We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (392)
Filter reviews
392 results
Traveller rating
175
110
59
21
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
110
59
21
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park shopping park drayton manor star city one night stopover vegetarian sausages easy access night stay all you can eat very comfortable stay hotel is modern rooms were very clean hash browns a lot of noise sat nav family room visiting the nec
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 392 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay at the Travelodge. I slept like a dead baby it was so comfortable. However, the noise pollulation from the air field place whatever it was, was loud! However, excellent service and comfort totally made up for this!

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank shaheenpatwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Booked an accessible room as disabled and received an e-mail stating I could park in the car park opposite and then get my token validated and not have to pay. This seemed fine until we got there and discoverde we had to go down several steps and across a road then through their on site free car park carrying our luggage. On mentioning this at reception we were told oh yes we now have our car park but it isn`t on the web site now. The thing is I didn`t get the info from the web site I was e-mailed direct from Travelodge the day before travelling. They knew I was disabled and they had an accessible on site car park but still told me to use the other car park. Once inside the rest of our stay was lovely. Shame about the parking.

Room Tip: Room was lovely and had everything we needed.
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davetno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2018

We stayed at the Fort Dunlop Travel Lodge on Friday 24th August. The dining room was cold and inhospitable so we took our food to the room - totally uninspiring.
In the morning on the way to breakfast we got stuck in the lift. No one answered the alarm, but we managed to force the door open and went down 10 flights of stairs to report it.
Reception said they had heard no alarm so we asked to see the manager as we thought it was a serious health and safety issue - we were given her number as she was off site - so only one young receptionist in charge ?
Anyway, the manager was rude and un receptive, shouted my wife down, insisted there could be no problem with the lifts as they were tested weekly - in essence said we were liars and implied we were only after a refund.
We wrote to the chief executive who passed us on to someone who promised to get back to us and never has.
Then reading Tripadvisor found two previous issues of lift failure - in a new and supposedly flag ship hotel - so there is a real lift issue
Our only other Travel lodge experience was when we booked into Bath, were told there was no room and could stay in Bristol and only got our money back after fierce complaints at Head Office - again reading TripAdvisor found this was common practice to get occupany rates up.
An organisation which keeps costs/staffing to a minimum and has more interest in profitability than customer satisfaction - avoid at all costs

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Birmingham Fort Dunlop, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Birmingham Fort Dunlop hotel.

We are sorry to learn of your recent experience.

We understand that you have submitted a complaint to our CEO's office and a response will have been sent by a representative.

Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

On arrival the reception women were nice and helpful when asking where was nice to go for a meal. From about 9pm throughout the night there was screaming, shouting, doors slamming from the room next to us and the one next to that from what could only be described as “kids” it wouldn’t of been so bad if it was just my partner and I but we had our 1 year old daughter with us and she was awake most of the night because of this! People are very inconsiderate and whilst I don’t expect it to be silent I don’t expect what we experienced either. As we were leaving there was a strong smell of cannabis in the corridor coming from what seemed like the same rooms that were causing the noise! Not a pleasant night stay due to these issues!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jhewick92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Molly from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Birmingham Fort Dunlop, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear that you were disrupted by noise levels during your stay.

We do have staff patrolling the corridors every 2 – 3 hours, and if other customers are making noise that may cause disruption to our guest’s, we have procedures in place to intervene with this.

However we apologise if we were unsuccessful in ensuring you a peaceful stay on this occasion.

If you wish to contact us directly so that we can discuss your experience further, please be aware that you can always contact our Customer Services team via our website.

All customer feedback is valuable to us, so thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

We stayed for two nights in a room on the 1st floor. The Travelodge is easy to find and has a small car park outside that is free. Fort Dunlop is a modern office block and if the Travelodge car park is full you use the Fort Dunlop car park. The exit token is validated by the hotel so either way its free.
We were visiting Drayton Manor for Thomas Land which is only 25 minutes or so away.
The room was very comfortable and plenty of room for 2 adults and a 3 year old. The extra bed was very comfortable. The room had tea and coffee facilities etc. The water pressure in the shower was pretty poor but this is normal!
The breakfast was £8.50 per adult and free for children. Buffet style and all you can eat. Lots to choose from but the idea is better than the execution. It all looks lovely but like previous reviewers, the bacon had every ounce of moisture removed and was rather hard. The hash browns were positively soggy and the scrambled egg…….. A member of staff had given it all a bit of a poke whilst we were sat having ours but nothing fresh came out so that seems to be the norm. Don’t get me wrong, this is a far cry from the “breakfast bag” you used to get but for around £10 we got toast, 2 bacon rolls and 2 drinks at the next door Costa which were freshly made. (There is also a Londis and a Subway next door.)
There is a large shopping centre just up the road with places to eat and a Sainsbury in the other direction so you’re not far from civilisation.
The staff in the hotel were all very friendly and welcoming.
We would certainly stay again if we are in the area.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank iwantatwingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews