We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Angus Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$48
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$78
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$143
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Westmead Hotel(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bloc Hotel Birmingham(Birmingham)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$40
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$109
US$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$69
US$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
185
332
226
93
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
332
226
93
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscadbury worldcity centregroupon dealdrayton manorbusy roadsnow hill stationmin walkshort stayfull englishone night staywould stay againhotel barbreakfast was includedsaturday nightfamily roomself servicecomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 907 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last week and thought the hotel was of a great standard for a three star hotel, the rooms were clean and the staff were helpful especially the breakfast chef called ollie who took my order for my poached eggs which were the best I have ever had! Good location due to being able to get straight on the motorway, its walking distance to city centre and train station if needed. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Dear Laura

Many thanks for your 5 star review of our hotel. I am really pleased that you had a great stay and enjoyed our closeness to Birmingham City.

I have already passed your kind comments on to Ollie our breakfast chef who is delighted you enjoyed your breakfast.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Found a cheap deal on an Internet site where hotel looked good. We needed a place to stay to break up a trip from Edinburgh to London so the location was great but not much else was.

Uninterested staff greeted us and in asking about the car park we were given scant details and ended up looping round the block three times before finding the entrance to a grubby NCP car park which was an extra £16.50 even with a special hotel discount. Signs told us to park on the uncovered top floors and we had to drag luggage down a smelly staircase for four floors.

The room was small for a double and the bed was tiny. I spent most of the night with a leg hanging over the side.

The room also smelled vaguely of smoke and wasn't the cleanest with a great deal of noise from the busy road outside. The shower emitted barely a dribble and to add insult to injury we discovered there was only a small hand towel in the room. On discovering this I asked for towels at reception only to get the third degree - had I checked all the drawers and were they in the wardrobe? Yes and no respectively.

We paid an extra twenty quid for breakfast which was continental buffet style (no butter available) which was nice however hot breakfast food supposedly made to order from the kitchen was served suspiciously quickly delivering dry, solid bacon and sausages which must have been sat under a heat lamp for at least a week.

So after lugging our luggage back up the smelly staircase back to the car we got out of Dodge but not before answering "Great!" in response to the receptionists' question: "How was your stay?". Maybe this is a British thing or me wanting to avoid conflict and trying be painfully polite but maybe I should set the record straight.

So, in summary. Not great.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank broonkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at The Royal Angus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2012

Thank you very much for offering feedback following your recent stay.

Please be assured that I have already passed your comments on to the car park operators for them to investigate.

There is a foot bridge linked to the hotel from the car park which avoids you having to use the external stairs and I am sorry that you were not made aware of this.

I am also sorry that you did not pass your comments and feedback on to our receptionist on check out as we could have had an opportunity to make things better for you and avoid having to offer such feedback once departed.

I would really like an opportunity to talk direct with you and would really appreciate it if you could contact me through the hotel to discuss further.

Kind regards
Mark Kelly
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2012

i have had lunch in the restaurant here on two occassions and have had great food, attentive service (without being overpowering) and would definately recommend it.
interestingly the chef is gluten & lactose intollerant which means they actually understand what this means!!
i brought along a journalist friend who is gluten intolerant who commented that it was a pleasure to eat here as there were so many choices.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We booked this hotel for four of us on a stag do, on a stags and hens package which was very well hidden away on the hotel website. For this we got a great price for two nights including breakfast. I recommend anyone thinking of using this as a base for this kind of occasion should try to find the same deal, if available.

Hotel is not situated right among the bars and restaurants in the centre of the city, but it's a 20-30 minute walk away or a short taxi hop. There are still some places to eat and drink nearby and it's close to Snow Hill station. Some of our group were on the side of the hotel by the main road, which can be a little noisy - ask for a room at the back and you get a much worse view (the multi-storey car park) but a much quieter night. Take your pick.

Breakfast was very good, especially for a few people slightly worse for wear, with a good choice of hot buffet (all the usual items plus omelettes to order), porridge, toast, cereals, fruit and continental selection. Staff were pretty helpful although on the second day we had to wait a while for tea and coffee - they could have also been slightly quicker to replenish the hot buffet. These are minor quibbles, though.

Bar prices were expensive - I wouldn't bother as there are much cheaper places to drink in town - though as part of our package we did get 25% off these and the restaurant. We didn't use the latter, preferring to eat in town due to stag activities. Receptionist on check in/out was approachable enough, perhaps slightly bored-looking, but not unfriendly.

Overall this was pretty good value for the price we paid. The rooms were clean and comfortable with reasonably good toiletries in the bathroom, and you can't say fairer than that.

Room Tip: Better views at the front, quieter rooms at the back.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dm1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Good location just off the main A38. Rooms very clean and generally good standard. However the check in was painfully slow and the restuarant staff completely forgot to come and take an order. The was somewhat redeemed by fast checkout but poor service did spoil an otherwise satisfactory stay

Room Tip: Ask to face away from the main road
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahweb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews