We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Golf”

Alwoodley Golf Club
Ranked #13 of 34 Outdoor Activities in Leeds
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alwoodley is a Top 100 championship course, open to visitors by prior arrangement. Details and green fees can be found on our website.
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Had the pleasure playing at this wonderful golf club, yes it is expensive and the course is tough bit it is up there with the best. The club house is amazing with great outdoor seating, the staff are friendly and the food very good. there is a well stocked pro's shop and good advise should you need assistance, there is a good practice area and driving range and the added bonus they do great real ales try the Leeds Gold yummy.

Thank Walb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Alwoodley Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Thank you for your review. The new terrace installed this year is proving very popular and is ideal for an après golf drink, especially in this lovely weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (12)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

5 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2016

Played here on a special deal for £40.00
The course is superb but rock hard. Bring lots of balls because if you miss a fairway the heather is hungry and swallows your Pro v1 without a thank you.
We played on a lovely warm windless afternoon in summer and I felt like jacking the game in afterwards. I thought I played ok but that's not good enough on this track.
Do experience it though, it's lovely and very accessible. I was followed into the car park by a Roly Poly which is standard for the area in leafy North Leeds.

Thank MickyHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Alwoodley Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Glad to hear you enjoyed your round and we hope to see you back here soon. The Club does run offers from time to time so please keep an eye on the website and 'Subscribe' to receive email notifications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Millionaires golf on a Course better than Woodhall Spa. This is a true hidden gem, that were it in the South East would talked about in hushed tones. I cannot wait to play it again.

Little Tip - Don't forget to ring your order through to the kitchen from the phone in the changing rooms ..... Brilliant!!

Thank jdloc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Alwoodley Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you here again. You are quite right - we are 'tucked away' on the north edge of Leeds, where the variety of good golf courses available nearby makes for an excellent golf tour to this part of Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

My third visit here over the years and the place just gets better.

The golf course is excellent, nice walking course, always in excellent condition, a good variety of holes and not very busy, expensive of course as you would expect for excellent quality.

Unlike some other courses I have played of this standing, the welcome is warm, service excellent and good food also.

A good day out, just a shame the golf itself wasn't a little better...

Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Alwoodley Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Thank you Steve and each year we hope to progress and improve in all areas at Alwoodley. Last year it was the new bar, this year the terrace, with work also planned for the practice ground and drainage lines. See you next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

We just wish this golf course and club were closer to home, everything about the place, the course is superb and in excellent condition, the clubhouse and staff are all excellent.

Expensive by golfing standards, but well worth that in our opinion for the quality, we try and play here at least once a year and there is nowhere better.

Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alwoodley Golf Club also viewed

 
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Alwoodley Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing