We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
174
110
59
21
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
110
59
21
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park shopping park drayton manor star city one night stopover vegetarian sausages easy access night stay all you can eat very comfortable stay hotel is modern rooms were very clean hash browns a lot of noise sat nav family room visiting the nec
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 391 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We stayed at the Fort Dunlop Travel Lodge on Friday 24th August. The dining room was cold and inhospitable so we took our food to the room - totally uninspiring.
In the morning on the way to breakfast we got stuck in the lift. No one answered the alarm, but we managed to force the door open and went down 10 flights of stairs to report it.
Reception said they had heard no alarm so we asked to see the manager as we thought it was a serious health and safety issue - we were given her number as she was off site - so only one young receptionist in charge ?
Anyway, the manager was rude and un receptive, shouted my wife down, insisted there could be no problem with the lifts as they were tested weekly - in essence said we were liars and implied we were only after a refund.
We wrote to the chief executive who passed us on to someone who promised to get back to us and never has.
Then reading Tripadvisor found two previous issues of lift failure - in a new and supposedly flag ship hotel - so there is a real lift issue
Our only other Travel lodge experience was when we booked into Bath, were told there was no room and could stay in Bristol and only got our money back after fierce complaints at Head Office - again reading TripAdvisor found this was common practice to get occupany rates up.
An organisation which keeps costs/staffing to a minimum and has more interest in profitability than customer satisfaction - avoid at all costs

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Birmingham Fort Dunlop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Birmingham Fort Dunlop hotel.

We are sorry to learn of your recent experience.

We understand that you have submitted a complaint to our CEO's office and a response will have been sent by a representative.

Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

On arrival the reception women were nice and helpful when asking where was nice to go for a meal. From about 9pm throughout the night there was screaming, shouting, doors slamming from the room next to us and the one next to that from what could only be described as “kids” it wouldn’t of been so bad if it was just my partner and I but we had our 1 year old daughter with us and she was awake most of the night because of this! People are very inconsiderate and whilst I don’t expect it to be silent I don’t expect what we experienced either. As we were leaving there was a strong smell of cannabis in the corridor coming from what seemed like the same rooms that were causing the noise! Not a pleasant night stay due to these issues!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jhewick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Molly from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Birmingham Fort Dunlop, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear that you were disrupted by noise levels during your stay.

We do have staff patrolling the corridors every 2 – 3 hours, and if other customers are making noise that may cause disruption to our guest’s, we have procedures in place to intervene with this.

However we apologise if we were unsuccessful in ensuring you a peaceful stay on this occasion.

If you wish to contact us directly so that we can discuss your experience further, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team via our website.

All customer feedback is valuable to us, so thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We stayed for two nights in a room on the 1st floor. The Travelodge is easy to find and has a small car park outside that is free. Fort Dunlop is a modern office block and if the Travelodge car park is full you use the Fort Dunlop car park. The exit token is validated by the hotel so either way its free.
We were visiting Drayton Manor for Thomas Land which is only 25 minutes or so away.
The room was very comfortable and plenty of room for 2 adults and a 3 year old. The extra bed was very comfortable. The room had tea and coffee facilities etc. The water pressure in the shower was pretty poor but this is normal!
The breakfast was £8.50 per adult and free for children. Buffet style and all you can eat. Lots to choose from but the idea is better than the execution. It all looks lovely but like previous reviewers, the bacon had every ounce of moisture removed and was rather hard. The hash browns were positively soggy and the scrambled egg…….. A member of staff had given it all a bit of a poke whilst we were sat having ours but nothing fresh came out so that seems to be the norm. Don’t get me wrong, this is a far cry from the “breakfast bag” you used to get but for around £10 we got toast, 2 bacon rolls and 2 drinks at the next door Costa which were freshly made. (There is also a Londis and a Subway next door.)
There is a large shopping centre just up the road with places to eat and a Sainsbury in the other direction so you’re not far from civilisation.
The staff in the hotel were all very friendly and welcoming.
We would certainly stay again if we are in the area.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank iwantatwingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

Currently still here room 104 at the hotel not overly impressed with the hotel this is our third night.

Where do I start the car park is a nightmare full of commercial vans bigger than the spaces and if you can be lucky enough to get a space onsite good luck not having your doors damaged from the vans.
If no parking is available then you have to go across the road into the massive workers car park which is absolutely rammed when you go to get you car in the morning doesn’t feel safe either. But the hotel with validate your token for free parking in the morning.

Staff that we have met have been friendly and helpful.

First night went to go for dinner down stairs again no offence to the guys loud shouting drinking with tv blaring a radio station so we felt uncomfortable and left went out for dinner, not a good atmosphere with young kids.
The rooms are basic beds not overly comfortable but will do and not clean we had two cigarette packet left in our main bin, under the bedside cabinet cobwebs and mess from coffee stains etc.
We purchased breakfast for every morning first day was terrible hash browns like plastic, bacon like it had to cremated almost cancelled next two days if we didn’t have the kids here we would of gone elsewhere.

For £50 a night very disappointed should of paid the £3 extra for a premier inn.
I would expect £35-£40 max for this place.

We came back to Travelodge as friends said they was much better and improved in every way but I beg to differ. Unless we have just been very unfortunate.

I work within the Coach industry and stay in hotels a lot think I shall go with Premier inn or Holiday inn express fromnow on more value for money.

This may sound harsh but it’s just our experience here at Fort Dunlop Travelodge on a three night stay. 29th Aug - 1st Sept 2018

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank lee t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Shaf from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Birmingham Fort Dunlop, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Thank you for submitting your review of our Birmingham Fort Dunlop Travelodge.

We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay.

May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel.

Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018

Driving from Doncaster, found site very easily. Parking free, via coin from Travellodge. Decided to travel into Birmingham Centre, by bus. Walked to bus stop and in. The hotel is next to Jaguar factory, all those beautiful vehicles Anyway back to hotel, clean, quiet location, easy access to M6. Good visit

Stayed: June 2018
Thank stephen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews