We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
66
77
60
28
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
66
77
60
28
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub festival theatre separate building rooms overlook room was a decent size perfect location town centre tea and coffee eggs benedict high street full english an overnight stay biscuits accommodation conservatory rear venue
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 252 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2018

We stayed in this pub overnight as I had an early hospital appointment in Chichester. We thought it was very good value for money and helpful staff. The rooms are in an annexe at the back of the pub so it is not noisy. They are well furnished and the bed was very comfortable. A nice touch was a separate sitting area in the room with coffee table - tray set out with biscuits, tea and coffee. Huge choice on breakfast menu and all sounded delicious and interesting. The dining area was rather chilly but apart from that we thought it was really good with staff going out of their way to be helpful. I'll say it again excellent value for money.

Room Tip: This isn't a high end boutique hotel but it is comfortable thoughtful pub accommodation.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Maire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2018 via mobile

I treated my girlfriend to a trip away and thought an old pub with rooms in the converted stable sounded romantic !!
On arrival I was asked to supply my bank card in case of damages,
What a joke!!
We were led to our room, walking down a dirty corridor and past toilets with a disgusting smell ,through the back door, along a wooden slippery walk way littered with cigarette butts and general mess, towards our room.
The room was warm and on first impression looked cozy. As we settled in we discovered the room was badly maintained and in places dangerous. The radiator cover was hanging off, the plug socket on the wall was open to the elements, one of the bed side lamp shades was burnt. The loo flush button was missing, the shower was dirty, mouldy and was leaking.
Our TV seemed to being controlled by someone in another room, which made watching it tricky.

We ate dinner in the pub with a guest and although the staff were pleasant, our food arrived very fast and clearly came out of the microwave complete with hotspots.

Breakfast was edible and the chap that served us was attentive but then we were the only customers. The bar area had not been cleaned from the night before and we had to clean the cutlery before use.

We were planning to stay in chichester another night and so took our business elsewhere.

We spend many weekends in hotels and money is not the issue however in this case the money was not well spent.

I suggest you sort this out as you have huge potential!!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
3  Thank Quest746791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2018 via mobile

Great choice of gins and special tonics. Nice log fire and shabby chic furniture to lounge on, food is good too. Nice place to drop into when shopped out. Good selection of cask ales and ciders. Both inside and outside eating areas and bar food

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank juned139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2017 via mobile

We stayed the night here and sadly didn’t have a chance to use the bar but in the way through it was busy and clearly a popular place.
The room was fine although the twin beds were different heights which seemed slightly odd and one mattress was far less comfortable than the other. However the heating was efficient and it was fine.
The shower however in room 6 was covered in mildew and needs to be washed with bleach or other suitable cleaning product.
Great breakfast!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank 157DavidM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile

We stayed one night booked in our room was ready which I thought was brilliant as we had a wedding to get to room was lovely lots of tea & coffee breakfast in the morning was fantastic very big lots to choose from I had full English u could also help your self to yogurt juice cereal loved it thankyou will recommend it

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank michele d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews