We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
It's class, real class.

Played here while up in Leeds on a 3 day golf trip. What a fabulous course. As we were doing a... read more

Reviewed August 3, 2018
Ianozrob
,
Derby, United Kingdom
via mobile
Absolutely fabulous

I visited this course with an open mind, not really sure what to expect from a course so close to... read more

Reviewed July 6, 2018
Keith C
,
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Read all 14 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Leeds
from US$31.62
More Info
from US$40.36
More Info
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
10
4
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
4
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 14 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

Still remains my number 1 course to play out of over 300 I have played.

Superb condition, some stunning holes, a lovely day also to play and the colours and views are excellent.

Not cheap of course, but good value, the staff were as previously very friendly and welcoming.

We come here for the golf, but lunch wasn't good, a small menu and poor quality sandwich, wont stop us returning though.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank stevesQ9601RS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2017

It will be no surprise that this course designed by the famous Dr Alister Mackenzie is a true test of the golf game. Great bunkering. Lovely views and tricky greens. Unfortunately it was not in the best condition, even allowing for the unseasonable weather. Great clubhouse that has an obvious presence, but don't expect it to be open early in the morning. Friendly Professional.

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2016

We visited midweek as a fourball as part of a golfing tour of Yorkshire. To be honest, whilst the professional was very approachable, our initial opinion was dented by the clubhouse being largely deserted and the lounges/rooms lacking any real ambience. We sat alone with our coffee machine until we could put of practice no longer!
That said we came for the golf and this did not disappoint and 'we' found the front 9 particularly tough. Overall the toughest golfing test of the week and the last two holes coming back to the clubhouse are particularly picturesque.
The acid test is would be visit again and the answer a BIG YES.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank GordonBeasley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Manager at Alwoodley Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2016

Thank you Gordon, although I'm sorry we appeared like the Mary Celeste on arrival! We look forward to welcoming you back to Alwoodley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016

Had the pleasure playing at this wonderful golf club, yes it is expensive and the course is tough bit it is up there with the best. The club house is amazing with great outdoor seating, the staff are friendly and the food very good. there is a well stocked pro's shop and good advise should you need assistance, there is a good practice area and driving range and the added bonus they do great real ales try the Leeds Gold yummy.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank Walb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Alwoodley Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Thank you for your review. The new terrace installed this year is proving very popular and is ideal for an après golf drink, especially in this lovely weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2016

Played here on a special deal for £40.00
The course is superb but rock hard. Bring lots of balls because if you miss a fairway the heather is hungry and swallows your Pro v1 without a thank you.
We played on a lovely warm windless afternoon in summer and I felt like jacking the game in afterwards. I thought I played ok but that's not good enough on this track.
Do experience it though, it's lovely and very accessible. I was followed into the car park by a Roly Poly which is standard for the area in leafy North Leeds.

Date of experience: July 2015
Thank MickyHughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, General Manager at Alwoodley Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2016

Glad to hear you enjoyed your round and we hope to see you back here soon. The Club does run offers from time to time so please keep an eye on the website and 'Subscribe' to receive email notifications.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews