We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,161)
Filter reviews
1,161 results
Traveller rating
417
471
164
70
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
417
471
164
70
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wetherspoons pub luxury room city centre new street station bottled water german market nice room central birmingham single room train station christmas market great central location few minutes walk good size saturday night tea and coffee making facilities reception staff
Filter
Updating list...
715 - 720 of 1,161 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2015

This may not be a five star hotel but the service I recieved, from the moment I arrived to check in, to each time I was served a meal or a drink was superb. Polite, friendly and helpful - could not ask for more. Stayed in the single ensuite - a bit noisy at times at night with the recycling of bottles nearby (and boy, did it sound like a lot of bottles!) but its primarily a pub so to be expected. fantastic room rates. comfy room, snug and clean. lovely big bathroom and everything I needed including iron, ironing board and hairdryer. I would recommend this hotel for stopovers, or city breaks and would definately stay here again. As I was travelling alone on business the service of the staff stood out a mile. Thank you to all.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank PauloBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2015

Dear PauloBristol,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review, it is always nice to hear such great feedback about our staff and the service you received.

We are glad to you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Many thanks.

The Briar Rose Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2015

The reception was pleasant and efficient. The Room very clean and everything conducive to a good nights sleep.
Pity about the constant fan noise outside – one of their very good beers at the bar helped.
Breakfast good value.


  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank FranzKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2015

Dear FranzKC,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave your review.

It is excellent to see you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff pleasant.

Thank you again and kind regards,

The Briar Rose Hotel Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 17, 2015

The Briar Rose is ideally positioned to ensure easy access by foot to everything you may wish to visit in Birmingham and there is a lot! Hotel offers pleasant and efficient staff, clean rooms and a hassle free stay.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2015

Dear Linda D,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review.

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Many thanks.

The Briar Rose Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2015

Never stayed in a Wetherspoons hotel before but can say that it was a pleasant experience and like the pubs delivers excellent value for money. Room was beautifully presented and clean, staff welcoming and very helpful.
Best hotel shower I've ever seen, nearly knocked me over.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank russk611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Hello russk611,

Thank you kindly for your review.

Here at The Briar Rose Hotel we are very proud of our good value for money.

Thank you also for the lovely compliment towards our staff.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

The Briar Rose Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2015

good location staff friendly and ideal for a city centre stay rooms are a decent size
beds are OK however i was allocated a 5th floor room facing the street wich was very noisy until apps 12.30 am i was working on the Sunday so perhaps in hindsight i should have requested another room
plenty of stuff on hand cheap food and bar etc was a little hacked off that you could not charge meals / drinks etc to my room but an explanation was given all in all good value hotel and club / pub noises aside - good locatio

Room Tip: rear room best for sleep
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rick582015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2015

Hi There rick582015,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to leave your review.

I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and am happy to tell you, specific rooms can be requested to ensure you get the best nights sleep out of your stay.

I am glad our central location was to your liking and hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind Reagrds,

The Briar Rose Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews