We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A new regular”

Hen and Chickens PH
Ranked #103 of 2,537 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue, Indian, Pub, Grill
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 5, 2018

Was in Birmingham for work and had this place recommended by a local - it did not disappoint.

Am usually reluctant to return to the same place, but went here on three consecutive nights.

Good beer, friendly service, and fantastic (and freshly prepared) food. Had the jalfrezi one night, dopiaza the next, and the famous mixed grill (a selection of tandoori meats) the last night. None of it was anything less than great.

Was slightly seduced by the bar staff remembering my name after the first visit, but either way cannot argue with the quality of the food.

Although I live in London, I'm often in Birmingham to see the Villa play. Have now vowed to get an earlier train to each game so I can go to this place beforehand.

Very satisfied customer.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KernowRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 909 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Once again fantastic meal in fabulous setting. Cannot fault this place. Management and staff always polite.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank pitstop44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We visited On a busy Saturday (I believe they operate on a 2 sitting basis). We arrive at 8pm and were quickly shown to our table in a rear room with a separate bar, a good vibe and comfortable.

Between the 4 of us we ordered the large mixed grill starter along with a main each breads and rice.

The mixed grill was excellent, plenty of it and spicy where it needed to be. Quickly followed by mains all very well spiced and very enjoyable. The lamb saag being a real highlight. I am assured the madras also “did a job”

Plenty to drink, total bill in the £35 per head region. All in all a real gem.

All staff encountered were both friendly and helpful.

Be aware if you are on the last sitting you are being asked to finish drinks and meal by 10.30-10.45

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Seanoduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Told we were going to be seated in one of the rooms, to be later placed by the door otherwise we would have to wait an hour, even though we had booked, so not the best start....Had drink spilled on me from the table adjacent, it took them an age to clean it up. The food....in all honesty it was fine, wasn’t bad for the price. Couldn’t eat it all and you can take it away if you want. Would I go back? Yes. They are very busy and it’s understandable that they can’t always be perfect.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Reebak123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 30, 2018 via mobile

Popped in on good Friday for a beer and some food. Great selection of drinks and the food is so fresh and plentiful. We have now found our new favourite in Brum.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Stew_Gordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hen and Chickens PH also viewed

Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Hen and Chickens PH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing