We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place for a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Avisford Park
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
7Oaks
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A wonderful place for a weekend break”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was our second weekend stay at the Avisford Park and it didn't disappoint. Our room had a view over the 18 hole golf course, it was clean, comfortable and spacious with all the usual amenities of a Hilton room. The public rooms were also well looked after. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. We were very happy with both the dinner and buffet breakfast selections, preparation and presentation.
It is a country house hotel that used to be a prep school and probably something else before that and I am glad that the character of the original building has been retained, for example the names of the schoolboys on the panelled walls in the dining room are quite charming.
A car is essential to visit Arundel, Chichester or any other of the local places of interest. Our favourite is Bosham, just dont park your car on the foreshore unless it can convert to a boat.
We will happily go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm5823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your second stay in February 2012.

We were delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We were glad to note that the standard of accommodation, meals and cleanliness throughout the hotel all met with your satisfaction. We pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were pleased to note that this was your experience.

The hotel is indeed steeped with history; next time you visit we will be pleased to provide you with a copy of the hotel’s history to take home with you.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your feedback – particularly the warning about Bosham!

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    595
    518
    275
    147
See reviews for
418
899
43
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Quite a tired and worn hotel by Hilton standards. The staff there were exceptionally friendly and helpful though - massive plus point.

Reasonably priced overall. Our TV didn't work properly, which was our only real grumble about the room and we don't watch much TV so it didn't really matter to us. Breakfast was a very good buffet. Hmmm.. the gym wasn't so good. There's a tiny free weights section which is too cramped for more than one person to exercise at a time. The cardio machines were ok, but again lacked a bit of space. The pool was fine, but again quite small which is probably a bit of a problem if you have kids.

Also be warned if you're planning a trip into Arundel and aren't wanting to drive. Taxis there are quite expensive! £15 there and £8 return... (the hotel is on a dual carriageway so the taxi has to go a good mile or two in the wrong direction!).

Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malvinos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in February 2012.

We were pleased to note that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us and in particular enjoyed the breakfast and found our team members exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Your comments regarding the gym have been noted and also the problems you experienced with your TV. Had this been reported at the time, we would have endeavoured to remedy this for you.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments, and we hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We went for a second stay at this wonderful hotel, and were not disappointed. I am amazed to read IslandGirl had complaint after complaint. I stay in many many hotels, and the staff here are superb. We found nothing but friendliness and excellent service. OK it's not a top London hotel and the rooms are not huge, but for the price the quality of service and food is top class. Well done Avisford Park - we shall certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your second stay in February 2012.

We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found, in particular, the quality of food and service top class.

It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and we appreciate you taking the time provide your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Avisford Park again soon.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

3 miles outside of Arundel 'town' centre (which is beautiful with a lovely river walk). Very friendly and helpful staff. Above average breakfast for a hotel. Clean and has very comfortable beds. Slight issue with hot water, but the staff went over and above to rectify and ensure our stay was comfortable. Would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Probably worth upgrading to a Deluxe if you want a bit more space, but there wasn't a huge diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicolakmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in January 2012.

We were pride ourselves on being a friendly and professional team and were glad to note that this was your experience particularly when addressing a slight issue with hot water.

We were also pleased to note that you found the hotel clean and beds comfortable and enjoyed our Hilton breakfast.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments and we do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to Avisford Park in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech
Level Contributor
174 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

A country house style hotel with a good golf course and swimming pool and spa etc. The rooms were well equipped if not outstanding. A car is essential as its out in the wilds. The restaurant menu was a little to fancy for my taste. Breakfast particularly the hot selection was very uninspiring - unevenly cooked bacon - greasy sausages - over large mushrooms - the cold meat was already curling at 8am.
The usual Hilton problems prevail - overpriced internet and films - poor selection of film channels.
The staff, however, were consistently polite friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: upgrading to an "Executive" room is a waste of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in January 2012.

We were pleased to note that the standard of accommodation was to your satisfaction and you found our team members consistently polite, friendly and helpful.

It was disappointing to note that the quality of some of the breakfast items fell short of your expectations. Your comments have been shared with the Restaurant Manager who will more closely monitor this area to ensure the requisite standards are being achieved.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your constructive feedback.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tenterden
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Just stayed at Avisford park for their New years' Eve gala dinner & dance. What a brilliant night, real champagne & canapes at reception. String quartet played during reception, Piper piped us in, live band and disco - both really good, piper at midnight. Great quality 5 course dinner, well presented, well cooked and hot which is pretty good going for 125 people. Plenty of effort made into making banqueting hall look good. Great friendly staff - (even at breakfast on New years day). Whilst the fabric of the hotel is looking a little tired, the staff and overall atmosphere more than made up for it. Great fun, great value, far better than we thought off for a UK Hilton.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in December 2011.

We were delighted to read that you had a brilliant night with us for the New Year’s Eve celebrations and enjoyed all aspects of the evening from the champagne reception to the midnight piper!

We were also pleased that you found our staff friendly at all times.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your positive feedback and hope that you will visit us again in the future.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, Essex
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

OK, so a Hilton is a Hilton anywhere in the world, but the Avisford Park seems to get most things right most of the time. The deluxe rooms are a nice size, the beds are comfortable, there is a decent size television and the bathrooms are fine. The setting is exceptional for a Hilton: lovely park land and a nice little golf course in the grounds. This was our fourth visit and we have always found the staff pleasant and accomodating; even though we did disgrace ourselves by managing to destroy a pillow (don't ask how!) we were allowed to get away without paying - not something I would recommend future guests trying out, but still a nice touch.

Although the hotel was very busy with Christmas parties and other lively celebrations, our room on the first floor was very quiet - a good tip is to ask for a room as far away from the entrance as possible, unless you want to enjoy the festivities from close hand.

We haven't eaten diiner there but breakfast is good, especially if you get a table with a view of the gardens.

Downsides - the bedrooms can get very hot at night if you don't turn the radiators down and wifi access is expensive and pretty unreliable for those who can't live without their laptop or ipad. But overall it's a comfortable place for a few days enjoying the delights of Arundel, Chichester and West Sussex and Brighton is only 30/40 minutes away.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are definitely nicer than standard ones and those at the end of the wings will be a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiefWeasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Avisford_Park, General Manager at Hilton Avisford Park, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for completing a review about Hilton Avisford Park following your stay in December 2011 for the fourth time.

We were delighted to read that you always find our team members pleasant and accommodating and your deluxe room and breakfast were to your satisfaction. We were also pleased that although we were busy with party nights during your stay you had a peaceful stay.

To assist with temperature control in the bedrooms we supply a fan to all rooms.

Since your visit we have reviewed our charges for wifi in the public areas.

We are very lucky to be situated in such beautiful grounds and note that you found the location ideal for exploring the local area and towns in the surrounding locality.

Thank you once again for taking the time to provide your comments. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a fifth visit.

Yours faithfully


General Manager
Hilton Avisford Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arundel
4.4 km away
Norfolk Arms Hotel
Norfolk Arms Hotel
#3 of 7 in Arundel
988 reviews
4.4 km away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 7 in Arundel
624 reviews
5.2 km away
Comfort Inn Arundel
Comfort Inn Arundel
#6 of 7 in Arundel
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Bailiffscourt Hotel
Bailiffscourt Hotel
#1 of 1 in Climping
992 reviews
9.8 km away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
306 reviews
7.6 km away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Avisford Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Avisford Park

Property: Hilton Avisford Park
Address: Yapton Lane | Walberton, Arundel BN18 0LS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Arundel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Arundel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Avisford Park 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Avisford Park, Arundel, a grand Georgian manor house is set in 89 acres of beautiful Sussex parkland. There are excellent transport links to the hotel; proximity to London Gatwick Airport and Southampton Airport and rail links direct to London.The hotel has 140 well appointed bedrooms and an array of leisure facilities including indoor and outdoor (seasonal opening times) heated swimming pools, sauna, steam room, tennis courts, squash court, putting, croquet and beauty rooms offering a range of Elemis treatments and products.There are also various function rooms ideal for weddings, christenings and family gatherings or business events catering for 2 to 550. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Avisford Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Avisford Park Hotel Arundel
Hilton Avisford Park Arundel, England
Hilton Arundel
Arundel Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing