We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
It's class, real class.

Played here while up in Leeds on a 3 day golf trip. What a fabulous course. As we were doing a... read more

Reviewed August 3, 2018
Ianozrob
,
Derby, United Kingdom
via mobile
Absolutely fabulous

I visited this course with an open mind, not really sure what to expect from a course so close to... read more

Reviewed July 6, 2018
Keith C
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Read all 14 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Leeds
from US$7.91
More Info
from US$29.30
More Info
from US$658.30
More Info
from US$39.90
More Info
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
10
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 14 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2016

Played here on a special deal for £40.00
The course is superb but rock hard. Bring lots of balls because if you miss a fairway the heather is hungry and swallows your Pro v1 without a thank you.
We played on a lovely warm windless afternoon in summer and I felt like jacking the game in afterwards. I thought I played ok but that's not good enough on this track.
Do experience it though, it's lovely and very accessible. I was followed into the car park by a Roly Poly which is standard for the area in leafy North Leeds.

Thank MickyHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Alwoodley Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Glad to hear you enjoyed your round and we hope to see you back here soon. The Club does run offers from time to time so please keep an eye on the website and 'Subscribe' to receive email notifications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2016

Millionaires golf on a Course better than Woodhall Spa. This is a true hidden gem, that were it in the South East would talked about in hushed tones. I cannot wait to play it again.

Little Tip - Don't forget to ring your order through to the kitchen from the phone in the changing rooms ..... Brilliant!!

Thank jdloc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Alwoodley Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you here again. You are quite right - we are 'tucked away' on the north edge of Leeds, where the variety of good golf courses available nearby makes for an excellent golf tour to this part of Yorkshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2016 via mobile

My third visit here over the years and the place just gets better.

The golf course is excellent, nice walking course, always in excellent condition, a good variety of holes and not very busy, expensive of course as you would expect for excellent quality.

Unlike some other courses I have played of this standing, the welcome is warm, service excellent and good food also.

A good day out, just a shame the golf itself wasn't a little better...

Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Alwoodley Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Thank you Steve and each year we hope to progress and improve in all areas at Alwoodley. Last year it was the new bar, this year the terrace, with work also planned for the practice ground and drainage lines. See you next season!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2015 via mobile

We just wish this golf course and club were closer to home, everything about the place, the course is superb and in excellent condition, the clubhouse and staff are all excellent.

Expensive by golfing standards, but well worth that in our opinion for the quality, we try and play here at least once a year and there is nowhere better.

Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 25, 2015

We had a great welcome. The Proshop staff were very friendly. The course is superb - a great test. We were helped by some superb weather. We had a great day

Thank ManxmanSJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews