be shared with all.

We do have plans for further refurbishment to our rooms and public areas in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

Stayed one night in this hotel, and I would definitely recommend. It's easily accessible from the airport or the NEC, and the rooms are spacious, clean and quiet. Bed is comfortable and the rooms are air-conditioned. Nothing wrong to say about my stay !

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Eric

Thank you for your review.

It's great to know you had such an enjoyable stay and let's hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Booked this hotel through holiday extras before our flight out the next day. Pre booked and paid for 3 course buffet dinner and buffet breakfast.
Arrived at the hotel and easy check in and first impression was wow. Clean foyer and gorgeous crystal chandeliers at reception.
Room was ready and we had been given a room in the executive suites area, very very nice. Very spacious and clean. Lovely view over the lake at the rear of the hotel.
Pool area inside looked lovely and inviting but we didn't use this although it was all complementary whilst staying at the hotel.
Went down for our meal which reception booked for us at time of check in thinking we would be having a buffet dinner but was a nice surprise to be in the al la carte restaurant. We were given a menu to choose from but we could pay a supplement for some of the dishes or just choose the inclusive dishes with no extra charge. The food was absolutely amazing. Starter and main delicious. We were given desert menu but these all had prices on. We had pre paid for 3 courses but as were we so full didn't ask why we would of had to pay for desert, we had no room anyhow.
Buffet breakfast next morning fantastic everything you could wish for and imagine was available.
Checked out and waited for free bus to airport.
Brilliant start to our amazing holiday celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary.
Would definitely stay here again and recommend.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S, General Manager at Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Leanne

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and give us a 5 star rating !

We're delighted you had such a fantastic stay with us and we hope it's not too long before we can welcome you back. Maybe next time you will have the opportunity to use our leisure facilities.

Kind regards

Patrick Stapleton
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
0.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
0.1 km away
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel
0.7 km away
Arden Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Genting Hotel
Genting Hotel
#6 of 119 in Birmingham
2,111 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
0.9 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel

Address: National Exhibition Centre, Birmingham B40 1PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#24 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: C$131 - C$518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 794
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Birmingham Metropole is a well-connected and easily accessible Hotel in walking distance to Birmingham International Station linking to Birmingham Airport. Regular complimentary shuttle ensures guests will only be minutes from the airport and railway station. Park & Fly options are available at the hotel. With a great location next to the National Exhibition Centre (NEC) and LG Arena, it is an ideal choice for attending events and fairs and from 2015 attending the Resorts World Complex with Casino, shopping outlets and Cinema. The hotel provides superior leisure facilities onsite with Ocean Rooms Spa, LivingWell Health club featuring Fitness Room, Indoor heated pool, Sauna and Steam room. Food and Beverage Outlets include two restaurants and a 24 hour Lounge Bar, with Room Service available all day long. Free Wifi is available in Public Areas. For those travelling as a family, enjoy dedicated family rooms accommodating 2 adults and 2 children as well as children-friendly amenities and services. Easily accessible by rail, road and air networks , the hotel is at the hub that connects Birmingham International Airport and the International Railway station with the M42, M6 and M40. Birmingham City Centre and Regional attractions such as Warwick Castle, Cadbury World and Stratford-upon-Avon are easily accessible. The hotel is also largest accommodation and convention centre outside London with 790 guest rooms and suites, 33 flexible function rooms for meeting and events from 2 to 2,000 people and an experience team. This is where it all happens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing