We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“non plus dazed staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coombe Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Coventry
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“non plus dazed staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

stayed here on business (and have done so in the past at their sister hotel in the North East) they do create a medieval atmosphere and the feeling of a bygone age, its just a pity that the staff mostly dont seem aware of this, and behave, in my opinion, dis-interested and completely bored with their jobs....... Im not sure whether its because the hotel is large or whether the management transmit an arrogance, but staying in this style of hotel should be an experience not just an overnight B&B......... I ate both evenings in the restaurant and it was almost like I had shocked the staff who seemed totally surprised to see a person turn up to eat (as if it was the first night of opening)! The food was quite good, very expensive and the main courses the size of a starter but otherwise fine. However it did seem a little odd to be charged more for the soup from the table d`ote than from the a la carte, I asked why but no answer was forthcoming from the waitress and no-one follwed it up either by telephoning my room or at check-out.......... Breakfast was good but again no real welcome, just someone standing around waiting to be approached by guests rather than the other way around. I am dis-abled and the hotel only has one parking space which is very narrow and i could not park my car and get out of the vehicle because of the stone pillars on either side, there was a great space just to the right of this but was told it was reserved for the owners Mercedes........ I rest my case, and had to duly park some distance away in the car park field, I wasn`t even asked if i wanted to leave my bags before re-parking, quite amazing.......The girl on reception however was very efficient and asked if she could reserve a table in the restaurant and continued to explain everything required at check in. The room was fine a little dark but great comfortable bed and good TV.The only further point I would like to mention that upon returning after work on day 2 I called at reception to ask for my ker and to ask if they would again reserve a table for me for dinner, only to be told by a more mature lady who should infact know better that the restaurant was over to the right and they would deal with me............... quite apalling, especially since there was absolutely no one around in the resaturant . I know this is a small detail but one which determines whether along with the other points previously mentionedwhether I stay again or indeed recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,565
    629
    273
    106
    82
See reviews for
382
1,312
22
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Recently married at Coombe Abbey and it could not have been lovelier. The staff was extremely professional and attention to detail was superb. You really could not ask for a better venue for that special occasion. Abbeygate was just excellent for the ceremony and looked magical, Cloisters was regal for the wedding breakfast and transformed into a suitable evening venue in which to dance the night away. We could just have done with a few more seats in Cloisters Bar for those who wanted sit and talk. The Lindley Suite was perfect for entertaining on the night before, however wardrobe space was limited, and the furnishings though, were just extraordinary for those pre-wedding photographs. The wedding planners Jo and Katie really helped prior to the day and John made the day run smoothly. So fantastic I want to do it all again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gruman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I enjoyed afternoon tea with three other girlfriends and then we stayed overnight in the main part of the hotel. The afternoon tea was very pleasant, staff were friendly and helpful with regular top ups of tea and coffee as required. It was very busy but this gave the atmosphere a nice buzz and didn't seem to affect the level of service. The hotel inself looks beautiful from the outside and is set in lovely grounds with a lake and formal gardens as well as country park and this was a real bonus. We enjoyed strolling around the grounds in both the evening and the following morning. Inside, the hotel is decorated to look gothic, although a member of staff revealed that the main building was only constructed in 1991! They've done a very good job of making it look authentic. The hotel does tend to keep it's lighting levels very low; it adds to the sense of being gothic but sometimes the lighting is rather dim. The new bedroom wing of the hotel (built in 2005) is a modern red brick building from the outside but inside is decorated in a very similar manner to the main hotel. If you can stretch to it go for a grand feature room, really very, very nice! Breakfast was the usual buffet style affair and had a good range of everything you could want. A very enjoyable stay. All the staff were very friendly and helpful with the exception of the bar staff who for some reason were the opposite. One word of warning, we stayed on a Saturday night and they had three weddings and a medieval banquet going on at the same time. The noise levels in the hotel were quite noisy until the early hours of the morning - if a quiet stay is very important you may want to check what they have going on or ask where the quietest rooms are likely to be.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JiveHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

Where do i begin, myself and my fiance went for an overnight stay. I booked the romance special which included a 3 course meal and flowers, champagne, chocolates on arrival. As soon as you drive up the long drive the hotel looks very grand, an impression which only increases as you walk accross the moat to reception. The room was a good size with a very grand 4 poster bed, the bathroom was a good size with a nice shower (no issues with water pressure or temperature).

The champagne was very nice, the flowers were beautiful and still look stunning sat on our dining table, the choclates were very nice but alas there were only four in the box :+( We went for a walk around the grounds which were stunning and then had a Pimms and Lemonade on the patio (long walk from the bar to the patio). Relaxed in the room for a bit and then got ready for dinner.

Dinner was amazing, the food was fantastic and very well presented. The service was superb and i would recommend that everyone eats here whether a guest or just if you're passing by. Breakfast was also very good, a nice cooked breakfast with the normal choice of pastries, cereal, fruit or whatever else you may fancy.

Then our only complaint, the bed, it was awful, it sloped to the middle and at one stage during the night i was actually assaulted by my partner after rolling on to her. I managed a few hours sleep alas she didn't get any.

I would give Coombe Abbey another try as the hotel and food were top drawer. However if you are thinking about staying there make sure you avoid room 209, and its rubbish bed!!!

Room Tip: Avoid room 209, a very uncomfortable bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HatfieldBandit08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Unfortunately, I do not agree with any of the great reviews. The Hotel is yes very idylic and beautiful with beautiful surrounding greenery/plantation. But when inside the property its just so dark it's almost dingey. I know the hotel has been made to look old, but when in out Feature Room neither our heating nor our bath was working. Our room was almost ridiculously dark and also a lot of the lights were not working - so that didn't help. As mentioned we had paid extra for 2 nights for a a feature room - and that feature was a very high and uncomfortable 4 poster bed! It's a real shame because I travel to the Midlands a lot and was expecting a lot more than what I got for the money I paid. Frankly, after the experience I fel should have booked in to a Premier Inn (in comparision Coombe Abbey wasn't far off - food and experience was all very standard). It definitely did not feel like a 4 or 5 star hotel, but as said the grounds are breath taking and for a wedding I can only imagine the beautiful photos one would get.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sienna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We had our wedding at the hotel in May 2012 and it was a truly beautiful day. The hotel and grounds are spectacular - full of history with a mix of styles from gothic to baroque with such a warm and inviting ambience throughout. The service staff and the events team are very approachable, on the day as well as leading up to our wedding day everything was dealt with very personally. I am so happy that we found this beautiful wedding venue and we had a magical day.
For additional bits the feature rooms are all amazing and the afternoon tea is delicious!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the grounds/maze have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed four nights in this lovely hotel. This hotel is so atmospheric, wonderful decor, flower arrangements everywhere, and subdued lighting. Our classic room was lovely and spotlessly clean. All the staff were warm and friendly. This is a very busy hotel with lots of conferences and weddings taking place. However the place is so big with so many different rooms and areas that this in no way detracts staying here for a lovely relaxing time. The restaurant is superb, the staff very pleasant and helpful and the food - worth every penny. Very, very enjoyable. Would definitely like to stay again sometime.

Room Tip: As far as I make out all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mon067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coventry
31.0 km away
New Hall Hotel & Spa
New Hall Hotel & Spa
#2 of 10 in Sutton Coldfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
4.0 km away
Macdonald Ansty Hall
Macdonald Ansty Hall
#5 of 39 in Coventry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
11.9 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Coventry Windmill Village Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
39.3 km away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
7.8 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coombe Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coombe Abbey Hotel

Property: Coombe Abbey Hotel
Address: Brinklow Road | Binley, Coventry CV3 2AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coventry
#2 Romantic Hotel in Coventry
#3 Business Hotel in Coventry
#4 Family Hotel in Coventry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coombe Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Coombe Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coombe Abbey Coventry
Hotel Coombe Abbey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing