We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant Cocktail Lounge”

Thewlis Cocktail Lounge
Ranked #8 of 161 Nightlife in Leeds
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Thewlis Cocktail Lounge is swathed in pure decadence, with hedonistic gold and black decor throughout. A library style floor to ceiling back bar, creating a liquor emporium that is rarely seen outside London. The full-length ladder sits proud of the bar - leading the bartenders to customers’ very own private drinks cabinets.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We called in for cocktails early on a Friday. Great choice, good service and nice atmosphere. It did get extremely busy and loud by the time we left.

Thank Bluesprout61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Manager at Thewlis Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there,

Many thanks for taking your time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us. I am glad to hear that you had a great time with us! We hope that you come back and join us again very soon and give us those 5 stars!



Kind regards,
Chloe Battle
Sales & Events Manager
Thewlis Cocktail Lounge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"excellent cocktails"
in 3 reviews
"table service"
in 3 reviews
"impressive bar"
in 2 reviews
"great atmosphere"
in 5 reviews
"cocktail menu"
in 2 reviews
"last saturday"
in 2 reviews
"cocktail making"
in 2 reviews
"saturday night"
in 3 reviews
"friends birthday"
in 2 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 2 reviews
"lovely staff"
in 2 reviews
"abigail"
in 3 reviews
"venue"
in 4 reviews
"queue"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of my favroite cocktail bars to visit. The bar staff know exactly what they are talking about when it comes to drinks.
The service from all of them is on point each and every time.
The drinks are served at such an amazing standard with taste and presentation!!!
Would reccomend thewlis to anyone for the drinks and experience!
100% going back just love it so much.
Thanks to all staff its welcoming and a feel good place.
Thank you

Thank TASHANNE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Manager at Thewlis Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there,

Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am very happy to hear that you had such a great time with us and that you enjoyed our cocktails! I will pass on your kind words to the staff and we hope to see you again very soon!


Kind regards,
Chloe Battle
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

very extensive cocktail menu and very lovely staff. free popcorn is an excellent touch! always busy which is a good sign. Our bartender made us 2 cocktails off-menu which were excellent. Not unreasonably priced for cocktails, or how lovely it is inside. we paid £16 for 2 off-menu cocktails!

Thank Charlotte W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Manager at Thewlis Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Charlotte,

Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that you loved the cocktails made by our bar staff. We do hope you come back and join us again very soon!


Kind regards,
Chloe Battle
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018

Normally like this place,but today on a saturday afternoon,which is normally busy with Hen/Stags etc,only 3 of us at the bar,I waited 15 minutes to be served,only for a couple to walk straight up and be served,its not hard for staff to take a mental note of who's next!,especially when its quiet..so we walked out...won't be rushing back!..so spent £40 somewhere else...Hate bad service,didn't even acknoledge me and say 'we will be with you in a minute'

Thank AFL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Manager at Thewlis Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit with us over the weekend. I can only apologise for the service that you received, this isn't usually the case (as you mentioned you have joined us before and like our bar) and we do strive to provide the best experience for our customers, unfortunately this wasn't the case for you on this particular occasion.

If you wish to discuss your comments in further detail please email chloe@thewliscocktails.co.uk


Kind Regards,
Chloe Battle
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We booked a booth here for our group of 6 to have cocktails. Was a lovely setting and good service. I had the dark and stormy which was lush. We will be back again.

Thank Niki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex T, Manager at Thewlis Cocktail Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Hi Niki,

Thank you for taking your time to provide feedback regarding your recent visit with us. I am glad to hear that you had a great time with us and that you will be back again. We hope we can get those 5 stars from you the next time you join us!


Kind regards,
Chloe Battle
Sales & Events Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thewlis Cocktail Lounge also viewed

Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Thewlis Cocktail Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing