We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent quality food and service”

Lasan Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #44 of 2,344 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$28 - US$70
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Ladywood
Description: Lasan is synonymous with exquisite cuisine that teases the senses and stirs the soul, delivering the true essence of India in all its glory. Experience how sublime Indian food really can be at Gordon Ramsay's Best Local Restaurant in the UK.
Reviewed 28 August 2017

We visited here for a birthday celebration and could not fault anything. The service is of high quality with a personalised touch ( being greeted by name and invited to have a pre dinner drink whilst looking at the superb menu) Attention to detail is constant and food is so delicious and well presented. The vegetarian starter for two is so tasty , chicken jalfrezi and cauliflower main was a well recommended dish. Tastebuds are tantalised with the expert mix of spices. A kind touch of a birthday dessert was also much appreciated - very much recommend to others !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank darren m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasanGRP_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Lasan Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Darren,

Thank you so much for choosing to celebrate your birthday at Lasan - it's such a delight to hear your dining experience was such a pleasurable one. Hope you'll be visiting us soon to sample the new menu and redesigned interior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2017

The food was faultless, delicious and beautifully presented. It isn't cheap but is definitely good value for a special occasion.

However, we were situated on the mezzanine area and the air con was cold. Our table was booked for 8:30 as there was no earlier availability. We had a 10 minute wait to be seated at the table while we perused the menu. Service was good with just enough time between each course. However, just as we finished our main course the music was turned off and most people were leaving. We felt a bit rushed and people were sweeping the floor! We were told they close at 10:30 on Sundays. For this reason I would book well in advance for an earlier time as it did spoil our visit slightly. I would also request a table on the ground floor.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Medsec7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasanGRP_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Lasan Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Medsec,

Thank you for choosing Lasan and for taking the time to give us your kind feedback on the dining experience. We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed the food so much and sincerely sorry for the discomfort caused by the air con and the service issues. We hope this hasn't put you off visiting us again, especially now we've redesigned the interior and menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

Went here after a five year gap and it's still as excellent as ever. Service was great and not rushed along with good advice about what to order.

We chose the soft shell crab and Haleem both of which were excellent especially the haleem which for me was one of the best I've had. For mains we had the lamb and paya. The lamb was really the standout dish of the evening and I could eat over and over again.

Dessert was the Kaffir sorbet type of thing and the wife was also raving about that.

They are closing for a few weeks for a complete refurb and the manager was saying the menu is also having a revamp. Will definitely look to go back when it's done.

6  Thank shan4179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LasanGRP_Manager, Guest Relations Manager at Lasan Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Shan,

We're so happy to hear your dining experience was such a great one! Thank you for visiting us again and for taking the time to write this wonderful review. The refurbishment is now finished and we have an amazing new menu for you to pamper your taste buds with. Here's to having the pleasure of your company again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile

I visited Lasan to celebrate a relatives birthday.
The restaurant staff were very friendly and welcoming.
We were given complimentary starters to begin.
I had Mixed Meat Sharing Platter to start and Kakkar Makhani (Chicken Tikka) for my main course. Both dishes were excellent.
I would definitely recommend this restaurant and would be very happy to visit again

6  Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Will defo recommend. Good food good service the resturant is layer out perfectly well if you ask me I will defo go back

6  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lasan Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Birmingham, West Midlands
Birmingham, West Midlands
 

Been to Lasan Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing